We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time warp!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of JJ's - CLOSED

JJ's
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
colne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Time warp!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Went as a party of 6 to comedy night, food was ok but expensive, comedy was at best average, felt like an old peoples home, very old school in style, service and food. Quality of food very good, but thought expensive. Geoff does a good job, but think the place needs to be modernised.

Helpful?
1 Thank ColneGeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Strange Brew!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Started by standing @ the bar (even tho our table was ready) & being asked (eventually) if we wanted a drink....Prefer 2 sit down 1st please.
Service after this was ok 1 of our party had the duck & stated that it was the best he'd ever had.
All the food was generally very good.
Then came the bill a wee bit pricey

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and homely with great value, quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My friend and I called on spec after a midweek evening shopping trip and found a little gem in this welcoming and homely restaurant.

The small room is more akin to someone's front room rather than a restaurant and the decor is warm and homely. The menu is varied and reasonably priced, especially the Wed and Thur early evening special board. Two courses for 11.95 ...

I chose the black pudding and bacon starter and the pork with potatoes and veg for main. The starter was plentiful, delicious and well presented. The Pork was really lovely, well cooked, quality meat and the vegetables cooked perfectly.

I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world, in major cities on all continents and this meal was without a doubt right up there with the best, in terms of quality and value for money. I will definitely be back and next time I will brings the girls...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal in a relaxed and cosy atmosphere..food was delicious and specials good value, will definitely be returning!

Helpful?
Thank tuckthemuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in colne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Been here before on a works do and food and atmosphere were great! Popped in for breakfast with hubby last week on Sunday morning and it was fab not the cheapest in town but deffo the best good home cooked fresh sausage, bacon, and real black pudding! With plenty beans tomatoes and a lovely egg topped with unlimited toast and fresh coffee what else would you want to fuel your day? All for £ 6. 95 and in a lovely home setting and clean toilets too! And it's not served on wood yippee!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JJ's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing