We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't forget Wallace.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wallace Hartley Memorial

Ranked #8 of 14 things to do in Colne
Attraction details
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't forget Wallace.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Wallce of course conducted the band playing 'Nearer my God to Thee' as the Titanic sank in the Atlantic. The statue of Wallce stands alongside the main Road leading into Colne from Nelson. If you share my view that this man (and his band for that matter) was a true hero, you may wish to visit and contemplate your respect. I found it a very moving experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ad-hoc Saturday lunch visit! Superb value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

me & my wife dropped in whilst in the Colne area about lunch time on an April Saturday. It was fairly quiet as you might expext on a regualr day, and we found a table in a nice corner of the spacious pub. The Wallace Hartley has been very tastefully decorated, and the bar areas, and toilets are all very clean.

We both ate a burger of their "premium" menu, and thoroughly enjoyed them. This offers superb value for money, and we would definately recommend trying the food - ESPECIALLY FOR THE MONEY.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJam2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“pride of colne”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

i live in colne, and i see wallace hartley memorial several times a week. its a great tourist attraction

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite moving!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I pass this memorial quite a lot whilst driving but have stopped and viewed it several times along with people who have visited me. They show great interest in seeing the memorial. It is quite touching.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank irene847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wallace Hartley Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Wallace Hartley Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing