We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary celebration”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Summerlodge was delightful! set in beautiful dorset countryside. Very pretty gardens with lots of seating available to enjoy the views. Service and food was excellent. Staff were all so nice and made you feel very special and welcomed. The gym was rather small but had one of each of the main cardio equipments but no room for floor work and difficult with more than one person in the room! Spa was small but provided a good service and lots of lovely comfy loungers all round the indoor pool to chill out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel. It was decorated in chintzy style - smallish but perfectly formed. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear DorsetHaze, I am so happy that you were delighted with your anniversary celebration at Summer Lodge! Thank you for posting your wonderful review. The spa and the gym are small but being in a conservancy, that is all the space the Council would allow us to build on. I'm glad that despite this, you found the equipemnt you needed (if not the space). It is so good to see you found the service and food excellent, thank you. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Every now and then you need to get away and offload the everyday baggage and nonsense that crowds your life, and Summer Lodge is the perfect place to do this. Beautiful surroundings, first class service, excellent food and delicious wines and the spa is spoiling and relaxing. All the staff are so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and they are always attentive but not too overbearing. We have stayed before and will return as soon as we can. A very special couple of days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippin1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Pippin1994, we are delighted to see you found us "....the place to offload the baggage and everyday nonsense that crowds your life...". Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay. It is very rewarding to see you enjoyed the service and food so much and that you found it "..a very special couple of days". It is also good to know you will return as soon as you can. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

An idyllic place to stay away from it all - you can't even hear a road from here. The service is first class, the gardens delightful and the food outstanding. Heavenly!

This was our third visit and we will return again. Even if the weather is not too good, you can enjoy the relaxing spa with its long, heated, covered conservatory-style pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Alex T, thank you so much for this very kind review of your stay at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your third visit and that you find the hotel as enjoyable when the weather is bad as when it is good. It is very good to know that you will visit us again, thank you. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband planned a couple of nights away we took the dog but not the kids haha when we arrived at the accomodation he had booked we found out that the dates were wrong and the place was full. My husband scoured the internet to find somewhere else that we could stay. Summer Lodge were fanastic and we arrived 2 hours later at 9 oc in the evening. Everything was ready, we had our own little thatched cottage in the grounds, complete with four poster bed for us and dog bowls and dog bed for the dog. The cottage was beautiful with a lovely sitting room downstairs, tea and coffee making facilities, comfy sofas and a flat screen tv. Upstairs there were two bedrooms plus a lovely bathroom with roll top free standing bath and huge shower, the products such as shampoo, conditioner etc were all very nice as were the large soft towels and it was good to see robes and slippers included too. The main bedroom as I said has a large four poster bed with lovely white cotton bedding which was super comfortable. Plenty of cupboard space, iron, hair dryer and another fat screen tv. Breakfast next morning was served in the garden, great choice and very tasty. Our dog was made very welcome which again was a nice touch as in other places where we have stayed with her she has been confined to the car. The food in the restuarant in the evening was superb ( this was the only place the dog was not allowed which was completely understandable) although you can eat in the bar and have your dog with you if you prefer.
We didn't take advantage of the swimming pool or spa simply because we hadn't planned our stay but we will certainly go back very soon and take full advantage of all the lovely facilities and gym.
All in all we were over the moon at finding such a lovely place, beautifully decorated and well kept, the grounds were amazing too ( I even found a doggy bin) we will be back!
If you do not like dogs, please please do not let this put you off, there was only one other dog there and it was all very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Having stayed in one of the cottages, I would thorougly recommend one - but the rooms in the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Sandra B, thank very much for this funny, very detailed and thoughtful review of your unexpected stay at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see we were able to help you out of the pickle you were in and thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Always a pleasure to have lunch here, surrounding and garden is amazing and well kept and the hotel is very special. Amazing food always with a great selection to choose from and wonderful staff that cater to all your needs, can't wait to come back.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank justkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear justkeef, it is lofty praise indeed to see that we are your favourite restaurant and I am very grateful to you for taking the time to post this review. I am also delighted to know that you cannot wait to come back and hope it will not be too long before that happens. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Summer Lodge for three nights in June. The setting was wonderful, the staff was extremely pleasant and professional, and the food was excellent. The stay was so nice I am running out of adjectives to describe how pleasant our stay was.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Hugh S, thank you so much for this very kind review of your stay at Summer Lodge. It is wonderfully rewarding for everyone here to read something like "...I am running out of adjectives to describe how nice our stay was." My team and I hope it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We regularly stay at one of the red carnation hotels in London, however we decided to try Summer Lodge as it is near to us. We booked in with our 2 labradors and immediately fell in love with the entire place.
The same excellent service from all the staff at the hotel and wonderful surroundings made it a really fantastic stay.

The food was amazing and we both really enjoyed our dinner so much so we intend to return with family and friends so they too can experience the Red Carnation Experience

Other hoteliers could do with following the lead from this excellent group whose service is the key word.

Room Tip: Calm and peaceful place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear nilemp, it is lofty praise indeed to be thought of in this way and my team and I are absolutely delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for posting this review. We look forward very much to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel with you friends and family. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
396 reviews
10 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
George Albert Hotel and Spa
16.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: £201 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing