We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Took a freind to celebrate her 50th birthday on the "Friday Fizz" package. Were upgraded to a larger room which was a bonus, lovely room and bathroom. Spent a nice girly afternoon relaxing in the spa.
Bar area very relaxing. Food at both breakfast and dinner was good but unfortunatey let down severely by the service. Had taken my husband for a birthday treat the previous month and had the same experience, didn't make a fuss either time as did not want to spoil the occasion.
Thought the first it was a one off but having a repeat experince was very disappointing. They have it right in lots of areas but really need to improve restaurant service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    318
    202
    109
    45
See reviews for
147
820
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

From the moment you walk in this hotel until the moment you leave you feel completely at home, relaxed and extremely well looked after. All facilities are fantastic with lots of unique personal touches. The staff are all so lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The heated outdoor pool is a must even in January! The food is excellent and we were lucky enough to be upgraded twice on both our visits. We stayed here as a treat on both occasions and are now planning our third visit hopefully later in the year. Well done all at the Faversham.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Andy_Voke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Feversham Arms in Helmsley is a pretty, comfortable and relaxing hotel where my daughter and I enjoyed a 2 night break last week. The food was absolutely delicious, the wine list impressive but the most outstanding feature is the service. All the staff were so helpful, informed and most of all fun. The Spa was also very well run and relaxing. Helmsley is a beautiful village in a stunning setting with lots to see and do.

Room Tip: In Room 2 you can only open a door which opens onto a sort of terrace so if you like fresh air this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

It was the amazing food that stuck out for me in this hotel. We enjoyed the tasting menu as well as the al la carte choices together with wine. All the dishes were beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. The afternoon tea was also a delight with miniature sandwiches, cakes and sweets. It was definitely foodie heaven!
As for the accommodation, we stayed in one of their suites and I thought that it looked a little tired in one or two places, particularly the bathroom. Despite this, it was still comfortable, clean and cosy but may think twice about paying the extra for next time.
The hotel itself has a traditional feel, set in a village location with a good level of service. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly return, if only for the food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper2008June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate , England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

From checking in to checking out my visit to the Feversham Arms was faultless.
We were fortunate to be staying in a spa suite which would have made the ground floor of many semi detached houses look small. Every inch of detail was there including a small (delicious) piece of birthday cake and birthday card!
Nothing was too much and the spa and facilities second to none!
We ate in the restaurant that evening and were looked after well. The food possibly wasn't up there with some recent meals that i have locally but to be fair that wasn't why we had choosen this location. We had come for relaxation and peace and quiet!
The spa is well laid out with hot tub, heated out door pool and good use of steam room and sauna etc. I can't vouch for the ladies facilities but as a male i had the whole changing facility to myself.
Overall fantastic location, great service and can't wait to go back!
Can't remember the name of the gentlemen who checked us in, possibly Charlie? Very knowledgeable and helpful showing us everything in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruciebonus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Just returned from the Fev and I have to say what a wonderful place to stay.

We stayed in room 36, one of a handful of spa suites, spacious, tasteful decor, large bed, nice bathroom and equipped with two B&O tv's, iPod deck, etc.

We enjoyed lunch, evening meal and breakfast (served in the room), unlike anywhere else we have stayed in the world we received a call from the kitchen to say that breakfast was on the way and within 1 minute it arrived!

We also had treatments in the spa which were probably the best we have ever had.

The Fev isn't cheap but it is worth every penny and we will be back in Q1, 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EldonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night break at The Feversham Arms and had a wonderful time. We were extremely lucky and had a room upgrade, possibly as the visit was a birthday treat. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful for the duration of our stay, especially the lady who helped us check out. The room was amazing, with a separate lounge area and even our own little Christmas tree. The extra touches, such as the fresh lilies in the room and the early morning coffee just made the difference. I also had a treatment in the spa, which was extremely good and we felt totally pampered from our trip. The dinner, bed and breakfast packages are very good deals and we would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooandBigJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing