We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited here on a couple of occassions and thought it would be a good place to get together with my 2 sons and their partners. Arrived for tea at about 1500, went well if a little boring, scones delicious and service fine. A swim in the heated outside pool and a very comfortable room if a little warm as no air-con. We all had the 6 course tasting menu for dinner with the recommened wine, as there were 6 of us we decided to have 6 bottles rather then 6x50ml glasses. The food and wines were excellent perhaps the black pudding was over generous on the lamb cutlet. Breakfast was again very good with a superb selection. All in all a fine place to have a special celebration.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P5OGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for this lovely 5/5 review, we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit. We note your comments about the Afternoon Tea, and are pleased to advise that our new Head Chef has changed the menu this week, and we are all very excited about our new offering including the delicious Foraged-Elderflower Fondant fancies we described to a previous reviewer!

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a recommendation unfortunately we found nothing good at all. We have never been subjected to returning so many unclean glasses. A la carte dinner on first night was just OK but had Taster Menu on next night which was very nice so they can do it if they wish. Complimentary newspaper is a choice of 1 (the Eye , whatever that is). The spa has no lounge area nor lounge beds to relax in and the pool is outdoors?? Meet and greet was poor and we had to wait until after 3.00pm to get our "Luxury Suite" which at £420 per night D/B&B we thought exhorbitant.
All in all our anniversay was a huge disapointment and we can honestly say that there is nothing we could say to recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tezzauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments; we are very sorry that you feel this way following your stay.

You booked to stay with us on our “Hot Dates” offer, where we had eight special dates available at the deeply discounted rate of £200 including dinner, bed and breakfast in the room of your choice. You chose the best suite that the hotel has to offer. You also chose to stay for a second night on the following Friday – this date was not available on the same deal, and so your second night was indeed charged at a higher rate. If you were uncomfortable with these prices, we do have smaller bedrooms of a lower category available to suit all pockets.

We understand that you tried to check-in at around lunchtime, but unfortunately our check in time is 3pm, this is explained in the confirmation letter that you received. Our receptionist explained to you on two occasions that your room would be ready by 3pm at the latest, so we are surprised that you found this to be “poor”; however we appreciate that when being told something that is not what you wish to hear, it is easy to believe that the person delivering it is being unhelpful. Our system shows us that you were checked in to your room at 14.45.

We also wanted to respond to some of your other comments, simply to clear up any confusion: We offer a complimentary “i” newspaper to all guests – this is a sister publication of the Independent. The spa is mostly a lounge, with a long imposing “soft” area alongside the treatment rooms. Our iconic outdoor heated pool is what most people know and love about the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa – a Mediterranean terrace hidden in the heart of Yorkshire.

We are sorry that you were so disappointed, especially as we do feel that we tried our best to make your stay special, including the complimentary card and chocolates in your room as a “congratulations” on your anniversary from the hotel, it is always a shame when we are not a good fit for guests, but we hope that you find a hotel more suited to your requirements.

With kind regards,

The Management Team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Monday and Tuesday nights of this week. It is expensive but we had a dinner, bed and breakfast deal in a deluxe suite. The room was nice and we appreciated the sitting area (always a plus if the weather is bad). There was air conditioning in the bedroom and the sitting area. Our room was overlooking the road and opposite the church so was quite noisy. We have previously stayed in a room at the far end of the pool which was much quieter. You could also hear the staff banging about a bit before the breakfast service. Dinner on both nights was very good and we found the service excellent. The cooked breakfast was superb. We didn't use the spa. Helmsley is a charming historical market town and the hotel is well placed to explore North Yorkshire. Castle Howard is well worth a visit as are Fountains Abbey and Riveaulx Abbey. Mount Grace priory is also very interesting. I note that one reviewer complained that there were no photocopied maps of walks available but we always download our own before we travel. We did a nice 7 mile circular walk from the hotel to Riveaulx Abbey. We have stayed twice before and always had a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, this time, and also on your previous visits. We do have some walking maps in the hotel for guests on our “Muddy Boots” package, and we will be investigating why these were not offered you yourselves and the other guests who missed them. We are also looking at improving these after the summer with photos of the special sites along the way and foraging tips from our chef – so watch this space!

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for one night in June 2014 in this lovely hotel. We also used the spa facilities which were excellent. This is a beautiful hotel situated in a lovely place and really feels like a treat. The staff are friendly and they offer extra services including a 'turn down' of beds at night!

The breakfast is fantastic and the hotel is decorated to a high standard. The only points I would have are that the rooms are very hot which made it a bit difficult to sleep- the hotel does provide a fan however so you can plug that in. My only other niggle was that the table and chairs in our room looked cheap compared to the rest of the furniture- a bit petty I know! If they were swapped the room would look fantastic!

Overall a lovely hotel in a lovely place and the spa is great. A great pick for a night away!

Room Tip: Pay more for the pool adjacent ones- they look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank live0ut0fsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for writing this lovely review, we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Monday night was good and good value. Had dinner bed and breakfast. Free into the spa as well. It was in the town centre. The room was a bit dated but the whole package was good and I would go again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjohnma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for this lovely review. We do hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked this hotel back in January and were looking forward to a couple of days away. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and were taken to our room. We did not book evening meal because quite frankly I felt it was over priced and from reading the reviews felt that it would not be the kind of experience that I was looking for. Instead I booked a meal in the village and I have to say the Italian was superb.

Anyway the reason that I have given the Feversham two stars is the cost. The room was OK but really needed refurbishing, the carpet was slightly stained, there was no air-conditiioning (which is a priority for me - even Premier Inn hotels have air conditioning and well fitting clean carpets). The room was like a sauna - it was so hot neither of us slept because we could not cool down. The tea and coffee making pot was varied although there was no semi skimmed milk only full fat milk (I would have expected a choice). The taps dripped in the bathroom, plus I have never seen such a small, narrow bathroom.

Now for the positives, there was bang and ofesen TV in the room, plus the towels and robe was fantastic all soft and fluffy. During the turn down service the staff replaced the towels which was a nice touch, admittedly for the cost I would have expected nothing less. Another fantastic thing about the stay was the breakfast (one of the best - if not the best I have ever had with the best service ever) Even if they did serve me my tea in a sugar bowel, when I mentioned it they soon replaced it.

We wanted to go for a walk the next day - luckily I brought a map of the area, because I asked on the evening and the following morning for a recommended walk and was just told to set off in a certain direction - no more details were given - to me to give good customer service you should take the time to give details. They should have some photocopied maps of 3,4,5,10 mile walks printed out to give to customers. When we left we were not asked if we had a good time. We just paid and left. During the two days we were only asked once "was everything OK" . As a hotel are you happy with OK - I certainly would not be - I would want my hotel to be good - train the staff to ask the kind of question they want answering - How much did your enjoy your meal - for example.

Anyway sorry to be so negative but I did expect more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed a warm welcome, the fluffy robes, turndown service and breakfast. However, I was very sorry to read that there were other aspects of your stay that you found disappointing. We will be looking into all your comments in an effort to make improvements.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have just read two other reviews and think we must of been staying at a different hotel!
This hotel is amazing and we can't wait to go back. All the staff were friendly courteous and professional.
The deluxe room (which overlooked the pool) was gorgeous. The large bed was very comfortable and all the fitting and furnishings to a very high standard as was all other areas of the hotel.
We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but Breakfast was excellent with good quality products. Again the staff were attentive but not overbearing.
I booked a treatment in the afternoon in the spa. What a treat. I felt truly pampered and thoroughly enjoyed my few hours.
We are regular guests at the five star Chester Grovesnor Hotel in Chester and I actually prefer the Feversham which is high praise indeed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for this lovely review, we really appreciate your kind words! We are most proud that you found our team to be friendly, courteous and professional, as every member of the team strives to deliver excellent service, and it is a real boost when people go out of their way to mention them. We do hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,644 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
787 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £117 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing