We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alma Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel(Burnley)(Great Value!)
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burnley(Burnley)(Great Value!)
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
162
42
15
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
42
15
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomnespresso machinereal alebar area isthe general managerseafood companyfollowing morningstayed here for two nightscooked to perfectionovernight staygreat roomcannot faultone night staynothing is too much troubleweddingskiptonyvonne
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favourite places to eat, which is why we booked for Christmas Eve lunch. Our table wax booked for 12.15 - the only available table left - we arrived at noon, and as we weren't welcomed by any of the 3 staff we passed, sat ourselves at the bar. We we're then asked to go to our table and were told by the waitress that our table would be required in a couple of hours. I chose the cod from the specials menu - if was nearly £14 and a plate arrived with a huge dollop of mash, a dollop of ratatouille and a portion of cod, the presentation wasn't what I expected for the price of the dish and what I would normally expect from the alma kitchen. I'm not sure any of really enjoyed our food. The staff were less than attentive - we didn't see anyone In between ordering our food and our food being brought to the table. We didn't stay for dessert as we were so disappointed with the food and the service. We didn't tell the manager as our mum had taken us for a Xmas Eve treat and she would have been upset if we had complaint, but I didn't feel the staff were at all interested in their guests. Quite the opposite, I felt they didn't really want to be working and that we were a minor irritation. Sorry alma, but there are lots of other places where hard earnt money can be spent and enjoyed.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank thehatchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We went for a pre christmas meet up today. The Inn is lovely and quaint with lots of festive touches. The food is of very good quality and the whole experience was ver enjoyable. My only little constructive advise is once we were seated the waitress left us with the menus for over 20 mins and we had to finally get the attention of a waiter to ask him if he could find someone to take our order. So quite slow service. We were luckily not in a rush. Otherwise would recommend for the food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Oakleigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed for one night on the 7/12/13. This was our 2nd stay at 'The Alma', and on this occasion we stayed in room 9, a suite with 'double spa bath'. The Inn itself is lovely, and 'oldie worldy'. Booking in was personal, friendly and efficient. We were shown to our room by staff, which was lovely, and as described on the web site. The spa bath was amazing, and could fit three in, should it take your fancy!
We decided to take advantage of the room service, and have our evening meal in our room. The full restaurant menu was available to us, and the staff couldn't have been more obliging. A table/chairs was brought to our room, with the table was clothed, and set..including christmas crackers!
The food was excellent, and brought to our room by friendly, attentive staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
The bar/ restaurant is lovely, cosy and friendly, with log fires burning The bar staff were again attentive and friendly.
In respect of breakfast....plenty of choice.....sourced locally, and lovely, I honestly can't fault our stay.
Of note: There is a room on the ground floor, for those with access issues. However, access to the upstairs accommodation is via some steep stairs.

Room Tip: Room 9, with double spa bath
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximas08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Just had a night here for our Christmas party and thought it was good value for money. We started with a sandwich in the afternoon which was really nice and service friendly. The sit down meal was freshly cooked with nice produce and service again was good. The rooms were lovely, clean and nicely decorated. The only gripe was the hair dryer in the room was broken and there was no replacement available. Breakfast was average but adequate. Log fires added a nice touch to a homely atmosphere. Would like to try the Alma again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurse1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our son & his wife had their wedding reception here on Nov 30th and it was fantastic. The wedding party all stayed there on the Friday & Saturday nights, the rooms are lovely and there is everything you need to make your stay extra special. The reception itself was perfect, food amazing (best bangers & mash ever!) and all the staff were very professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definately recommend this as a venue for any couple looking for a country wedding reception. Thanks to all the staff at the Alma.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews