We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accomodation, Great Location, Great Times!”
Review of anstey grove barn

anstey grove barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buntingford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
anstey grove barn
Ranked #1 of 4 Buntingford B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Accomodation, Great Location, Great Times!”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This purpose built barn in the Hertfordshire countryside is a great base for a break with friends / family. The accomodation is beautifully finished to a high standard, and yet still maintains a truly comfortable and comforting feel. There is a good mix of double / twin rooms which are well laid out to suit families and all are en-suite, with some on the ground floor so good for anyone with limited mobility. Kitchen is well equipped with all you could need for a large group.
From the barn there are plenty of places to walk to for some good old fashioned fresh air and, importantly, pubs! We were recommended The Woodman - great for ale and food. The grounds of the barn itself also provided plenty of entertainment for our youngest guests, with a few animals in the fields and plenty of muddle puddles.
Importantly the owner, Andrew Marchant, was on hand throughout our stay to help with any queries and recommend day trips, walks, local amenities etc - he really did make us very welcome and made our holiday all the better.
Overall this place gives you good value for money and we would definately go back.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent and to a high standard. families would benefit from using the doubles oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morin Heights, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

8 of us including a one year old enjoyed a wonderful 8 day break at the Anstey Barn. In town from Montreal, we took over the whole opace and self catered,. 6 perfect bedrooms all ensuite, wonderful big country farmhouse kitchen, private garden to enjoy. Peace and quiet in the middle of a field yet only 5 or 10 minutes from some of the best pub dining around, The Golden Fleece in Braughing or the Sword Inn Hand in Westmill. THis had to be the perfect setting for our family bet together. This place really is better than it looks on the website, Andrew time to add some new pictures

Room Tip: The Master bedroom above the kitchen is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miket332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A group of ten of us stayed at Anstey Grove barns http://ansteygrovebarn.co.uk/ in June 2012 for my friends hen weekend. The barn was stunning, immaculate and the owners are very welcoming. It was kept as a big surprise from the hen and as soon as she saw the place she burst into tears as she was amazed. There was more than enough room for everyone and the facilities were fantastic. Having a bathroom off each room is exactly what you need with ten women! Each room was decorated to a high standard and the gardens would have been perfect for a summer garden party. We stayed in on the Friday night as we wanted to enjoy the barn but on the following day we travelled into Cambridge via minibus, Barry from the Big minibus company http://www.bigminibus.co.uk/ was fantastic and by far the best price of all the minibus companies I called and I would definitely use him again. the journey into Cambridge was about 35 - 40 minutes so not to far to travel. I highly recommend the punting as we enjoyed an hours chauffeured punt with some bubbly costing £10 each with go punting. We had also booked a cocktail class at Vodka revolutions which is within about 10 minutes walk of the river and this was a fantastic laugh and great value for money. Over all I would highly recommend Anstey Grove Barns and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms at this barn were gorgeous, the early riser in the party stayed at the room downstairs by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We nbooked this barn for a friends hen party june 2012. Owner is great and really relaxed and the barn is amazing gorgeous gardens every bedroom decorated to a high standard and the hens room with the role top bath was amazing. We stayed for 2 nights in the luxury and quiet of the barn with amazing underfloor heating and a huge table that accomodated us all for gorgeous meals with our friends. The kitchen is clean, modern and spacious it was a pleasure to stay here and we are already planning on making it an annual girls getaway. 5+ stars all round thank you for a wonderful weekend. see you all again next yr if not before. xx

Room Tip: if you can then nab the room with the role top bath and the 4 poster bed it was lush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here over the weekend and it was absolutely fantastic - can't rave about it enough! We were a large group of friends...and Anstey Grove Barn was just perfect. Lovely rooms, super clean, stunning communal dining area, beautiful outside space...I could go on and on! Thank you guys for being great hosts - we'll be back again! Hannah

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-Tuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I recently organised my best friend's hen weekend for 12 of us, most of whom live in London. It only took us one hour to get there. Andrew was very accommodating, both during the booking process leading up to the weekend and while we were there. We couldn't have asked for a better venue to cater for all our needs. It was fantastic that each bedroom had it's own bathroom, meaning no annoying queues in the morning to have a shower. There was plenty of room in the kitchen for several people to cook at the same time and in the main living space to all sit together at a table and eat and also in the other area to sit around on the comfy sofas. The underfloor heating made it feel cosy, and the garden is very pretty and a nice space to sit and watch the horses just opposite. The decor, especially in the bedrooms, is really lovely and elegant and the bathrooms are of a very high standard. The roll top bath attached to the main double bedroom was a treat - several of us managed to squeeze in a relaxing soak during the course of the weekend. The barn has a very homely feel and everyone who came was pleasantly surprised by how lovely it was given the price. We will definitely be finding an excuse to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just returned from this excellent barn where we held my sisters hen party. The barn is of a very hgh standard and works very well as a self catering venue for a large party. There was 12 of us in total and the barn had plenty of space and never felt overcrowded. It is beautiful, quiet and private, with a garden and outside seating to enjoy the fresh air. Each roon had lovely views and is nicely decorated. the under floor heating was also an unxepected bonus. The owners are lovely and are more than willing to help with anything, both prior to arrival and during your stay. We hired a mini bus into cambridge for punting and a picnic. Which was great fun. I would recomend Butlers car services, and Granta Punting Company for anyone wanting to do something similar.

I would reccomend Anstey Grove Barn to anyone looking for a large self catering venue of a high standard.

Thank you Andrew and Alice for the use of your beautiful barn.It made a special weekend even more special.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but the one with the four poster bed is very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buntingford
11.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
10.5 mi away
Templars Hotel and Carvery
11.1 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Sword Inn Hand
The Sword Inn Hand
#1 of 1 in Westmill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
5.9 mi away
Old Bull Inn
Old Bull Inn
#1 of 11 in Royston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to anstey grove barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about anstey grove barn

Property: anstey grove barn
Address: the grove | anstey, Buntingford SG9 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Buntingford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Buntingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic converted barn in rural hertfordshire,less than 1 hr from london, 30 mins from cambridge, hertford. available for self catering on a full barn basis ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anstey Grove Barn Buntingford, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing