We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Husbands birthday celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Husbands birthday celebration”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Once again you never fail to deliver. From the complimentary upgrade to a fantastic suite (2nd stay in this room our favourite) to the beautiful surroundings. I can't understand the previous reviews as we have been coming for a number of years and always have a fantastic stay. Yes the glorious weather topped our stay but the food and wine was wonderful and a thank you to the knowledgeable Andre for once again explaining our wine flight, much appreciated see you in October for a belated wedding anniversary visit xxx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Wow! Thank you for writing this lovely review, we are s pleased that you had another enjoyable stay. We can’t wait to see you in October, and we hope you have a lovely summer.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    321
    206
    112
    46
See reviews for
151
834
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked the Feversham Arms 'Sleep,Stay and Spa package' as a treat for my daughters 18th Birthday. We incorporated it into a week away visiting family in Yorkshire. We travelled from Surrey. We were booked into the Spa from 2pm for treatments. We both had massages which were very good. The Spa is rather small and disappointing and was exhausted rather quickly. On leaving the Spa we were shown to our room. It was a twin and the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. I stay in many as I travel for a living. It was stiflingly hot and had one fan that just circulated hot air. I tried opening the sash window which just kept falling down so I had to prop it open with the bin! I had a shower (no bath) and when I hung up my towel the rail fell off the wall! We were right opposite the Church and the clock chimed every 15 minutes!
We decided not to have the evening meal as it was a Taster menu and rather expensive at £45 per head which apparently was discounted as we were hotel guests. We walked into Helmsley and had a meal at the Feathers, with family, which was ok.
On returning to the Hotel room I realised something needed to be done about the heat and the broken towel rail. I phoned down and was told something would be done immediately. After a considerable amount of time the receptionist came to the room and we were told the air conditioning unit would not fit in the room and there was no one available to fix the towel rail. At this moment they redeemed themselves and moved us to another room with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a sitting room and 2 TVs! Good service recovery.
The breakfast in the morning was ok.
All in all our stay was comfortable if not memorable.
I have noticed, on reading other reviews, especially the disgruntled ones that the Hotel management have made no effort to reply. I'm sorry but working in the Customer service industry I find this unexceptable. Enough said.

Room Tip: Check your room isn't opposite the Church and has air conditioning in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fortysomethin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms and for taking the time to write a review. May we apologise for the delayed response, however if you were to scroll back through our other reviews, you will see that we do respond to each one as soon as possible. We were sorry to read that there were a few aspects of your stay; however we are pleased that we were able to offer you a substantial complimentary bedroom upgrade in an attempt to make your stay more enjoyable.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I chose this hotel as a stopping point on a whirlwind tour of England - we were hoping to relax and enjoy the spa, especially.
It was a bit annoying, therefore, to be greeted at reception by someone who obviously didn't know how to check guests in. I was told to "wait a second, I'm on the phone right now", and had to sit and wait a good 5 minutes to be greeted. In that time, another couple came in, also wanting to be checked in. He was the only employee behind the desk, and it appeared he had little experience in what to do next. Oddly, he decided that giving us a tour of the hotel was a sensible idea, so left the other couple behind to twiddle their thumbs, I suppose.
Our room was fine, not too special. If I'd realised, I would have booked one of the cute little cottages near the pool. I'd try one of those next time.
The pool was apparently heated to 30 degrees and we gave it a try that evening. It was very nice, clean and well maintained.
We ate in the restaurant that evening, and the food was nice, but not outstanding as I've read in other reviews.
Breakfast was also in the hotel, again, nice but not breathtakingly fabulous.

Room Tip: Choose one of the private cottages around the pool - they look very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyi638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry that you had to wait to be checked in to your room, but we do feel that the short tour of the hotel on arrival is an extra-special touch that we offer in order to make guests feel at home from the moment they arrive. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the pool as it is certainly one of the favourite features of the hotel!

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I booked a weekend get away. The room we stayed I was small, very hot and substandard bathroom-certainly not value for money. The service we received was overall extremely poor- we waited 45 mins to just get bread. Multiple orders were incorrect. The food and setting were excellent but total let down overall.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Jillnassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are terribly sorry to read this review and we would welcome the opportunity to speak to you about your stay in more detail. If you have not done so already, please do contact the hotel by calling 01439 770766.

With kind regards,

The management team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked a 2 night break for my husbands 50th birthday. The hotel is simply lovely and is located in the lovely town of Helmsley. The pool area is simply gorgeous and very relaxing. The restaurant and food is fantastic and all the staff are very helpful and very professional. This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room around the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
This review is fantastic, thank you! We do hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I selected this hotel as it was the nearest to a concert I was attending;( part of the Ryedale festival). What a lovely choice; the hotel is bright, clean and extremely comfortable. The product in the bathroom was up-market, as were the premium teas in the room...a fantastic selection of herbal and fragrant teas. The bed-linen was quality, as were the towels.

When I arrived at the hotel, I was greeted as soon as I stepped out of my car; my car was carefully parked for me; minimum fuss checking in, and help with bags to my room.
I had not booked a spa treatment, but when I saw the facility, I decided I would really like to sample the spa. It was all very pleasing.

I had a lovely stay; I would have liked to have stayed longer; I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review! It is lovely to read such fantastic comments, the whole team will be delighted to read your thoughts! We will hopefully see you again soon so that you can enjoy the Verbena Spa during your stay.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a nights stay at the Feversham Arms and I was very impressed. Myself and my boyfriend went on my 30th birthday and in our room was a card and a box of chocolates which i thought was a nice touch. We had also been upgraded and the room was amazing (room2). There was a seperate living area and bedroom with a door that opened onto a walkway with stairs straigh to the poolside. It was very clean and spacious.
We had dinner included and although the service was great, the food was not to my taste but everything was explained perfectly and the waiter very helpful. The only downside was that we were sat in the middle of the restaurant and hardly anyone was talking to each other as it was so quiet. Maybe a little music in the background would help that as felt concious of talking. I peraonally wouldnt have the evening meal again and would maybe walk into Helmsley itself for some good old homemade pub grub. Again that is just my preference.
The spa itself was just what i expected and couldnt fault it. The staff were really helpful and managed to fit us in for a last minute massage.
Overall it was fab and i will definately be returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for visiting us for your birthday celebrations, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
638 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
344 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing