We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overpriced B&B”
Review of The Carlton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carlton Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Helmsley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked two twin rooms for a night before walking the Cleveland Way. One was large enough, the other cramped with only one bedside light and table and nowhere to put luggage. This for £45 a night each. Breakfast was adequate apart from an overcooked (small) kipper. At £30 each this might be reasonable value; at £45 it is greatly overpriced. The owners self-publicise with the board outside ("Probably the best B&B in Helmsley" they say); and on the door with post-it notes of comments by guests (only the good ones I would think). This is a very average B&B charging hotel prices. All the others on our walk were better and cheaper.

Room Tip: Avoid the small room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niloci38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

Having stayed in a large number of indifferent and sometimes pretentious B&Bs, we've learned not to expect too much. Carlton Lodge bucked the trend, a large house with good-sized rooms and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had and the owner was efficient and attentive.
A great location, just a few minutes walk from the market place where there is a good choice restaurants and pubs for an evening meal.
Hoping to return later in the year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 at the side of the house. It was fairly quiet, considering the road at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louthrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We cannot understand the poor revue. Everything was what you expect from a top
B &B. Breakfast was the best I have had ANYWHERE. Beds extremely comfortable and HUGE
My only negative it was very difficult to use hair equipement and see what you where doing as I could not find a socket near the dressing table. I lost an earing, which they found, and sent it on the very next day. A big thank you Chris

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yelna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here and each time has been a pleasure. The atmosphere is very homely and the service excellent.The Lodge is family run and it shows in that you are soon made to feel part of the family. The owners know the area and all its interesting places to visit so can give advice to suit all tastes. Everywhere was spotlessly clean as usual and the breakfast at the usual high standard. the Lodge remains on our priority places to stay when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

we were made very welcome on our arrival. We had one night's stay which was perfect. Very comfortable, exceptionally clean and the breakfast was very, very good.Only minutes away from the market place making this in ideal venue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlindsay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Comfortable room with excellent facilities. Very comprehensive breakfast menu . Made to feel very welcome as was our dog. Can thoroughly recommend this for a one night stop over or as a base to explore this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This was an entirely enjoyable stay with hosts who couldn't be better. They were informed about their area, extremely helpful and had a tremendous sense of humor to boot! The ensuite room was clean, comfortable and attractive. Breakfast was ample and delicious. The location is excellent -- a quick walk to the square, but not on the square, so it is quiet. The Lodge is just the perfect place to stay while visiting this beautiful area and I will definitely stay again when I hopefully revisit Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
2.6 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helmsley Garden Cottage & Railway Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Lodge

Address: Bondgate, Helmsley YO62 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Price Range: £90 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the edge of the historic Market (Friday) Town of Helmsley the Carlton Lodge Award Winning Guest Accommodation operates under a sustainable visitor charter awarded by the North York Moors National Park.Spectacular scenery surrounds Helmsley and the Carlton Lodge, which is ideally placed to explore the Moors, historic York, the east coast resorts of Whitby, Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay and the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Lodge Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing