We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KITY - Keep it to yourself”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Summer Lodge has a very serious problem. It is far too good to recommend. We have just returned from a three night stay. We enjoyed wonderful food. I agree with another writer that the Chef is due a Michelin star. All of the staff are exceptionally good. Nothing is too much trouble and yet service is discreet . I might have mentioned my wife is a diabetic when we booked. Alternative desserts were offered and also low sugar jam and marmalade at breakfast. The gardens were "picture postcard" and what a pleasure it was to eat breakfast on the patio. A note of warning. Don't order a scotch at the bar. You don't have time to choose from what must be over 200 different listed whiskys. Wine list was also excellent. Of course quality comes at a price so be prepared to pay a premium price for a premium stay BUT the Tollman family have got it right, This is a superb hotel, run by superb people. Congratulations and thank you. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Stephen N, it is so good to see you will be back because that has to be the best commendation we can receive. Your review is very kind; we are grateful to you for posting it and delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we see you again. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Best service we've ever had in a hotel in the UK. Reception staff were on hand to greet us in the car park upon arrival. Always service with a smile, always offering help and suggestions, almost to the point of mind reading.

The dining experience was top class. Sommelier was one of the top in the world. Breakfast was included and very generous.

Room Tip: The cottages are charming and quaint, and set aside from the main building for extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wombaticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Wombaticus, I am delighted to see our service was the best you have ever had in a hotel in the UK. Thank you so much for a very kind review of your stay at Summer Lodge. This is lofty praise indeed and my team and I are very proud of ourselves! Sincerely, Charles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for a three night recharge of our batteries and were treated to great service and great food. The atmosphere is very calm and the hotel is very cosy. We were in a cottage for the first night which we found a little airless but it was very cosy. We then changed to a lovely room in the main hotel. It had a nice pool, not attached to the main building, but far too hot when we were there, not the usual complaint!

Room Tip: We found the cottage pokey and claustrophobic, but can imagine others would find it very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Fussy72, My heart sank into my boots when I saw your username, so imagine my delight when I read about how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We have made a note on your reservation that you prefer rooms in the Main House. In winter, you might be interested to know, with their fireplaces and central heating, as you have already mentioned, some find the cottages very cosy indeed! I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I had stayed at Summer Lodge once before. We were not disappointed then and most certainly were not disappointed this time either. To us, Summer Lodge ranks as one of the best UK hotels we have ever stayed in. Without exception the staff are extremely friendly, professional and knowledgeable (and that includes the gardeners!). Every little detail is catered for to perfection, both in the rooms and in the restaurant. Summer Lodge fully deserves its Michelin Star rating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, the Master room. Quite magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourpence4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear fourpence4, thank you so much for this very kind review of your stay at Summer Lodge. It is lofty praise indeed to be written of as being one of the best hotels you have stayed at in the UK. You write that we deserve our Michelin star rating. We do not have one (yet!) but Chef Steven is thrilled that you think him and his team worthy. I am delighted to see that you would recommend us to anyone, thank you. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our second visit to summer lodge. It doesn't take much to make a guest feel special and the carnation group of hotels are getting it right. " lovely to see you back" from the recepsionist might seem superficial on face value, but when you are in holiday mode it's a nice touch. Our room was superb as ever and we made the most of the beautiful gardens, pool, spa etc.
This is a place to stay and unwind. The staff are very attentive and professional, what you expect from a pricey hotel but don't always get!
Dinner was fine, but did not quite have the flavouring Skills present on our previous visit, but breakfast was superb taken in the lovely conservatory.
We love summer lodge and will be back. Before you leave grab some bread and cakes from the Evershot bakery across the road.

Room Tip: 15 with the balcony was great but they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guernsey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guernsey50, I am very happy to see you enjoyed your return visit to Summer Lodge and grateful to you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It is very rewarding to read that even though you found us expensive, you felt that you had received value for money. I have forwarded your comment regarding the food flavours on to Steven, the Chef, thank you. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Summerlodge was delightful! set in beautiful dorset countryside. Very pretty gardens with lots of seating available to enjoy the views. Service and food was excellent. Staff were all so nice and made you feel very special and welcomed. The gym was rather small but had one of each of the main cardio equipments but no room for floor work and difficult with more than one person in the room! Spa was small but provided a good service and lots of lovely comfy loungers all round the indoor pool to chill out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel. It was decorated in chintzy style - smallish but perfectly formed. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear DorsetHaze, I am so happy that you were delighted with your anniversary celebration at Summer Lodge! Thank you for posting your wonderful review. The spa and the gym are small but being in a conservancy, that is all the space the Council would allow us to build on. I'm glad that despite this, you found the equipemnt you needed (if not the space). It is so good to see you found the service and food excellent, thank you. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Every now and then you need to get away and offload the everyday baggage and nonsense that crowds your life, and Summer Lodge is the perfect place to do this. Beautiful surroundings, first class service, excellent food and delicious wines and the spa is spoiling and relaxing. All the staff are so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and they are always attentive but not too overbearing. We have stayed before and will return as soon as we can. A very special couple of days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippin1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Pippin1994, we are delighted to see you found us "....the place to offload the baggage and everyday nonsense that crowds your life...". Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay. It is very rewarding to see you enjoyed the service and food so much and that you found it "..a very special couple of days". It is also good to know you will return as soon as you can. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
390 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
909 reviews
2.5 mi away
George Albert Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
558 reviews
10 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: £196 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing