We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely rooms with everything you could wish for. The rooms have great views and are very decadent but still with old world country charm. The gardens are beautiful and the staff are very helpful. It's the best breakfast and best afternoon tea we've ever had. This is a place that you absolutely must visit. It has stayed very true to its roots yet has every modern provision one could want.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank onthestepcluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear onthestepcluck, thank you for posting this lovely review of your stay at Summer Lodge. My team and I are thrilled with the heading "Best Ever". To know that you rated your breakfast and afternoon tea above all else, is lofty praise indeed. Hopefully, we will have the pleasue of being able to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Summer Lodge has been our getaway place for 10 years and will be for the next 10. Even after 15 stays we are always amazed at how beautiful the hotel is, its perfect setting, exemplary service and world class food and wine.

It is a credit to Charles, the general manger, that almost all the staff we met ten years ago are still there and totally devoted to making us happy.

Summer Lodge is unique, a gem. We just love it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear SJFLOndon, thank you so much for the wonderful review of your stay over the Easter weekend. I was delighted to see in how much detail you had written about your experience and even more happy to read that you though that we should be the hotel standard. We look forward very much to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Forget gastro-pubs and pretentious over-rated restaurants. This is the best restaurant in Dorset by a country-mile. The food is outstanding, the service extraordinarily good, and the wine list world-class. If you visit a 3 michelin star restaurant in France, this is what you will experience. And yet here they offer a three course lunch for £26 !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Timothy C, thank so much for your lovely review of Summer Lodge. I was of course so happy to see the title of your review and then even more rewarded when I discovered the details of what you liked the most. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at Summer Lodge over 25 years ago and had fond memories so decided it was finally time for a return visit.

The people who now run it really know what they are doing, they understand that if you want to create a special country house hotel experience you need three vital ingredients.

1. Rooms (public and private) must balance function and form so creating the right ambience, where everything works but no hint of a business/corporate hotel vibe, blended with personalised, slightly idiosyncratic service that is always faultlessly and professionally delivered. There must be no stuffiness.
2. A great restaurant that can successfully deliver the differing requirements of the three main meals of the day, plus afternoon tea and a bar that knows what it’s doing.
3. Staff that are, friendly, skilled, knowledgeable and plentiful.
Summer Lodge exceeded the standard on all these criteria. The attention to detail was really impressive and the passion the staff have for their work obvious. An example.

On the Sunday evening of our stay, although there were more guests in the hotel, we were the only people to choose to eat in the restaurant. We were still offered the full menu, the Restaurant Manager Max stayed on duty and made sure we didn't feel neglected, making conversation about our day and the lovely meal we were having. The Sommelier gave us a detailed explanation about why our chosen Rioja was on the list. The chef did three amuse bouches (this didn't happen on other nights when we only had one) as well as our main courses.
Their combined efforts made our last night feel very special.

It will not be another 25 years before we return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear harryesque, thank you so much for your very kind review of Summer Lodge. My team and I are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay and that we met your three criteria for a good stay. It is also good to know that it will not be another 25 years before you visit us again!. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I have just stayed at Summer Lodge to celebrate his birthday. From first to last everything was superb. The customer service was outstanding. Nothing was too difficult for the staff and we were treated with warmth, professionalism and attention. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and extremely comfortable with exquisite decor. We highly recommend Summer Lodge.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Sarah H, I am so happy to see how much you enjoyed your stay at Summer Lodge and very grateful for the time you have taken to post this review. The greatest endorsement we can receive from anyone is that they would recommend us and we are therefore delighted that this is the case with you. We look forward to perhaps one day welcoming you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in Ivy Cottage with our dog for 3 nights. The cottage was perfect as was the hot tub which is undercover in the garden
All meals we had were superb and staff were very attentive.
On the Friday night we are at the Acorn pub, also owned by the hotel & the food & service couldn't be faulted
We had the sampler menu on Saturday night & it was perfect., including the wines between courses.
We had treatments in the Spa on Saturday & Kora, our therapist was very professional & well informed. It was enjoyable having lunch in the conservatory area
We look forward to coming back very soon

Room Tip: Ivy cottage was on the street but you couldn't here any noise. Lovely private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieB_Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear SusieB_Wiltshire, thank you so much for your kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay in Ivy Cottage. Kora at the spa is thrilled to be mentioned by name, as is the rest of the team to see how their respective efforts have been acknowleged and appreciated. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Have just spent the night at Summer Lodge. This was a special occasion celebrating my birthday and my friends anniversary. We were given a beautiful room (number 10) on the first floor with views overlooking the gardens and car park. Following a relaxing afternoon in the pool and spa we spent a lively but relaxing evening dining in the well appointed restaurant. The staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. The food and wine delicious. However after retiring at a very late hour we had a dreadful night due to the faulty overflow in the loo. Once flushed it refilled and stopped, then seconds later it started pouring water constantly into the toilet bowl, nothing would stop it. Due to the late hour we felt there probably wasn't anyone to report it to, reception didn't seem to be manned when we went upstairs to bed so we reported it in the morning. The member of staff apologised and said he would have it looked at. No offer of a discount to make up for the inconvenience of a sleepless night. The loo was still merrily and noisily tinkling when we left. What a shame that a special night was spoilt by defective plumbing. We will return at some point but will be sure to flush the loo as soon as we're shown our room just to ensure that we don't have "Handles Water Music" all night long again.

Room Tip: Flush the loo as soon as you're in the room and check that the overflow valve cuts off or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smartlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Smartlady2014, thank you for this review of your stay at Summer Lodge. I am so sorry to see that a running cistern kept you awake and spoilt an otherwise enjoyable stay. The problem was easily and quickly rectified once brought to our attention. We are required by law to have someone on duty around the clock, so you would have found a member of staff able to assist you. Further training has been given to the receptionist who checked you out so that he is better able to deal with this sort of feedback in future. You and I have subsequently discussed plans for a return visit and I look forward to making it up to you then. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
396 reviews
10 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
George Albert Hotel and Spa
16.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: £200 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing