We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Coggeshall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Came over on a Sat night with a friend at short notice to run the PARA 10 in Coly. They were extremely accommodating & found a second bed for my single room for a token extra charge.
We arrived at 7 & ate in. There was buckets of tea served until two more friends joined us for some food. The food was just awesome. I am not a food gourmet but it was home made & tons of it. I had fish pie and it was as good as I have ever had. The other three meals were as good.

I actually brought a bit of my own stuff for them to prepare for brekkers - that was no issue either.

Our room was basic & small - but lets face it We weren't on a two week summer vacation there - its a one or two night sort of place. The shared loo was spotless the shower roasting hot. Much cheaper than any of the chain hotels & much better service & value. Its just off one of the main roads into Coly so try this place & support some local business rather than the big chains.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 87Tish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

im sat here in the bar of this superb hostelry! needed a room for the night and booked it for the great price of 40pounds!!with breakfast! the room is very clean and tidy and got everything you need! the staff are extremely friendly and i think would do anything for you! im a very seasoned traveller and take it from me its an amazing little pub with rooms and you wont go wrong staying here! and also its lovely to be called by your first name! very warm and honest people! thankyou chaps craig in room 2 z

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 237craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Kings Arms is value for money and a offers a comfortable place to stay for the night. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast in the morning made it all the more value for money. The Kings Arms had free wifi and the staff were very helpful.

Overall, I would recommend this bed and breakfast for people who need a comfortable place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank britgirlvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for one night enroute to the east coast and found the staff very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in a twin room, and although did not have an ensuite did not cause any problems as the bathroom was only down the corridor.

The room had plenty of tea and coffee etc and bottled water. In fact more than younwould normally get. Also books, cds and iron and iron board.

Breakfast was plentiful, including fresh fruit and a decent pot of tea. Only downside would be if you are not keen on dogs, this is definitely a dog friendly pub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScunnyBunny1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My 18 year old daughter was doing an archeological dig down the road at Marks Hall and she stayed here on her own in the Garden Room. We were quite concerned as she had never done anything like this on her own before. But from the start to the finish the owners and staff were amazing. NOTHING was too much trouble for them. They allowed us to give our details over the phone and kept a tab open for her and we paid afterwards. They looked after her as she was on her own, and quite honestly as a parent, could not have asked for more.

She had her own bathroom as the room she had was away from the pub itself in the garden, and she said the facilities, food and room was excellent.Would highly recommend it, and if needed, will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Garden room is on it's own but also has its own facilties, ie bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The rooms are ok but are expensive as other hotels near by were offering must cheaper rooms with far better faculties, the breakfast was average and the evening meal was poor all microwaves and yet stop cold

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan1992sfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here from 27/02/2012 to 02/03/2012, had a car accident near the pub, so only arrived at nine, but they cooked for me, even tho they had finished serving, lovely food, lovely people, single room £35 a night, clean and tidy, shared bathroom between 3 rooms, but never had it tied up so not an issue, will definately stay again, really felt at home and well looked after, breakfast is great too, can have pretty much what you want.

Room Tip: double room is in quieter area behind pub, but all rooms are fine, depends how light you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark_haynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Kings Arms Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Kings Arms Broad Green, Coggeshall CO6 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Coggeshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coggeshall
Price Range: £54 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Bed & Breakfast situated between Marks Tey and Coggeshall on the A120. Close to Stansted Airport and rail links to London. A full English breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Arms Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Bed & Breakfast Coggeshall, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing