We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely cottage, great location, pretty town!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Helmsley, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lucy C
Manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location, pretty town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very nice cottage, in a fabulous location for the town. Except you can't see the castle so the name is a little misleading. It was plenty big enough for the 9 of us and there was lots of kitchen equipment, towels, bedding, games etc for everyone.

The bedrooms are spacious and nicely presented. The whole cottage was impeccably clean. The bathrooms are modern and clean and there are enough for the number of people which was nice to not queue! Hot water was ok although went cool at times. Having wifi was good as phone signal is poor.

The cottage was a little cold at times and it would have been good if we could have controlled the heating. However underfloor heating was a nice touch though, as is the real fire.

Overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely area with nice walks and things to do around.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belgium
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Theplusmi...
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Well equipped and maintained property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We were five adults so only used three bedrooms hence there was plenty of room for all of us. Location is nice and quiet and VERY handy for the market square. Given that it was the middle of March and absolutely freezing outside we quickly worked out how to keep the majority of the house warm and cozy ... although never quite managed to get the master bedroom and en-suite with its three outside walls to a really comfortable temperature. Kitchen worked well for five with the table against the wall. However for 7+ people the table would need to be away from the wall and would then make moving around the kitchen difficult. Easily sleeps eight and could see it working well for two families sharing. There are beds for two more but place would be getting exceedingly crowded. Living room only seats 6 but there are more seats in the conservatory. Nice tidy garden and the bikes would have been used had the weather been better. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer, but we could not find a clothes horse for those items not suitable for the dryer - perhaps the one real thing missing. Lots of games and videos. Owner was very helpful. This place would be in the 5 star luxury bracket if it had WiFi.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great location and condition of property
Liked least: there was no WiFi provision
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet Essex
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edward S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay for our family for our son's wedding and so this was ideal. Four big bedrooms, including 1 large room for the boys with lots of toys and books, was perfect. The house had virtually everything you might need, which was particularly important when the weather was poor. The Conservatory also was a great space to chill out in. With the cottage adjacent to the Cleveland Way, it was great for walking with our border collie. Our daughter needed to see a doctor during the stay and the people at the local Surgery, only a few hunderd yards away, could not have been more friendly and helpful.
Thoroughly recommended!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: no wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$99
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing