We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We stayed at the Wheatsheaf for three nights using vouchers collected from The Daily Telegraph, which meant we paid a very reasonable £56 pounds per night for a double room (four poster bed) with breakfast .
The room was clean and comfortable, although the shower was a tight squeeze to enter and wasn't very big.
The food in the bar was very good, possibly the tastiest sirloin steak we've had.
All in all, we would recommend this Inn, especially if you travel with dogs, as they are made most welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

We went here recently for a couple of nights to relax somewhere nice and peaceful. A small place, which suited us fine. Lovely little bar, exactly what a pub should be like! Ate here on the first night, good selection on the bar menu, enjoyed our meal very much. Good beers too! They have a little residents lounge with a couple of couches, great to relax in and have read a book while having a drink. Only complaint is that the floors, doors & bed in the room all seemed very creaky, surprising considering it is fairly new accommodation! Great breakfast, friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Plenty of safe parking available behind the pub.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCunnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This is a country inn with 13 newish rooms in a small village in Wensleydale in a good position for touring Yorkshire Dales close to Aysgarth Falls. We paid £83 B&B for a double which was OK value.

We were pleasantly surprised with a nice modern, spacious room with all you need. Nice shower room with large shower. Only problem was the shower head slid down its pole & was held together with tape. We were told they knew about it & were waiting to get it repaired although a previous TripAdviser reviewer mentioned this in a review in October 2008 - although it could have been a different room of course.

Nice quiet location & comfortable bed & so we had a good nights sleep.

Breakfast very nice - excellent tasty bacon. Bar meal dinner was nice but nothing special although there were quite a lot of locals eating out on the Saturday night we were there so is popular locally. Friendly staff.

Car parking on site.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Our booking was via theTourist Info office in Richmond. The first impression of the hotel was the overbearing smell of burnt cooking oil when we entered the reception area. This smell remained all of the way to the fire door which led to our room
We were in the new part of the building. The room was relativeley spacious but there had been little or no consideration given to decoration. There was also a strange chair with electric cable dangling from it. We chose not to use this! Also there was a fold up bed stored against one of the walls. Would it not be better to store this away from the room and allow guests who require this facility to ask for it?
The bathroom was ok but the shower was held together with repair tape. Unfortunate because the fittings were clearly new.
The bar of this hotel is dominated by a large televison screen and the room generally lacked any atomosphere.
We ate our evening meal in the bar. Fairly typical bar food and I suspect the fish we had in our fish and chips was frozen and pre battered. Very disappointing and the stale smell of cooking oil is still with me
The breakfast was ok but nothing special. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tritonkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

Stayed at The Wheatsheaf for a long weekend in October. The owners and staff are all very friendly and the rooms are of a typical B&B standard and clean.

The food is fantastic: excellent meals are available - the food is tasty, and service is very quick even when the bar is busy. In addition, the pub serves a nice selection of beers.

Overall, a very pleasant stay in a quiet and relaxing location.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirjamesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SThuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoX6047WF, Owner at The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: aan de voorkant heb je een uitzicht maar er loopt wel een (rustige) weg voor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Didier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carperby
8.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
18.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,013 reviews
8.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
22.6 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Address: Main Street, Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carperby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Price Range: £79 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is a traditional, family run inn set in the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Walker and dog friendly, the Wheatsheaf is on a spectacular walking route between the historic Bolton Castle (where Mary Queen of Scots was kept captive in 1568)and the world famous Aysgarth Falls. The Wheatsheaf was also where Alf White (more famously known as the vet and author James Herriot) and his wife had their honeymoon in 1941. Featuring real ales, log fires, and good food, the Wheatsheaf prides itself on its welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Hotel Carperby
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant And Bar
The Wheatsheaf In Wensleydale Carperby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing