We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful, haunted, historical hamlet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wycoller Village & Country Park

Wycoller Village & Country Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Colne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Has ruins of Wycoller Hall and old bridges across the beck which may be 1000 years od. The village has been restored and is between Colne and Haworth and the Hall is thought to feature as Ferndean Manor in Jane Eyre.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, haunted, historical hamlet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've visited Wycoller many times now. I won't bother repeating what everyone else has said already, but I agree with all the great comments. It's just a perfect place to take kids on a hot Summer day as it's so shady - they can paddle in the river at the ford to keep cool then have a (great quality) ice cream cone from the tea room/craft centre. The facilities at Wycoller are excellent, there are clean modern toilets available up near the barn, you don't have to use the craft centre. The main reason I'm posting this review is to draw attention to the "Tramper" which I havent seen anyone mention and it really is a boon to those with mobility problems. The tramper is a specially designed four wheel drive all-terrain electric buggy which can be used off road and even on rough ground, mud and grass. It enables people who have difficulty walking to experience the countryside, woodlands and lakesides; and to accompany their friends and families when out walking. These trampers are free but you will need to book ahead. To book your tramper call 01772 533 919. When you get there, you will be given some instruction on how to use the tramper, before you set off and can enjoy a lovely "walk" that you wouldn't have been able to otherwise, due to mobility issues. The tramper has a high weight limit and it's very sturdy and comfortable to use. You don't have to have a blue badge or anything, so it's very accessible.

I'm no expert on birdlife but I am constantly delighted when at Wycoller - I've seen (and heard) my first woodpecker and watched a kingfisher doing the job it's named after. The people that live in the hamlet all seem very friendly and don't mind the sometimes large amount of tourists tramping around and sometimes peering in their windows! I always think of Wycoller as countryside for people that think countryside is boring - there is so much to delight here in a small area, that they can't fail to enjoy it.

I completely agree with another reviewer who said that there is a magical atmosphere in Wycoller. It's also very haunted and not always just inside the houses! But that is another story! Although the car park for the visitors is further up the lane that comes into the village, you can bring your car down if you're going to be using the Tramper, or if you have a disabled badge. Do say hello to Sabrina the resident black cat if you see her, she rules the roost in the village and is very friendly (unless you're another cat!).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank IBelongToGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An easy way to spend some time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Wycoller is an unspoiled, yet visitor-friendly, place to explore. Largely traffic free (visitors park outside the village and walk down the purpose built pathway) it exudes an air of history and mystery............ The river, with its ancient bridges, the ruins, the Aisled Barn, with its enthusiastic, knowledgeable volunteers, the duck-pond, the picnic areas and the old cafe, with its gorgeous home made food, all combine to make it easy to while away a few hours. Wycoller is also the starting (and/or finishing) point for some good walking in this beautiful area. The children love it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SueC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Wycoller is a hidden gem just past the bronte country. We visited today and the weather was lovely, lovely houses and a great st bernard dog was there to greet us! Visitor centre looks nice for those who are interested, we preffered to walk round the ruins and play by the stream. Had a lovely meal at the cafe which i have left a separate review for.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirelass024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wycoller Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have visited the village of Wycoller on several occasions, I am not a walker and my interest is only in the past times of places. Wycoller has a magical atmosphere and sometimes in my view there is a sadness about the place. I wander round the ruins of the old Wycoller Hall and marvel at the skill of the stone masons who built the place carving the intricate stonework with only mallet and chisel. On one of my visits some years ago on a perfect summer's day I was stood looking at the chapel and behind me the sound of a horse's hoofs suddenly appeared. On turning round, a jet black horse pulling a small open carriage was crossing the ford above the Pack Horse Bridge with a man and a woman dressed in period costume. It was as if I had been transported back in time and here were two visitors coming for tea at the hall.

It is said that Wycoller was visited by the Bronte Sisters and that Wycoller Hall was the inspiration for Ferndean Manor in Charlotte Bronte's novel.

There is a great tea room in the village and inside there is a large old fashioned Yorkshire Range with Black Leaded and shining bright iron work.

There are some great properties in the village, one complete with a couple of St Bernard Dogs in the yard.

My only complaint (no, too strong a word) is the long walk from the car park above the village down to the Hall and the inevitable drag back up to the car park, as no cars other than residents are allowed in the village.

At my age it takes a bit of doing, but in the end it is very well worth the effort

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First visit to wycoller park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great place for a nice walk in the countryside and a great cafe as well. When we visited there was also a demonstration of making figures out of willow which was interesting and educational.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wycoller Village & Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Wycoller Village & Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing