We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent.stay”
Review of The Carlton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Helmsley B&B and Inns
england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent.stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

we were made very welcome on our arrival. We had one night's stay which was perfect. Very comfortable, exceptionally clean and the breakfast was very, very good.Only minutes away from the market place making this in ideal venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlindsay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    22
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Comfortable room with excellent facilities. Very comprehensive breakfast menu . Made to feel very welcome as was our dog. Can thoroughly recommend this for a one night stop over or as a base to explore this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This was an entirely enjoyable stay with hosts who couldn't be better. They were informed about their area, extremely helpful and had a tremendous sense of humor to boot! The ensuite room was clean, comfortable and attractive. Breakfast was ample and delicious. The location is excellent -- a quick walk to the square, but not on the square, so it is quiet. The Lodge is just the perfect place to stay while visiting this beautiful area and I will definitely stay again when I hopefully revisit Yorkshire.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The service was excellent and very efficient. The Carlton Lodge was very clean. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. He greeted us, showed us our rooms and put the bikes away (we usually have to put our own bikes away), The food was excellent and the service, at meal time, was excellent and efficient.

Room Tip: All room excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

This is a really nice place. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly. The lounge offers a good set of guidebooks etc of the area and also some nice litte extras. Overall a lovely b&b that we would recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family1child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

first stayed a few years ago on business because my regular place had no rooms - and have stayed a number of times since for business and pleasure. Even gave my parents a gift voucher one year, so it must be good! I find the twin rooms spacious and very comfortable - and particularly appreciate the lack of clutter and frilliness that often comes with a B&B. The shower room is "cosy" but the shower is great - plenty of hot water and large good quality towels, and a heated towel rail. The beds are very comfortable.
2 high backed chairs are provided which is fantasic - they look so inviting but they are quite tricky to sit in! being highly polished and a bit tall for short legs.......
Chris is the added extra at breakfast; we really enjoy his sense of humour and general bonhomie, plus this time he gave us great info for a good walk - even lent us the map.
Do remember it's a privately run B&B not a 5* hotel. In my view the best B&B I've stayed in (probably!)

Room Tip: This B&B is on a fairly busy road, but it's just traffic noise not rowdy party goers! I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJSNorthEastEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I loathe hard beds and so many hotels and B&Bs seem to have beds made of concrete - I wake up every time I turn over and get up in the morning stiff and creaking. Here, I slept right through and woke up for breakfast feeling fine, which made a very pleasant change. And what a breakfast; freshly squeezed orange juice (no cartons), fruit, yoghurt, cereals, a wide variety of cooked fare and toast made from real bread. We didn't need to eat again till dinner in the evening. And the little touches were nice - fresh flowers on the tables and cloth napkins not paper, nice toiletries and a good shower, and Chris was charming. The only minor (and I mean minor) niggle was that the tissues on the dressing table were poor quality, in sharp contrast to everything else. Yes, we'd stay there again, very happily. Ignore the totally irrelevant fitness centre rating please - I couldn't get rid of it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibearnogifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
377 reviews
21.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
2.6 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Lodge

Property: The Carlton Lodge
Address: Bondgate, Helmsley YO62 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the edge of the historic Market (Friday) Town of Helmsley the Carlton Lodge Award Winning Guest Accommodation operates under a sustainable visitor charter awarded by the North York Moors National Park.Spectacular scenery surrounds Helmsley and the Carlton Lodge, which is ideally placed to explore the Moors, historic York, the east coast resorts of Whitby, Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay and the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Lodge Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing