We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to be back”

Helmsley Walled Garden
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1759, Helmsley Walled Garden is a five acre garden sitting beneath the imposing ruins of Helmsley Castle. It provided the vegetables, fruit and flowers for the table of Duncombe Park until just after World War 1 when it was leased as market garden. Abandoned after it closed its doors for the final time in 1984, it fell into dereliction. Restoration started in 1994 and since then the Garden has gone from strength to strength through the dedication and care of staff and volunteers. Visitors can now enjoy restored glasshouses full of colour, a double herbaceous Hot Border running the length of the Garden or sit and enjoy the tranquillity of the Garden of Contemplation. A Clematis Garden showcases over 100 different clematis varieties and in the vegetable patch, a new attraction is the edible flower garden, showing some of the flowers that can bring new colour and style to salads and other dishes. Vegetables and fruit from the Garden go into the delicious dishes prepared in the Vinehouse Cafe. Visitors sit beneath Victorian vine cultivars to enjoy soups, salads and open sandwiches as well as delicious cakes and desserts. The Plant Centre sells a wide selection of herbaceous perennials, some of which visitors will find on display in the Garden. Staff can help visitors with any questions about what might go well in their gardens. The Garden shop also sells a range of useful garden sundries such as gloves, string and seeds as well as gifts such as jams, chutneys and biscuits. Other items available include a range of heritage tools and garden artefacts. The Garden also works as a social enterprise, providing social and therapeutic horticulture to people with a wide range of difficulties and disabilities. Specialist therapists provide a structured environment for supported volunteers to gain skills and self-confidence whilst undertaking horticultural tasks in a safe environment. There is full wheelchair access to the Garden as well as the Cafe. Toilets and disabled toilets available Dogs are welcome on leads
Warwickshire, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice to be back”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First visited about 15 years ago and were intersted to see the changes. This is one of the most peaceful gardens we have ever visited and we love the way it has developed. The laburnum arch was spectacular when we visited but this is a garden for all seasons

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    118
    35
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant gardens and staff.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

When we visited during late June '13 the gardens were beautiful.
We chatted with very friendly staff and volunteers...all helpful and very knowledgeable regarding the various plants.
We didn't visit the cafe but we did purchase some delicious crab-apple jelly (made using fruit from their orchard) and several very nice healthy plants from the plant sales area.
A very worthwhile visit made all the better by the lovely, friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1stTaraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Visited on a hot and sunny afternoon (yes we do have them!) I do not like gardening but I do like gardens and this was one of the most tranquil and relaxing spots in a beautiful part of the world. A fitting memorial to the lady who had the vision to bring this back to its former glory - her family must be very proud of her legacy. Had lunch at the cafe a simple but very flavoursome salad accompanied by lashings of ginger beer - heaven!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Netty1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is more than a little gem - it is a large one! Great garden, beautifully cared for with lots of interest.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cariBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Charming, gives you great ideas”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited the garden leisurely on our last day in Yorkshire and were charmed by the plants on visual offer here. I would return to get more ideas, like the apple trees trained onto low rising fencing, making them seem like hedging! The Castle towers over the garden and this adds to its charm. A row of artisan shops line the wall entrance, before arriving at the ticket counter, a bit steep to charge £6 but I guess the upkeep ain't cheap...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helmsley Walled Garden also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Helmsley Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing