We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly enjoyable stay”
Review of Stilworth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stilworth House
Ranked #4 of 15 Helmsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A truly enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Although we were unavoidably late (and Carol told us she appreciated
that we'd phoned to tell her that we'd been delayed) she came out of her home in central Helmsley to get in our car and guide us to the parking place at the back of her
delightful, beautifully tended garden (with its wonderful fish pool )
and from then on was unfailingly helpful and hospitable in every respect. We also
received most friendly greetings from Gizmo, her cuddly shih tzu. Carol takes a lot of trouble with breakfast - as well as all the usual tasty choices there was fresh fruit salad, pastries and a choice of fresh coffees. In our room was a little fridge for a jug of fresh milk and cooled bottles of water. The room was fresh, clean,attractive and
as comfortable as we would have wished for, affording every possible comfort and
convenience. Helmsley is a fine town and our evening meal at the Feathers was
just right. We can't think of anything about our stay that we
cannot praise; it was a bit pricier than the average (£90), but fair enough,
because Stilworth House was well above average and such good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
77
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed four nights at Stillworth House in May 2014. It was such a lovely experience. Carol is the perfect person to run a B&B. She is very helpful, friendly and a good cook! Our room was so comfortable, the breakfast is everything we expected. Great location and car parking made our stay most enjoyable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonRob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at stilworth house. Perfect accomodation in a perfect location. Carol and frank pay so much attention to detail in everything. This was our first visit but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed two nights in Stilworth House and were made to feel so much at home we were sad to leave. Carol was extremely welcoming and helpful with plenty of local knowledge. Helmsley is a gorgeous little village with plenty of lovely shops and restaurants just outside the door. Stilworth House had off street parking which was fantastic and the rooms were well set up, spotlessly clean with everything you could want. Would have no hesitation in recommending this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CydMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Portal, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stilworth House is easy to find and in a very excellent location near the center of Helmsley---a very charming town. There is off-street parking, and the B&B "cottages" are behind the main house, and in a quiet, garden area. An excellent restaurant is in easy walking distance---the hostess is very helpful with the "local knowledge"---which is why we love to stay at B&Bs.. She showed us a spectacular, scenic way to drive over to the coast where we had booked our next B&B---and we would never have chosen that beautiful route without her showing it to us on the map. Stilworth House is and excellent choice for the Helmsley area---there is a lot to see and do in this area...we recommend a stay of several days if possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosemiteblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a nice stay for two nights in Stilworth House. Good and clean room. Carol was very helpful and made a very nice breakfast.....Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon!
Very nice place to stay in a very pretty village Helmsley.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed overnight on Friday 21st March 2014. Was greeted to a warm welcome by the friendly Carol.
The guest rooms are in a separate building outside. My room was well furnished, even with a mini-fridge. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and 2 bed-time chocolates were a nice touch. The shower was superb.
As I had to get up at silly o'clock for a race in the morning, Carol said she would leave the heating on overnight so that my room was warm when I got up which was really kind of her. I was also leaving before breakfast so she made me 3 croissants filled with jam and 2 ham rolls - most generous.
And to polish it off I had a lovely night's sleep in a a really comfortable bed - well until 05:00 when I had to get up!
Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this B&B. Lovely, friendly host, comfortable room in a nice setting. A literal stone's throw from the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultra_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Lodge
The Carlton Lodge
#9 of 15 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilworth House

Property: Stilworth House
Address: 1 Church Street, Helmsley YO62 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Stilworth House situated just off the market square with views of Helmsley Castle to the rear . Our aim is to provide good food and comfortable accommodation in a cosy and informal atmosphere. There are comforortable en-suite ground floor bedrooms with dtv,radio alarm,hairdryer,tea/ coffee making facilities and fluffy towels. Award winning full English breakfast. In house beautician also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stilworth House Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing