We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing after hearing great things..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing after hearing great things..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

After hearing so many good things about the Feversham Arms I booked a package for one night DBB for a special occasion. This included a visit to the spa, which is usually charged at £25 per person. What a disappointment. The spa was very tired, needed a lot of work. The outdoor hot tub felt dirty and in need of refurbishment as the wood was old. The indoor spa rooms were OK but nothing special. Dinner was lovely and the service was very good, but the menu was very limited.
Breakfast was an absolute shambles. Everyone on nearby tables were complaining about the lack of service, lack of menus and then missing parts of the meal such as butter, milk for the coffee etc. After having asked twice for milk, we had to go get it ourselves. It really was a poor show and, had it not been included, we would not have stuck around. The poor waiter tried his best but was struggling on his own and the management did not even acknowledge there was a problem, let alone apologise.
Would we go again? No. Would we recommend it? No. There are far nicer places, most of which are probably considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshire482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    322
    206
    113
    46
See reviews for
152
836
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Just returned from a one night break at "The Fev". From the very beginning they were great, booking was easy and helpful, and from arrival the staff were faultless and couldn't do enough for you. One theme that runs throughout this hotel/spa is how brilliant the staff are.

We came as a birthday treat on the "You & Me Time" package which included dinner, bedroom, breakfast, morning drinks and newspapers and time in the spa with treatments. We stayed in room 19, a cosy little suite tucked away on its own, and we loved the log fire we could light! They even left a birthday cake and card for my partner which was a sweet touch.

The food at all occasions was great, and even when ordering off menu for room service, we got a fab little feast, and the champagne in the spa is very reasonable at £24 a bottle, and it's pretty nice too! The drink and food extras don't feel quite so exorbitant compared to many hotel prices too which was positive.

The treatments we had this morning in the spa were thoroughly relaxing, the staff talked us through our options and set us up a little session that left us feeling chilled out!

Overall, I'd say The Fev is a fab place to stay, we really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend. Thanks guys for a brilliant stay!

Room Tip: Room 19 is nestled away, very private and cosy with its own log burning stove. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Have stayed at this hotel twice now and thoroughly enjoyed it. Meals in restaurant were very nice and have done private dining here too. Bedrooms are fab we stayed in a room for 4 which was in 2 connecting rooms with an enormous bathroom very nice. Would recommend anytime. When I have been its been winter and pool closed so can't comment on that sorry.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldini3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Two night Dinner Bed and Breakfast package for wife's 40th birthday and it was breathtaking. They had put a small cake in the room, iced it with 'Happy Birthday' and left a handwritten card for her. Room was beautiful (Rm 32), staff so relaxed and happy to help, we ate off the tasting menu and were blown away. Great for a luxurious treat (it is pricey, but deservedly so) and an interesting mix of guests. Quite a few shooting parties (we went in Jan) so be warned if you are going for a walk in the locality! Loved it and would also love to be able to afford to go more often!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a veranda overlooking the pool which I guess are nice, but possibly lack a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChipmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Took a freind to celebrate her 50th birthday on the "Friday Fizz" package. Were upgraded to a larger room which was a bonus, lovely room and bathroom. Spent a nice girly afternoon relaxing in the spa.
Bar area very relaxing. Food at both breakfast and dinner was good but unfortunatey let down severely by the service. Had taken my husband for a birthday treat the previous month and had the same experience, didn't make a fuss either time as did not want to spoil the occasion.
Thought the first it was a one off but having a repeat experince was very disappointing. They have it right in lots of areas but really need to improve restaurant service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

From the moment you walk in this hotel until the moment you leave you feel completely at home, relaxed and extremely well looked after. All facilities are fantastic with lots of unique personal touches. The staff are all so lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The heated outdoor pool is a must even in January! The food is excellent and we were lucky enough to be upgraded twice on both our visits. We stayed here as a treat on both occasions and are now planning our third visit hopefully later in the year. Well done all at the Faversham.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Andy_Voke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Feversham Arms in Helmsley is a pretty, comfortable and relaxing hotel where my daughter and I enjoyed a 2 night break last week. The food was absolutely delicious, the wine list impressive but the most outstanding feature is the service. All the staff were so helpful, informed and most of all fun. The Spa was also very well run and relaxing. Helmsley is a beautiful village in a stunning setting with lots to see and do.

Room Tip: In Room 2 you can only open a door which opens onto a sort of terrace so if you like fresh air this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing