We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special atmospheric hotel in wonderful town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coggeshall
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Special atmospheric hotel in wonderful town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Arrived Friday lunch time. unfortunately lack of staff led to us having to wait 15 mins to check in.
After this all staff were friendly and very helpful.There are loose tiles on the vanity unit in bar ladies. There was no soda water/dietcoke/etc available from the pump. in big comfy
Room 7 is lovely. Large with view of busy main street. If light sleeper perhaps a room at the back may be better. We slept very well is big comfy bed.
All food was good and service was brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerwithSharPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay, hopefully we shall see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    116
    67
    35
    31
See reviews for
49
153
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a very nice place. Very helpful staff. Although the food was chain-like it was very nice and good value. The decor was abit shabby but for the price it was great value. Try not to have a room at the front as there is quite alot of road noise early morning

Room Tip: .try not to have a room at the front as there is quite alot of road noise early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulo020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts, hopefully we shall see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBROATH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We spent a night at the White Hart and found the service and friendliness of the staff very good. We were given a large room which was clean and tidy, the breakfast was of good quality, served by a very freindly and attentive waitress. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WELSHMAN50Arbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Your comment was a pleasure to read, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived on Sunday night for a 2 night special deal stay. The hotel was not busy so we were told that we were being given an upgrade to the Honeymoon room, a lovely room with a four poster bed. The bedroom & bathroom were very spacious, the bath had seen better days but was clean & functional. Some of the furniture shows signs of it's age as well. This is an olde world hotel & would look out of keeping with new furniture but a little restoration of the current furniture would improve the look of it. The downside of a front facing room is the road noise, the windows would benefit from double glazing panels. The staff are incredibly friendly & nothing is too much trouble. Sarah the manager is happy to turn her hand to any task & works very hard. All the staff are pleasant. The food is very good & very reasonably priced. We will stay again. The hotel is due some internal restoration this year & I only hope they don't modernise it too much.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Always lovely to read such nice review, thank you. Hopefully we shall see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We are regular guests of Olde English Inns. Its interesting reading other reviews on here as I think they are expecting a five star deluxe hotel. This is rated 3 star by the AA and they are spot on. Sure the hotel needs some renovation in places, but don't forget this place was built in the 15th century so floors are going to creak and be uneven and due to its listed status they can't modernise without the scrutiny of English Heritage. If you are unable to see beyond that then perhaps Coggeshall is not for you either.

We had a very pleasant two night stay here, the warm welcome from all the staff was a pleasant surprise bearing in mind past reviews on here. Its really clear that the management have acted on the feedback that other reviewers have left. Ross on reception was a star, not only did he give a warm welcome but ensured our bags were carried up to the room.

The rooms are not modern, nor does Olde English intend them to be. Yes the bathrooms could do with some modernisation and certainly dependent on the room it can take a time for hot water to reach the shower, again, I put that down to the building and its age. However, the rooms were clean, and linen crisp and the beds very comfortable. However, if your room over looks the main road - rooms 4,5,6,7, 23 and 24 they can be somewhat noisy. Partly, because the interior part of the double glazing is missing - problem solved by purchasing some cheap ear plugs!

We ate here both nights of our stay and were not disappointed - in fact the food was fresh, hot and tasty. We ate in the bar and the staff were friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was excellent especially the very tasty bacon, and again attentive service. Staff were only too happy to help with excursion suggestions and Coggeshall itself is a charming and historic village with friendly folk all too happy to say hello.

We would stay here again if we were in the area. Remember this ain't the Ritz, nor does it set out to be - we love our Olde English Inns, for the price, for the character, the relaxed and individual atmsophere that each team brings. Full marks to the staff at Coggeshall - shame you don't wear name badges so we could personally name you on here. Thanks Again!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 2 and if you are a light sleeper do not accept rooms 4, 5, 6, 7, 23 or 24 as they face o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baloobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for leaving such and extensive review, I will be sure to pass this onto the team, it will make their days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked a one night stay here on 22nd December as a surprise birthday present for my partner. We came here for a meal on father's day and were very impressed, we kept saying we should visit again so I thought it was the ideal place to book a night away. Prices were very reasonable which was a big plus point.
I emailed a few days after booking to confirm if breakfast was included, to book a table for the evening and to request a bottle of champagne on our arrival. After a week with no reply I emailed again, still no reply, so I called the hotel and spoke to a lady, she confirmed that she had not received an email, she said that she would ensure that a bottle of champagne would be in the room, a table would be reserved and she also confirmed that breakfast was included.
On our arrival, there was no champagne, receptionist knew nothing about it, she did, however, bring one up to the room straight away, but the surprise had been spoilt by then!
The room was nice, massive bed and plenty of room, a little tired in places but I wasn't bothered by that, cleanliness however was a different issue, the bed side tables were stained from previous occupants, and lots of stains on chest of drawers, bathroom was a good size but bath surround was filthy, which was a shame as it was a nice room.
We had the tapas for an evening meal which was lovely, no complaints regarding the food apart from not having any duck left, but the alternative was fine.
They seemed quite short staffed and we got the impression that the bar maid was also running the reception, at one point we waited over 10 minutes to be served at the bar. The waiter was a larger than life Italian, with a contagious smile and had us in stitches, shame he finished early as he was a great character.
The biggest disappointment was the fact that last orders was called at 9:50!! The staff said that we could order drinks and sit at the bar, but no further drinks will be sold after 9:50!
We found a bar across the road that was open until 11pm so the night wasn't completely ruined.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tequiladeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I do apologise we didn't meet our normal standards for you this time round. Hopefully we shall see you again in the future to show you what we can do. Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for its position, which was ideal, the staff member, made us welcome, but was clearly on her own, running the reception, bar, and resturant.The room was just, but only just adequate, as a superior with an aged single wardrobe and barely functioning shower head, with most of the secondary glazing missing. It was dark with poor lighting and the four poster bed a bit creaky, but it had a certain charm..just needs some upgrades..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fredsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, hopefully we shall see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coggeshall
5.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#3 of 3 in Feering
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.7 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: | Market End, Coggeshall CO6 1NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Coggeshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coggeshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKY packages in room available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Coggeshall, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing