We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seven Stars Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$108
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$217
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bowburn Hall(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
85
86
17
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
86
17
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpretty villagesunday lunchsteakyorkshire puddingbed was comfortablestayed one nighttwo night staydurham centreevening mealmain coursefull englishaccommodationuniversityaleroastcorridor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2007

What a great find. Travelling on business and staying away can always be a gamble but I was made to feel very welcome here. There was nothing more that I wanted from travelling up from Bristol than to have a nice pint and listen to the locals bantering between themselves. It was that friendly they even invited me to sit and chat with them. The food was very good and the service excellent.
The location is great for travelling around the wonderful North East.

I shall be coming again with the wife and kids when next up this way for hopefully longer than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CoverackChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We stayed for a weekend at this lovely village pub. Not too far out of Durham (about 5 minutes on the bus, 3 minutes in a taxi), the Seven Stars Inn is located in a beautiful village, only slightly marred by a busy-ish main road next door.

Our room was clean and big enough, although not huge. Facilities were adequate (kettle, tv, hospitality tray, the usual) but what really made this stay was the lovely breakfasts and the pub itself. It's a typical old inn with winding corridors and wood panelling. The beer is good (they have Landlord on tap) and we spent a couple of lovely evenings sitting outside drinking good beer and listening to bird song.

I would highly recommend the Seven Stars Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparklybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2006

We stayed for 3 nights during the week and enjoyed our stay. Our room, although small, was well equipped and furnished and very clean. The pub is most attractive and we had a very enjoyable meal in the restaurant. A bus stop is located directly outside the pub with a regular service into Durham city centre which only takes about 10 minutes. There is on road parking to the rear of the pub. The breakfasts were huge and overall we felt that the room rate represented good value for money.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank dunnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2006

Totally agree with other review on site, an excellent place to stay, all you would expect from an Inn room plus more.
Beers and breakast were superb.
Staff really helpful from booking 'til checking out.
Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jonesy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

The Seven Stars is a lovely roadside inn just 5 minutes drive out of Durham city centre. It is situated on a regular bus route (55/56/57 Arriva North East) which costs £1.20 single currently.

The pub is in a lovely old building and is a bit of a maze. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are all ensuite. We paid £65 per room per night for bed and breakfast, which was considerably better value for money than many of the pricy alternatives in the city centre. Each room had a TV and tea/coffee making facilities, and the usual bathroom toiletries were also provided.

The pub serves a selection of well-kept real ales and has been awarded the Cask Marque. There is also a nice restaurant with a good range of home cooked food on offer. The breakfast was excellent, all freshly cooked by the friendly cook, with local 'herby' sausages, decent eggs, black pudding etc.

All in all, a place I would thoroughly recommend when staying in Durham!

1  Thank tsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews