We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country pub”
Review of The Alma Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Alma Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Colne B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice country pub”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Just had a night here for our Christmas party and thought it was good value for money. We started with a sandwich in the afternoon which was really nice and service friendly. The sit down meal was freshly cooked with nice produce and service again was good. The rooms were lovely, clean and nicely decorated. The only gripe was the hair dryer in the room was broken and there was no replacement available. Breakfast was average but adequate. Log fires added a nice touch to a homely atmosphere. Would like to try the Alma again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    39
    15
    16
    18
See reviews for
62
80
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our son & his wife had their wedding reception here on Nov 30th and it was fantastic. The wedding party all stayed there on the Friday & Saturday nights, the rooms are lovely and there is everything you need to make your stay extra special. The reception itself was perfect, food amazing (best bangers & mash ever!) and all the staff were very professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definately recommend this as a venue for any couple looking for a country wedding reception. Thanks to all the staff at the Alma.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had our wedding here on 17th May, it is an absolutely fantastic venue, in a great location surrounded by beautiful countryside, with great staff, food and atmosphere. Zoe worked as our wedding coordinator and looked after everything to make sure the day ran as smoothly as possible. She listened to everything we wanted, with helpful suggestions with things they could provide as a venue e.g. a pretty cream post box for guest cards to be safely locked in. There was a slight glitch with seating arrangement for our guests being mixed up, but the staff apologised for this and the food was excellent, so none of our guests minded. The food is the biggest complement for the Alma Inn, it is fantastic, we had a choice for our guests for all three courses, and all were served promptly, perfectly cooked, delicious and hot. Many of our guests complimented the food and will be returning to the Alma Inn as a result. We send our compliments to the chef. Staff were very helpful and service was excellent.
The venue has a good selection of local ales, and drinks are reasonably priced, with no price hike for weddings which can often happen. We had three local beers on tap for the day, two from Moorhouse brewery as requested, our third choice of Lancaster Amber never made it to the tap which is a shame, but was nothing for us to worry about.
The rooms are all tastefully decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Each room has coffee maker and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, Moulton Brown toiletries, and slippers. Lovely fluffy dressing gowns are available too. Fantastic nights sleep. There is good selection of food for breakfast too, again it is lovely and couldn't have asked for more. Eggs benedict and the full english are recommended. Lovely venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinegardner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have stayed here many times following a recommendation from a business colleague and found the Alma perfect in every respect. The welcome is always wonderful, staff and locals are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully kept, the food + wine are 1st class, the setting is idyllic and the service has been consistently brilliant for a number of years. We have recommended the Alma to a lot of our suppliers in business and continue to do so with every confidence hearing nothing but rave reviews following their stay. Roaring fires, traditional furnishings in the bar area, designer style bedrooms, equipped with the Nespresso coffee makers in your room, immaculately clean and a true home-from-home. A perfect stay every time without exception! Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitleyBayGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have been going to the Alma Inn for many years and have experienced a consistent decline in the quality of service . In spite of very much wanting to make it our preferred place to eat (and we go out A LOT), they are doing everything to discourage us from it.

Last night we had to wait about 40 mn before being served.The restaurant was not full, as you can expect on a sunday evening. We were therefore expecting to be served fairly quickly. As for the food, I had been told that the soup of the day was potato and leek and had ordered it, only to see the waitress arrive with a tomato soup, telling me that they had no more soup of the day left. I refused the soup and the waitress came back asking me if I would like pumpkin soup instead (which was not on the menu), I agreed to this. 2 mn later, she came back with a bowl of whitish very creamy liquid. Disgusting and absolutely no taste of pumpkin. It was like cream diluted with some water. 1h30 mn after we had ordered our food, I still had not had anything to eat.... Luckily they did not charge me for the soup that I had not eaten.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patmar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Beautiful setting & as we went in winter the fires were roaring. The Alma Inn is a great find because the service is friendly, the atmosphere welcoming & the food really good. The room was well appointed & styled in a contemporary manner.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for family wedding. Fantastic setting (though probably very bleak in the winter, when the log fires would be very welcoming). Wonderful views - hard to believe there are quite large towns nearby as all you could see were the hills, some farms and lots of sheep

Wedding was wonderful - very smooth planning and not a hitch and the Garden Room looked lovely and it was good the lounge bar was reserved for wedding guests.

The rooms are beautifully furnished and loved the Molton Brown goodies in the bathroom - very nice touch. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly and we were sorry not to be staying longer. Breakfast was fabulous - all freshly cooked and delicious (though sorry, we did pass on the black pudding!).

Loved the room keys on cricket balls - it wasn't till we were some way down the M6 I realised I still had our key in my bag! Whoops - but we have posted it back.

A great stay - can't recommend highly enough. Would def stay again if we were up this way again in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colne
2.1 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
267 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
9.8 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
760 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rye Flatt Farmhouse
Rye Flatt Farmhouse
#2 of 5 in Colne
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Inn

Property: The Alma Inn
Address: Emmott Lane | Laneshawbridge, Colne BB8 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Colne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colne
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel Colne
The Alma Inn Colne, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing