We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated rooms”
Review of Seven Stars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seven Stars Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shincliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dated rooms”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Booked for overnight stay read reports that's why booked Arrived to a warm welcome from staff then when being taken to room along a dated wood panelling hall noticed the hall carpet was black and worn not very nice Then when saw bedroom it was so dated probably never touched since seventys it was terrible worse was the toilet syst the noise when flushed it had one of those electric cruncher things the shower electric and not very powerfull
Had a meal in restaurant and the meal and device was good
Went to sleep that night but the bed was awfull to try and sleep in so uncomfortable
The breakfast in the morning was good and so was service
I think a lot of effort needs to be spent on bedrooms to bring up to standard as downstairs and no I don't accept it's a country pub/ hotel I have stayed in a few and the rooms are a lot better than these rooms my wife and my self were so dissapointed in the rooms
The staff were so good and helpfull it is a shame the rooms let them all down

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    82
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
31
94
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I made a last minute booking for one night as a stop over before the Great North Run, we arrived late on a Saturday night, very hungry, I did not realise the restaurant was so popular and unfortunately there were no tables available but they did send us in the direction of another pub they own, just down the road where we had a cheap, but lovely meal. The room was small but clean and tidy, with a TV, tea making facilities and a small en suite.

Unfortunately we never got to sample the breakfast as we left before breakfast started but the staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a lovely place this is. Great value for money, intelligent, hard working staff. Great English breakfast with superb sausages and the best Steak and peppercorn sauce I have had for an evening meal, with wild mushrooms. 25 mins walk from Durham and an excellent bus service. We shall return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just spent a night at the seven stars.

Located in a peacefull village about 1.5 miles from Durham.

The hotel/restaurant/bar are small and intimate.

Its not a five star hotel its a b&b and must be reviewed as such.

The staff are very very helpful and nothing is to much trouble.

Our room was at the front of the building overlooking the main street. The room was warm so we left the window open all sat night, apart from the 2 car doors we heard nothing at all and had a good nights sleep.

The building is old with character with sloping floors and noisy water systems, accept it.

We eat in the restaurant and apart from an issue of a metal filing the food wax great.

Certainly go back again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BogtrotterBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in the Seven Stars Inn for 3 nights during our sons' graduations, having been very impressed by the restaurant on previous visits to Durham. Our room was cosy and clean and, while not modern, the bathroom was also clean and served us perfectly well. We were very comfortable here for three nights. We were expecting great things from the breakfast, and were not disappointed! Plenty of choice of cereals, a superb full English (or eggs however you like them) and as much toast and jam as you have room for. I was really impressed by the serving staff who managed to keep calm and carry on despite a fairly protracted power cut that was outside of their control. We no longer have sons at the university but will certainly stay here again whenever we visit the north east.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

When we arrived there was just one staff member running the bar and also checking in guests and showing them to their rooms. This was done in a very friendly manner and with a smile and we were made to feel most welcome. This great service continued for the rest of our stay with the staff multi tasking most efficiently. The food in the restaurant was very good ( and I am a fussy eater ) The two of us stayed for 3 nights in a double room on a dinner, ( 3 courses ) bed and breakfast basis, and even with drinks and some extras our final bill was only just over £300.The Inn was very clean and comfortable throughout. If we could have changed anything at all it would have been to have had a bit bigger bathroom with a bath as well as the shower, but all things considered this was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norwich17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have not stayed here ,so am only reviewing the Sunday Lunch.The food was really nice,very tasty Sunday Lunch.Decided not to have a starter in case in spoilt my main meal.However wish I had done as portions were not huge.Only real negative was it took a long time before ordering to food arriving.However food was worth waiting for as it was all nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shincliffe
1.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars Inn

Property: Seven Stars Inn
Address: High Street North, Shincliffe DH1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Shincliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shincliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seven Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seven Stars Inn is a English country Inn with restaurant located in the picturesque village of Shincliffe, only one and a half miles from the centre of Durham City and Durham University. Originally a coaching Inn dating back to 1724 the Seven Stars Inn is now a friendly, family run restaurant and Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Seven Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Stars Inn
Seven Stars Hotel Shincliffe
Seven Stars Inn Shincliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing