We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snug Little Restaurant”
Review of Green Chimney

Green Chimney
Ranked #39 of 61 Restaurants in Colne
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Snug Little Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were a little apprehensive about this plase as it gave me the impression that it was a bit "greasy spoon" from the outside. What a lovely surprise though as the food is very good, with a comprehensive drinks list and the staff are great. The place has a "feel" like it's a workers co-operative but it is an excellent well run restaurant. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    100
    62
    51
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

What a shame! The products served at the green chimney are good. The food is very nice as are the drinks. For the most part the staff are friendly enough. But the service takes forever and the tables are so jammed it that you can barely move inside. We have sometimes had to wait the best part of 15minutes for a cup of tea!
It's really good to see a place like this in colne and I'm glad it seems to be doing well but I feel it could be so much better if the were to just address a couple of basic issues.

Helpful?
2 Thank nik69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab food=great place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a delicious meal here tonight......busy but the staff were great! Excellent food, we both had chicken burgers with sweet potato fries, great home cooked flavours +huge portion.
Nice cozy atmosphere in quirky surroundings, will visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacks1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Loved every bite”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went for lunch with hubby, we both had a burgers I had Boulsworth burger which was delicious, loved the pulled pork on it. My hubby had the Pendle burger which was very good. Staff great, relaxing atmosphere cannot wait to dine here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank difah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First time visit to Colne and this cafe was recommended, unfortunately we weren't impressed.
It was busy so that might explain why we had to request that the table be cleared of dirty plates and that there was no cutlery on ours or other tables. However, although the food did arrive quickly it was average and expensive for what you got.
Also, didn't like that you could see through the floorboards to either upstairs/downstairs, probably perfectly safe but I didn't feel safe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyHD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Chimney also viewed

Colne, Lancashire
Colne, Lancashire
 
Colne, Lancashire
 
Colne, Lancashire
 

Been to Green Chimney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing