We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt very much at home, perfectly comfortable and at ease.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Reviewed 3 June 2011

From the moment you enter the reception area of the hotel you feel that your every need will be catered for .We had booked a modest room in the hotel and were advised by the person doing the booking over the phone that it would be small. On arrival, the receptionist informed us that they had very generously upgraded our accommodation to a poolside suite. The delight we felt must have been very evident. The suite was perfect in every sense,fashionable yet warm and comfortable .Our courtyard garden tastefully planted by the RHS influenced staff, was perfect for afternoon tea . I particularly liked the attention to detail with candles provided around the bath and a large container of local ' sheep dip' bubble bath ready for that sumptuous experience of the bathtub after my swim. I can wax lyrical about the swimming pool experience. Before breakfast under the clear blue Yorkshire skies ,to enjoy the luxury of a warm swim out in the fresh air amongst beautiful buildings made of Yorkshire stone all juxtaposed to make a fascinating spectacle and then the gentle chimes of the local church clock - not audible inside of course.
The dining experience was again a personal trip through the wines, and delicious food guided by the staff with their knowledge. Always attentive, but not too overbearing, all the staff treated you with every attention to detail Use of our name was a personal touch, how did they all remember ? !
We will certainly go back and enjoy another well earned break.

Room Tip: The poolside suite -easy access to all areas .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen11061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just spent two nights in a poolside suite. Ate in the hotel both nights with the normal and veggie tasting menus with the matching wines. Nice to see a veggie tasting menu option.

Used the spa and "heat experience". Both really good.

Overall service exceptional, nothing too much trouble.

Best of all; the pool is really warm!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ex-seasiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a very nice and relaxing time at this hotel. The service was first class, the staff were all very helpful and polite.
The room was spacious and and very comfortable.
We booked a package which included a meal. The time of the meal was decided by the hotel and was booked for 7.15. We decided to have a drink in the bar first but when we arrived at 6.45, we were given a menu and asked to order. Within 10 mins we were asked to the table but we asked for more time. Although the service was very attentative, it was quite rushed.
I had suckling pig as a main and was slightly disappointed with the meat as it was quite gristly.
Apart from that, this hotel offers a very nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy25xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed here for 1 night ..an anniversary surprise!! This is somewhere I have wanted 2 visit and overall we had a good time. On arrival we were upgraded to a spa suite ..it was lovely.. we did visit the spa which was nice and relaxing..dinner was the most disappointing part..service very slow and food luke warm..by the time it arrived we were starving so ate it. When asked if we enjoyed our meal we said how disappointed we were and how many guest were served before us even after arriving much later. The staff were apologetic and did remove 90 pounds from our bill.. we decided to order breakfast to be delivered on our balcony and it was delicious. A relaxing evening away..we are spoilt now and would only ever be able to stay in a spa suite. There are many other places I would like to visit before returning here...but I am sure we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkMetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

lovely place, helpful staff and really good room service, but my £340 night stay in room 19 was runined by the noise from traffic. The hotel is situated on the main road in and out of Helmsley which means it is used by some seriously big vehicles. My advice, if your a light sleeper check if your room faces the main road befor booking.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlelocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This Hotel leaves me lost for words.
I have never ever stayed at a hotel which is very nearly perfect in all respects.

However “perfection” is exactly the best description I can find to describe this hotel.

The hotel is welcoming relaxing with very attentive staff who really go the extra mile to satisfy your every whim.

I would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

One of my favourite hotels! Nothing about this hotel disappoints, the welcome is always warm, the rooms are beautiful and very clean and the food is delicious. I could go on but I think I've said it all other than if you have the opportunity to go to Helmsley then please stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netty101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,671 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
832 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £131 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing