We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, gives you great ideas”

Helmsley Walled Garden
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1759, Helmsley Walled Garden is a five acre garden sitting beneath the imposing ruins of Helmsley Castle. It provided the vegetables, fruit and flowers for the table of Duncombe Park until just after World War 1 when it was leased as market garden. Abandoned after it closed its doors for the final time in 1984, it fell into dereliction. Restoration started in 1994 and since then the Garden has gone from strength to strength through the dedication and care of staff and volunteers. Visitors can now enjoy restored glasshouses full of colour, a double herbaceous Hot Border running the length of the Garden or sit and enjoy the tranquillity of the Garden of Contemplation. A Clematis Garden showcases over 100 different clematis varieties and in the vegetable patch, a new attraction is the edible flower garden, showing some of the flowers that can bring new colour and style to salads and other dishes. Vegetables and fruit from the Garden go into the delicious dishes prepared in the Vinehouse Cafe. Visitors sit beneath Victorian vine cultivars to enjoy soups, salads and open sandwiches as well as delicious cakes and desserts. The Plant Centre sells a wide selection of herbaceous perennials, some of which visitors will find on display in the Garden. Staff can help visitors with any questions about what might go well in their gardens. The Garden shop also sells a range of useful garden sundries such as gloves, string and seeds as well as gifts such as jams, chutneys and biscuits. Other items available include a range of heritage tools and garden artefacts. The Garden also works as a social enterprise, providing social and therapeutic horticulture to people with a wide range of difficulties and disabilities. Specialist therapists provide a structured environment for supported volunteers to gain skills and self-confidence whilst undertaking horticultural tasks in a safe environment. There is full wheelchair access to the Garden as well as the Cafe. Toilets and disabled toilets available Dogs are welcome on leads
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Charming, gives you great ideas”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited the garden leisurely on our last day in Yorkshire and were charmed by the plants on visual offer here. I would return to get more ideas, like the apple trees trained onto low rising fencing, making them seem like hedging! The Castle towers over the garden and this adds to its charm. A row of artisan shops line the wall entrance, before arriving at the ticket counter, a bit steep to charge £6 but I guess the upkeep ain't cheap...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    118
    35
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Cafe”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Been for lunch at the café today.........was superb. Certainly worth a visit as long as you like 'different' salads no soggy lettuce here! Delicious scones and cakes; homemade bread and pasta and lovely staff (It is vegetarian) Well done Will!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trish4837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just visited the Walled Garden and although it is worth a look at and is quite nice we thought £6 each was a bit expensive at this time of year when not a lot is blooming. £3 to £4 would be more acceptable. Although I would point out that the tickets can be used for free return visits for a year which is great but we are not from the area and will not be back again in the next year. Also couldn't see if there was any concession for over 60's.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia_Harris, Marketing Manager at Helmsley Walled Garden, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt there was not enough in bloom to make your visit worthwhile. We are currently planning the renovation of the Long Border as a spring border, showing a whole range of the plants that are blooming in early spring and plan to start work on that later in the year.

As you point out we do offer a twelve month ticket if the entry fee is Gift Aided which we do find a lot of people appreciate. However, simply by visiting the garden, you are also contributing to our work as a social enterprise. We provide horticultural therapy to people with a range of disabilities and support them to fulfil their potential. Your support is invaluable to us and we do appreciate it. If you would like to know more about our work and the story of the garden, you might like to look at our website, or please feel free to contact us here at the garden, we would love the opportunity to tell you more about what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Helmsley Walled Garden”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice garden, but little more than that; if it had been free or a couple of pounds I would have been happy but this was £12.00 for two people, which frankly was not good value (especially as you could have walked in for free unchallenged). Parts of the garden were very nice, but large parts were very unkempt.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Freelance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia_Harris, Marketing Manager at Helmsley Walled Garden, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we do appreciate all customer feedback. I'm sorry you felt that the entrance fee was poor value. We do offer a twelve month pass for the garden if you Gift Aid your entrance fee; so you can return as many times as you wish to watch the garden develop over the seasons which many of our visitors like to do. We are a charity and a social enterprise providing horticultural therapy to people in need in Ryedale and Hambleton. Any money we make over and above covering our costs is used to support our work with vulnerable and disabled people. So every time you visit the garden, buy a plant from us or visit the café you are helping to support us. I do hope you will think about visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful even in early spring”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just spent a lovely weekend in Helmsley. The walled garden is a gem and although is in a tourist area is not at all 'touristy'. Even in April when its not full bloom it is a peaceful haven of tranquility. There are different areas to explore,chickens to see and even a cat- Bo to stroke. The cafe is wonderful,the chef can really cook and we enjoyed a great lunch there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia_Harris, Marketing Manager at Helmsley Walled Garden, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Claire

thank you for giving us our first review of the season. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit to the garden and the café. The café has a completely new menu this year so I hope you will come back later in the season to enjoy the garden in full bloom and sample some more of the chef's hard work.

Best wishes

Tricia Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helmsley Walled Garden also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Helmsley Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing