We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice break but not perfect.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
north east
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice break but not perfect.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Have stayed in much swankier hotels for less money, room was fine but bathroom tiny and looking in desperate need of refurbishment, the dinner tasting menu however was absoloubtely delicious as was breakfast, hats of to the chef and the service was excellent too. The spa however was definitely not what it said on the tin, the hot tub was absoloubtley filthy, with dirty tissue stuffed between the decking that I had noticed their from the day before! Instead of the lovely aroma of essential oils that you get when visiting a spa, a definite waft of public swimming baths overcomes you when you enter the heat experience and it even had its own decorative mould everywhere for that added touch, on balance treatments were nice as were the therapists but on the whole, although I would most definitely recommend people to go there for a meal, the hotel and spa definitley need some improvements before I would recommend them a visit....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    318
    202
    109
    45
See reviews for
147
820
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We decided to stay at the feversham after much careful research. It was our first break without our daughter and as a result we wanted a hotel which was big on luxury, pampering and romance. We were not dissapointed! On arrival we were delighted to be told that we had been upgraded to room 29, a delightful suite with a wood burning stove, huge shower and even bigger bath tub. We managed to tear ourselves from our lovely suite to make the most of the hotel facilities and location. Helmsley was lovely for a mooch and the races at Duncombe park provided a lovely excuse for a walk amidst stunning scenery.

The spa was devine, the heat experience was fantastic, sitting in the hot tub in the middle of winter was an experience and swimming in the outdoor pool was truly exhilarating. We left the spa feeling truly relaxed and energised.

We had a sublime meal in the restaurant and we strongly recommend booking on the dinner bed and breakfast package. Our waiter was attentive yet not intrusive, the food was delicious and perfectly balanced. You have to try the cheese trolley, a cheesy heaven on wheels.

We had such a lovely time that we hope to return with Mum and the rest of the family to celebrate her 60th, the perfect excuse to return to the Feversham.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Tumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Booked in to have the mum to be spa day which included a pregnancy massage and foot treatment as well as lunch and a delicious healthy smoothie. The treatments were fantastic nice and relaxing and definately helped with my aching back due to a ever growing baby bump. The menu catered for the specific dietary requirements for been pregnant and the smoothie is a great way to have one of your five a day. I loved the spa tapas and the banana and raspberry smoothie for lunch which I was told I could have at any point during my day. Huge credit to the spa and its staff they were all very attentive and helpful with the timings of my day and my treatments like I said were divine. I shall definately be revisiting again before my little bundle of joy arrives to pamper myself once more. I would recommend this for anyone especially any couples looking at having a 'babymoon', so guys keep it noted the mum to be day package is brilliant or you can just book the massage if you know your partner is in need of some pampering!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat-Mummytobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I find it difficult to write negative comments about this hotel because we loved our stay overall but I do feel the spa needs some improvements so here goes...
We initially had an issue with our booking online where we'd booked a classic standard room but was told when I'd called the next day about an error with my booking that i wanted to amend that there weren't any rooms of this type left and that the site shouldn't have allowed me to book it. As a result, the hotel upgraded us to a poolside suite for the same price! Bonus! On arrival we found a space in the underground car park with no issues and were greeted with a lovely warm welcome by the receptionist who sorted our bags and suggested we get ourselves a drink in the lounge as our room wasn't ready. The porter came and took our bags and we were told they would be waiting in our room when it was ready. In the lounge we ordered a bottle of wine and settled down on huge comfy couches to relax. Staff were very tentative and professional. We didnt finish the bottle so the waitress said she'd save it for us for our evening meal (she didnt take our name or room number) and remembered us straight away and prepared the wine in an ice bucket at our table while we perused over the menu! Excellent touch! We were called to our room and were not disappointed. Absolutely gorgeous room, huge bathroom and bed, log fire and massess of space! Very impressed! Time for our spa treatment, again greeted warmly and professionally. We first tried all of the heat experiences however the heating had broken so all showers and hot tub were cold. The only warm thing we could use was the sauna. My treatment was probably average (hot stone) i think my masseuse was maybe too inexperienced as I could hardly feel anything and she wouldn't stop talking (i appreciate this isn't the worst thing she could have done! but it is annoying when your trying to relax). My partner had a deep tissue massage and had no complaints (his masseuse was slighty older). Evening meal was out of this world, i'd recommend the cheese board as the waiter was very knowledgable and let us sample some amazing cheeses. Breakfast in bed was a great experience ( had to check once how long it was going to be) but very happy with it. Would recommend the hotel itself but would probably give the spa a miss. It was my first time experiencing a spa and im still looking to be impressed.

Room Tip: Poolside suite was amazing if your budget permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lennon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Me and my mrs stayed here on Sunday 21st January for 1 night. We stayed in room 3 and the room was nice but looking a little tired and the bathroom was very small. Had the tasting menu in the restaurant in the evening which was good, with service very good. Helmsley itself is very nice village with nice pubs and good walks around. The big disappointment with The Feversham Arms is that the heated outdoor pool was not open on either the Sunday or the Monday as it had too much chlorine in. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was for a relaxing break and to use the facilities and without this, we could have stopped in another hotel in Helmsley for a lot less. Visited the Black Swan for a few drinks on the Sunday and seemed very nice and prices alot less. You may want to take this inconsideration if your not bothered about the pool.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Excellent stay. Thoroughly well looked after by the staff. Outdoor pool and hot tub were excellent and the food in the restaurant was first class. Will definatley be returning

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and i have just spent a day at Verbena Spa on the cupids retreat package and were sorely disappointed. My husband has never been on a spa day before so we were really looking forward to spending the day together relaxing and enjoying all the treatments on offer.We didnt get off to the best of starts with the so called valet parking. We pulled up to the hotel and was directed into the front parking area . The valet opened the car door full of smiles and nicetys and asked if we were staying in the hotel,when we replied we were day guests at the spa he seemed to knock it down a notch took the car keys off us and told us he would park the car downstairs in underground car park.This did not happen he left the car outside in virtually the same place we had left it but was covered in 6 inches of snow.We got the distinct feeling if we had been staying in the hotel too the car would have been tucked away safely underground snow free. Gripe number 2-The hot tub cover was still on which the pair of us tried to wrestle with until eventually my hubby had to ask at the desk for it to be removed. The hot tub wood was very old and a bit grubby and only 2 jets worked.The heat treatment rooms were cramped and really not very enthralling. Lunch was ok but very pricey, we were on a package with lunch included but had we not been i would not have been too happy at paying 17.50 for a couple of slices of beef and some noodles.Our first treatment was fine the girls were really good but the second treatment was a bit of a farce. Hubby went off first and i was sat for a short while until the girl came and said was i ready for my facial which was actually an indian head massage, we had already had to sort that out in the morning on our itenary sheet. Off she went for another 5 mins to sort it out again and when i did get into treatment room for head massage she started cleansing my skin on my face a little peculiar i thought for a head massage,then a moisturiser,then a bit of a half hearted tickle on my scalp. When i rejoined my husband and we compared notes my experience certainly didnt resemble his.He had had proper head treatment and was only a couple of mins in front of me yet id had to wait around for quite a while beforehand so dont think i had anywhere near an half hour treatment. The showers in ladies changing rooms were full of hairs which is most unhygenic and then after that we had to sit for ages in our car getting snow off it because of the bad parking. Not great wont return certainly wont recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing