We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Dorset”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
137 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Paradise in Dorset”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We spent a blissful week at Summer Lodge earlier this month. We have stayed in many wonderful hotels around the world and this is one of the best.

Summer Lodge is on the edge of the picturesque village of Evershot, surrounded by beautiful gardens amid attractive rolling countryside. The hotel is elegantly furnished and decorated and the rooms very comfortable. We stayed in a ground floor suite in the coach house, a few yards walk from the main building - as well as a spacious bedroom and bathroom, we had a small sitting room in a conservatory and a small private walled garden, complete with sun loungers. My only criticisms of the suite are that the bathroom had no separate shower cubicle and, despite the heatwave, and in the name of saving the environment, they switched off the air conditioning every time they serviced the room, leaving it hot and stuffy on our return.

The hotel has an excellent indoor swimming pool which I used before breakfast each day - with one exception, I had it to myself.

The restaurant is superb. Dinner (£60 a head if booked on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast basis) is 3 courses, with 5 or 6 options for each course. The chef uses mainly local ingredients (his signature dish of Dorset Spring lamb with an amazing shepherd's pie is particularly good). We ate most things on the menu during our stay and enjoyed them all. Like most Michelin starred restaurants, dinner included a choice of unusual breads, canapes, an amuse bouche and a pre-dessert, all delicious. Presentation is particularly strong. The extensive wine list includes plenty undre £50 a bottle.

Breakfast is equally special with freshly squeezed orange juice, Dorset cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, superb croissants and danish pastries, smoked salmon and hot food cooked to order (I loved their Eggs Benedict) and, when the weather was warm, we were able to have it on the terrace.

At £25, their 3 course Sunday lunch (with canapes and an amuse bouche) is exceptional value, and many locals were there to take advantage of it.

If you are staying more than a couple of nights, an alternative is to eat at their nearby pub, The Acorn Inn, which was very good, if rather airless on a hot evening, and much cheaper. It takes only a minute or two to walk there.

Despite all the other superlatives,the best thing about Summer Lodge is the people, whether in the restaurant, at the front desk or the excellent twice daily servicing of the room. Without exception, they were charming and delivered a very high standard of personal service - everyone seemed to know our names.

We can't recommend Summer Lodge too highly. Not cheap,but value for money if you want somewhere special - the perfect place for a luxurious staycation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    81
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
126
578
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Exceptional place. Check out the spa as well, well worth it!

The food and service was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2009

A 3 night stay and a consistently high standard throughout. The attention of staff was exceptional, particularly in the dining room. Food quality was superb.

This is also a great spot for exploring the Dorset coastline.
We would particularly recomment Nat Trust site at Studland.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carollgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We have been going to SL for about 4 years now and I can honestly say we have never had cause to complain about anything. Don't get me wrong - I love a good moan and as my husband would testify, I think this is the only hotel we have stayed at where we HAVEN"T changed rooms. Don't go to Summer Lodge if you like an action packed weekend with a lively bar, Do go to Summer Lodge for a relaxing break - what a country hotel should be. The staff are marvelous, (they all know your name) especially Eric the sommelier, and the manager Charles is warm and charming.
Over all SL is not a cheap weekend, but I promise you will leave there relaxed and happy with the world.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

This was my first stay at Summer Lodge, and what a weekend to remember. We took a family friend to celebrate his 60th birthday; from the time we drove up the drive to our departure the service was excellent. The hotel requested likes, dislikes and treated us to our choice of music and reading materials in our rooms. The food was amongst the best I have ever tasted and the chef deserves a Michelin star, both sommeliers helped us select some fine wines which complemented our choice of cuisine and were not to expensive. The service and welcome by all staff was great without being over the top. Every time we left our room, we came back to find it restocked, tidied, or cleaned, this was unobtrusive and the small personal touches impressed everyone. The pool and spa are an excellent added extra. I hope to visit again

  • Liked — Food and great service.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Our second stay at summer lodge was even better than our first which celebrated a wedding anniversary.
This time we were joined by family to celebrate a 60th birthday.
The hotel requested our different preferences, likes, dislikes and treated us to our choice of music and reading materials. we deliberately chose a different room as they are all unique, all were excellent.
The cuisine was amongst the best I have ever tasted and the chef deserves a Michelin star.
The service and welcome by all staff was exemplary without being intrusive.
Both sommeliers were professional and enabled us to choose appropriate wine that was delicious and not frighteningly expensive.
Every time we left our room, we came back to find it restocked, tidied, or cleaned. This was unobtrusive and the light personal touches impressed everyone.
The pool was an excellent added extra. The gardens are well tended and the location charming.
We will return again.

Helpful?
1 Thank SandCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We have spent another Christmas at Summer Lodge and enjoyed every single minute of our stay. We have now spent several Christmasses here and it never fails to delight us!! When you work hard all year and look forward to time together it is so important for it to be just right - and the Summer Lodge always is!!
We stayed in room 15 which is fantastic - it has a massive bed, balcony and walk in wardrobe. It has very comfortable TV viewing - perfect for all the DVDs that are on offer!!
Every single meal was wonderful - from breakfast (lovely waffles with maple syrup for me!!), afternoon tea (all home made!!) and our evening meals. The tasting menu on Boxing Day was truly exceptional - with Eric doing a great job of choosing wines to match each course.
The pool is lovely, and we spent long afternoons lazing, swimming and reading in the lounge area.
Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in in the UK. I am extremely fussy! We have already booked for next year!!

  • Liked — The quality of the food, wine and friendliness of the staff
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
635 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
442 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
11.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Property: Summer Lodge
Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing