We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of The Carlton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Helmsley B&B and Inns
N.Yorks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I actually won a two day break to stay here and would be more than happy to pay for the pleasure in future. Really warm and well run place. The owners are fun and very organised and seem to go the extra mile to ensure their guests are happy, providing up to date information and advice. Breakfasts were pretty good with 'entertainment' provided by mine host. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel in Helmsley go elsewhere and I bet you won't receive better service. If you are happy to stay in a '6 star' lovely guest house then you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Only tried the one room but am sure they are all of similar high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N.Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    22
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here recently just for one night and chose it by chance.It was a lucky find. Our previous night we had stayed in a hotel and it certainly didn't stand a chance against Carlton Lodge.

This is a beautiful old house impeccably maintained with lots of period features. The decoration is sympathetic to the era of the house with all the modern comforts you might need. The room was lovely with T.V. and DVD. We were able to borrow a DVD from the hosts to watch in our room. The room also had a lot of nice little extras to make your stay more comfortable. We found it quiet and warm. We are bikers and often find accommodation can be cold when we book in but this room was cosy and welcoming. Breakfast was gorgeous and Margaret and Chris go to a lot of trouble sourcing local products. Nice to support your local producers.
It is only a few minutes walk to pubs and restaurants, all on the flat with foot path the whole way. They also have Wifi which is FREE. This is a really nice place to stay after a day on the moors and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recycleclon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have stayed at The Carlton Lodge now many times and have never been disappointed. Chris and Margaret Parkin are perfect hosts. They have had a number of years experience in the hospitality industry and it shows in their attention to detail. The rooms at Carlton Lodge are spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is first class with most of the ingredients sourced locally and cooked to perfection. When staying in this part of Yorkshire I would certainly say this is the place to stay with plenty of restaurants nearby for an evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTourist46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of england
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Excellent B&B.Rooms were comfortable.Breakfast was enjoyable.Parking was available.Staff and service was friendly and obliging (providing early breakfast.)There is a sitting room with books dvds etc.Altogether a very nice place to stay,would be hard to find better at the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellothereitsmehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were welcomed by the owner who carried our luggage to our room. The room itself was equipped with everything you would expect in a good hotel but with the nice added touch of free bottled water. Although evening meals are not served there are several places to eat within ten minutes walking distance. The English breakfasts were first class and came with fresh orange juice and proper portions of butter, not the usual wrapped variety. This is an excellent base to explore the lovely countryside and attractions.We thouroughly enjoyed our two night stay and hope to come again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlLondon_Pimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The title says it all, ANOTHER stay at the Carlton Lodge.
It’s not often we ‘go back’ to the same digs, but the Carlton Lodge is one exception. It is an ideal base for those holidaying in and around Helmsley. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, and I thoroughly recommend forking out that little bit extra for their ‘Superior’ Rooms (unlike a previous contributor!)
The place is (deservedly) rated as four star silver; there is plenty of on-site (free) parking, free wi-fi, superb facilities (the en-suites have shower, not bath – but don’t let this put you off), there is a residents’ lounge, although the rooms we have stayed in are so large we didn't need it, a well-stocked welcome tray.
The breakfasts are renowned, and it’s no surprise, a more than adequate cereal/ fruit etc bar, followed by a cooked breakfast to die for….do not miss the ‘Full English’, locally sourced produce cooked to perfection!!! And served with smooth and calming efficiency by mine (mein?)-host, Chris. No doubt, in the background, mine-hostess Margaret is paddling away furiously beneath the calm!!
The location is just a few hundred yards from Helmsley Market Square – so if you want an evening meal, you don’t even have to take the car.
Remember, it is no longer a hotel, which means that it doesn’t have a bar, or a restaurant, but it truly is one of the best ‘B & B’s’ in which we have stayed! And the pubs and restaurants are but a few minute’s walk away!!
Listen, you don’t need me to eulogise further, visit the website http://carlton-lodge.com/ .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobbyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Beautiful house on the edge of this quaint little town. Host was most welcoming, room was tasteful, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucecleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.6 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
91 reviews
5.3 mi away
Laskill Country House
Laskill Country House
#2 of 3 in Hawnby
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Lodge

Property: The Carlton Lodge
Address: Bondgate, Helmsley YO62 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the edge of the historic Market (Friday) Town of Helmsley the Carlton Lodge Award Winning Guest Accommodation operates under a sustainable visitor charter awarded by the North York Moors National Park.Spectacular scenery surrounds Helmsley and the Carlton Lodge, which is ideally placed to explore the Moors, historic York, the east coast resorts of Whitby, Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay and the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Lodge Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing