We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spa day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My sister & I had a spa day , having had several spa experiences we were very much looking forward to our day at the Verbena Spa . The Feversham is in a beautiful location, the overall experience did not quite live up to the prestigious accolades , the facial treatment was lovely as was the treatment room & relaxation area , on reflection we felt our "welcome " both to the Hotel and Spa & explanation of where to go etc could have been much better , the wet area is compact
However we had a thoroughly enjoyable day & would like to return in the summer to make the most of the outdoor area.

Room Tip: Look out for Groupon offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    322
    206
    113
    46
See reviews for
152
836
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The feversham arms is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in. We enjoyed a suite with a log burner that was totally amazing and really made the weekend extra special. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and we could not have asked for a more enjoyable stay. We had dinner on the Saturday night and went for the taster menu and wine, it was a gastronomic delight and well worth the expense as it set alight the taste buds like never before. On the Saturday day we enjoyed all the spa facilities and were lucky enough to have a treatment which both my wife and I really enjoyed. I fact we enjoyed it so much we went back into the spa on the Sunday morning. Overall a fantastic weekend experience we will return.

Room Tip: Go for a suite with log burner amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phileasafy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the Feversham Arms as a late Valentine's treat. We received a pleasant welcome and were quickly shown to our room. The room was very spacious and well appointed, the bathroom was modern, clean and had luxurious toiletries. There was a generous and wide range of tea and coffee in the room. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were wonderful. We had booked a food lovers break and enjoyed the warm scones and tea on arrival. We chose the tasting menu for dinner and although the food was delicious the service deteriorated during the meal. As the restaurant got busier, the staff became more rushed and less attentive and the food was almost slammed down in front of us. We enjoyed the break but probably wouldn't choose to return.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one that doesn't overlook the pool as even in February there we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaznSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We attended for a special 65th Birthday treat for my mum to the Spa. The spa was a lot smaller than I had imagined. The lounge seats look quite dirty/shabby and the facilities are a lot smaller than I imagined. The hot tub had children in for over 40 minutes at one point. Another guest complained and they were told to get out. Having booked a special spa day to relax from children I didn't expect to compete with them for time in a hot tub (they must not have been more than 8 years old) they need more than one hot tub as the rest of the afternoon another couple hogged it most of the time with champagne bottle. Two hot tubs and better access into hot tub for those with mobility problems, the spa got busy in the afternoon and is not big enough for that amount of people and to feel as though you can relax. The staff were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesca05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

we went on saturday for a night and stayed in an executive suite, used the spa and had a meal on the night. the meal was awful the room wasnt great very dated and rough around the edges. the pool and hot tub were closed at 7 as was the spa facilities. the full body massage i had was very good, the highlight of the trip infact! but i would give this one a miss it was very dissapointing and the bed was old and springy to, limescale all over the bathroom tiles! the place needs a makeover and the food wouldnt feed a small child it was so miniscule :(

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pashatilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights mid Feb. in a spa suite on an offer. The suite was cosily furnished with top class styling and comfort. Hot water copious and spacious double sink bathroom as well as excellent bath and shower facilities. Staff very welcoming and imn formative both in reception and restaurant. Dinner given 10/10 and breakfast excellently cooked. Been coming here since 2005 and found the standards remain in the highest order. Also impressed at how busy the hotel was. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Look for the offers and, if in your price range, go gor the higher range suites - I doubt you will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Enjoyed being pampered with a frangipani wrap and a facial. Busy spa but still felt warm, quiet and relaxing. Outside heated pool area really good. Hotel rooms clean and decor lovely. Box of chocolates in our room as it was someone's birthday. Elemis toiletries. Meals really nice. Got our bar bill wrong and overcharged so had to rectify on departure which was a bit of a pain. Had a lovely six mile walk to Riveaux abbey then cup of tea in a cafe on return to Helmsley. Would highly recommend for girls weekend break or couples. Fire alarm went off three times during the evening, vacated once but no-one bothered again and staff didn't say what the problem was so probably someone smoking in their room!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing