We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stilworth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stilworth House
Ranked #4 of 15 Helmsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a nice stay for two nights in Stilworth House. Good and clean room. Carol was very helpful and made a very nice breakfast.....Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon!
Very nice place to stay in a very pretty village Helmsley.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
74
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed overnight on Friday 21st March 2014. Was greeted to a warm welcome by the friendly Carol.
The guest rooms are in a separate building outside. My room was well furnished, even with a mini-fridge. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and 2 bed-time chocolates were a nice touch. The shower was superb.
As I had to get up at silly o'clock for a race in the morning, Carol said she would leave the heating on overnight so that my room was warm when I got up which was really kind of her. I was also leaving before breakfast so she made me 3 croissants filled with jam and 2 ham rolls - most generous.
And to polish it off I had a lovely night's sleep in a a really comfortable bed - well until 05:00 when I had to get up!
Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this B&B. Lovely, friendly host, comfortable room in a nice setting. A literal stone's throw from the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultra_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in late February - welcoming owner Carol full of information on the village and local happenings and restaurant offers. New cottage in the garden small but containing all necessities and clean, warm and cosy. Huge English breakfast and porridge a speciality. Many attractions closed at this time e.g. Helmsley Castle and Rievaulx Abbey. Rievaulx Terrace (NT) a must and great country beyond to explore. Helmsley a good centre to base this exploration and very attractive with small shops and distinctive architecture with a large square. It was good to walk away from the town (up hill from the church) on a clear night and with minimal light pollution experience the wonder of the night sky and that great rarity silence. Ate some good meals at The Star, Scotts Fish and Chips (excellent cod and chips eaten beneath the benevolent gaze of Baron Feversham in the square) and Feversham Arms. Scope to return to this wonderful reasonably priced b&b, special village and bounteous county.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorrieClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Excellent b&b made very welcome .The room was very clean/warm and cosy just what we needed in February .The full breakfast really sets you up for the day. Stilworth is situated just right for the town center. Excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this amazing B&B last month.
I will definitely be returning.
The grounds are beautiful, the room was cosy, and the breakfast was superb.
Situated perfectly in the town centre this is the most ideal B&B.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another perfect stay at Stilworth House. Owner Carol makes you feel so very welcome to this lovely place.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very comfortable with all the little extras Carol provides eg. robes, chocolates, selection of hot drinks, biscuits etc., you really couldn't wish for better.
Breakfast is delicious and definitely deserving of the awards that have been given.
The central location with stunning views of Helmsley Castle make this the perfect place to stay. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when visiting Helmsley and have no hesitation in recommending Stilworth House. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A fantastic place to stay. Carol is an excellent host and nothing is to much bother. A great breakfast and very clean rooms in a lovely setting. A great place to stay where we ate at the brilliant Star Inn just along the road.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank craig_warkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Lodge
The Carlton Lodge
#9 of 15 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#5 of 15 in Helmsley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilworth House

Property: Stilworth House
Address: 1 Church Street, Helmsley YO62 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Stilworth House situated just off the market square with views of Helmsley Castle to the rear . Our aim is to provide good food and comfortable accommodation in a cosy and informal atmosphere. There are comforortable en-suite ground floor bedrooms with dtv,radio alarm,hairdryer,tea/ coffee making facilities and fluffy towels. Award winning full English breakfast. In house beautician also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stilworth House Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing