We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Stilworth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stilworth House
Ranked #4 of 15 Helmsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
east yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This exceptionally friendly guest house was a fantastic place to stay. The room was a good size with large soft towels and really comfortable bed. The little extras such as chocolates in the room, plenty of biscuits and a wide range of complimentary hot drinks made it a cut above other places we have stayed. The full English breakfast would have rivalled any five star hotel and was cooked and served by Carol who was a friendly host. It is in a convenient location and the private car parking with CCTV was an added bonus. We would highly recommend Stilworth House for any couple or family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ros10uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
81
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Brilliant stay at Stilworth house with host Carol and her family, as a couple we have stayed there several times over a number of years, every visit has been excellent, the rooms are very comfortable, furnished to a high quality as is the cleanliness, the breakfasts are superb ! I would recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to stay in Helmsley.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mf004b1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Had friends visiting, unfortunately we were not big enough to take everyone so the rest stayed at Stilworth House, Helmsley. Carol made them feel so welcome. They were very comfortable and the breakfast was to "die for". Carol was full of local information and sometimes our friends ended visiting places of interest before returning to us. They were pleased to have private parking and the garden was a delight. They loved to watch the fish in the pond.
Also one of our friends was lucky to enough to have her nails done while there. "Beautylicious" is run by her daughter Hannah and it was a great Birthday treat. When you visit ladies do try out the Beauty Salon you wont be disappointed. Our friends will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I wanted to take the opportunity to provide a review of Carol Swift's 'Stilworth House' hotel.
I have stayed there a number of times and every visit has been superb! Carol's hospitality is fantastic, as are her breakfasts - not to mention the choice of coffees!!
I would recommend that anyone visiting Helmsley or the surrounding area stay at Stilworth House, it is second to none!

Room Tip: Any room available!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was our second stay with Carol and once again we had a very warm welcome, a well supplied room and an excellent breakfast including porridge, fresh fruit and even a choice of coffees! The central location is excellent as is the private parking.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaretnelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at Stilworth House for a long weekend while visiting family in Yorkshire. I have to say I have never had such a warm welcome and such a brilliant stay in a beautiful part of the country before. Carol was warm and easy to talk to with good knowledge of the surrounding area.
This bed & breakfast is second to none, a real home away from home and I would highly recommend finding out for yourself just how good it is.

Ian from Glasgow, Scotland

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We came to Helmsley not knowing what to expect and have been extremely amazed at this beautiful market town. And staying with Carol at Stilworth House has made the experience all e more memorable. What a wonderful B&B. Location perfect, in the middle of he town with private car parking in a beautiful garden setting. The design of the rooms provides independence in individual stone rooms each adjacent to the garden. Carol is very welcoming with a wealth of local information and lovely sense of fun. Breakfast options are all delicious. If you're coming to Helmsley, stay here! We'll be back...from Melbourne, Australia!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 5 in Helmsley
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.2 mi away
Laskill Country House
Laskill Country House
#2 of 3 in Hawnby
97 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilworth House

Property: Stilworth House
Address: 1 Church Street, Helmsley YO62 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Stilworth House situated just off the market square with views of Helmsley Castle to the rear . Our aim is to provide good food and comfortable accommodation in a cosy and informal atmosphere. There are comforortable en-suite ground floor bedrooms with dtv,radio alarm,hairdryer,tea/ coffee making facilities and fluffy towels. Award winning full English breakfast. In house beautician also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stilworth House Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing