We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coggeshall
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very tired”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for its position, which was ideal, the staff member, made us welcome, but was clearly on her own, running the reception, bar, and resturant.The room was just, but only just adequate, as a superior with an aged single wardrobe and barely functioning shower head, with most of the secondary glazing missing. It was dark with poor lighting and the four poster bed a bit creaky, but it had a certain charm..just needs some upgrades..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fredsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, hopefully we shall see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    119
    71
    39
    35
See reviews for
52
165
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed just for one night and there were no issues during the stay. It is a lovely old building with car parking at the rear. The decor maybe needed a bit of updating, but everything was clean and tidy.

The bedroom I had was on the first floor and was spacious and clean. Bathroom could do with modernising but once again it was fit for purpose. Bed was comfy and the heating was on, so all good.

I ate in the bar downstairs and the food and service was great. The girl behind the bar was working wonders as she was on her own until 6pm.

Breakfast was fine too. It's not the Ritz but it fine for a day or two as a base, would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simplemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Your review was lovely to read, thank you for taking the time to comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham on the Wolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stopped for a long weekend in November. Booked superior level room with en-suite. The decoration was tired, the single glazed window was suffering from condensation damage, and the bathroom needed some maintenance, but everything was clean and in place. That evening had fish and chips in pub restaurant and was tasty and good value. Next morning breakfast was disappointing with a nearly burnt omelette for my wife, and overcooked poached eggs for me. I think it was suffering from not having enough staff on duty, because on the following day there were more staff and the breakfast was fine. The hotel building is old and charming, but is in need of interior redecoration and tlc

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PelicanPoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for leaving your comments. We will review our staffing levels at breakfast, and hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

we booked online through the old english website. This said a restaurant table reservation was included. When we arrived we were told that the restaurant was closed to guests as it had been booked for a private function, and to expect a bit of noise until midnight. Food would be available in the bar...this it was. The food offering was disappointing, although the wine was good value.

The room itself was comfortable and mostly very clean. The staff were friendly and service was fine. All in all, this was an o.k. stay but that's all. Its convenient for local towns and is an alright base for a couple of nights. Do not over expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the restaurant/function room and pay a bit more for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
I do apologise for the mix up when booking, our bar and restaurant area are the same service just in different rooms, sometime the restaurant is booked out for larger functions due to its size. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

How can you have no butter at breakfast??!!!!! I ordered the ham egg and cheese toast. Had it before and it was lovley. Today it was a slab of thick cold ham with a bit of greasy melted cheese on!! I had to send it back. The tea cups on the table we're used ones and as I don't have milk in tea I noticed straight away there was milk in the cup!! My toast is cold and when asked for butter to be told we have some out the back..... The butter arrived and as so cold I couldn't spread it. I love the breakfasts here but thi morning is not good!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjobuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. I do apologise that your breakfast was not of our normal standard on that morning. I am glad to see that we have always got it right for you before and am sure we will continue to on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our daughter had her wedding ceremony at the White Hart in August 2013. It was a wonderful day made all the more special by the staff and manager at this charming and historic hotel.
Staff were friendly and caring to everyone who attended and stayed overnight. The staff went out of their way to make sure everything went according to plan. We have since enjoyed an overnight stay and again enjoyed the ambiance that this hotel provides.
The bedrooms are a little tired but clean and comfortable. looking forward to our next visit.
David and Janet G

Room Tip: Top rooms overlooking the road are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and even more importantly enjoyed the wedding. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I was severely delayed in London by Storm St Just, and finally reached the White Hart past 11pm, but was greeted by a very cheery and bright young lady for whom nothing seemed too much trouble.
The room was spacious...though in a very old building there was the usual creaks and uneven floor, but all part of the charm.
Good comfortable bed.... Plenty of space... Good refreshment tray.... Lots to recommend. The only minus... Although clean, the wc was in need of a good bleaching.
A very good choice- for the money - for breakfast next morning too.
Plenty of car parking

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Glad the storm St Just didn't stop you from getting here all together, thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coggeshall
5.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
369 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#3 of 3 in Feering
71 reviews
2.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
137 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Colchester Feering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: | Market End, Coggeshall CO6 1NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Coggeshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coggeshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKY packages in room available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Coggeshall, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing