We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely homely house in a delightful location.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Helmsley, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynne M
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely homely house in a delightful location.”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just got back from a lovely week in Helmsley at Castle View.The house was very homely with a lovely garden and just a short walk into beautiful helmsley with its great choice of independent shops and a great choice of pubs and restaurants.Everyone we met was very helpful and friendly, would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This house is warm and welcoming in a snowy November, fully equipped with everything you could need for a family weekend away. The owners are friendly and efficient making the organising very easy. The location was great for us both walking distance into Helmsley and easy access to great dog walks. All we need now is to book again in the summer to make full use of the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therussel...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Year ”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed as 2 families for New Year 2015.
The house is spotless, beautifully presented spacious & everything you could need for a fab stay.
There's everything you could ever need & more the children loved it as they could walk in to the village to the sweet shop!
The firework display New Year's Eve was lovely.
Amazing house with a lovely feel the minute you walk in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Skipton
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in the centre in Helmsley”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We visited Helmsley as a group of two families, in all there were 9 of us and 2 dogs. The house was easily large enough to accommodate us without us getting under each others' feet. Every room is beautifully decorated, with four good sized bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a lovely large kitchen, living room and conservatory. Plus a really nice, secluded garden and decking area, with private parking for one car. On arrival, it was clear that the house was spotlessly clean, and there was even a small welcome gift awaiting us. The owners provided logs for the fire, use of bicycles, ideas for things to do / see / eat, and really everything anyone could need for a great holiday on the edge of the North York moors. We spent most of our time walking, but also used Helmsley's outdoor pool, visited the castle, Rievaulx Abbey and Mount Grace Priory. We mostly ate in the house kitchen in the evening and then retired to the conservatory for a glass of wine. We did venture into the village for a wonderful meal at the Black Swan one evening - thoroughly recommended, but with prices to match the quality of the food!

In all, a wonderful relaxing week in a beautiful part of the country. Thinking of returning, maybe for a winter break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The wifi was a bit hit and miss, but this is a very minor point.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your break at Castle View, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is great to hear that you had everything you needed to hand there for your group, and your evening routine of dining at the property and retiring for a glass of wine sounds perfect for unwinding at the end of a day walking! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return for another holiday soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunnerbil...
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always going to be good when you want to buy the place”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This house is superb. Space, location, bedrooms, bathrooms plenty of all. Truly minutes away from market square and all the delights on offer. Lovely view of the castle from my bedroom. Thanks to the owners for !taking this place available. Oh and the sun is shining.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
We couldn't be happier that you've had such a wonderful experience at Castle View, thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay there. Having views of the castle from the bedroom sounds fabulous, and having such a great place to call 'home' after being out and about exploring all that the area had to offer sounds just perfect! We certainly hope that you will be back for another holiday soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“brilliant house”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

this house had it all for my family lovely comfortable furnishings (the pillows are the best ever) and with parking for us all (one on the drive plenty of parking in the street) this house is close to the town centre and attractions, when we arrived the house was spotless with lots of small extra touches to make our stay even better, I think we spent most of our time in the house in the conservatory which was lovely in the mornings then late evening with the lights around the garden made this even more special.
We are hoping to visit here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the conservortory in the evenings
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us all, we couldn't be happier that you and your family enjoyed your time at Castle View. It is great to hear that you had everything you needed to hand, as well as those extras on top, and sitting in the conservatory relaxing in the evening sounds fabulous! We hope that you return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann P
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed for the week with husband,father,daughter,son in law and 2 of my grandchildren, to enable my father to attend the Palestine Reunion Parade at Eden Camp. Love!y cottage in an ideal location, warm and comfortable. Looking forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing