We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea? Don't bother!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had afternoon tea here today with some friends from London. Weren't too impressed, I'm sorry to say!

The scones were terrible, and the rest of the food didn't taste of much at all. The price was also considerably higher than anywhere else I've been locally.

We wouldn't recommend it, and we won't be going again ourselves - which is a great shame, as we only live a hundred yards away!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabbers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

We were sorry to read this review and that you did not enjoy your recent visit for Afternoon Tea. We are pleased to advise that we have recently welcomed a new Head Chef to the team who has re-designed nearly all of our menus. The Afternoon Tea has seen some changes however we do plan to completely re-launch this within the next few months and we are all very excited for this.
With kind regards,
From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Helmsley is a village that should be fantastic... and it was once. It's lost its charm a bit; too busy, too many bikers, too many people in too small a space, eating too many portions of fish and chips.

However, turn your well trained eye away. By-pass the once regal and great Black Swan, go around the corner for the charming and now lavish Feversham Arms.

A loveable rogue of an entrepreneur (a friend actually) and his backers ploughed probably too much money into this Coaching Inn some years ago. On each of several visits, through a change of owners and a couple of managers, it's retained its quality, charm and sence of escape and luxury.

Buy the best room you can afford, stay one might if you cannot run to two, but do stay, and eat. The a la carte and mini tasting menus both have something to please you, you'll find friendly hardworking staff everywhere. There are some areas of service that need to be tightened up though. Some of suites are really great, but the once nice touches like B&O televisions are starting to show their age.

The Spa is lovely, but the spa staff, especially on reception can look down their nose at you, and especially if you dare to approach with a small child. The massage was first rate though.

Enjoy this treasure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ConsumerJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for talking the time to write this review, we are delighted to read your many lovely comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience. We hope that you are able to visit us again soon.
With kind regards,
All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We chose The Feversham
Arms as the venue for our wedding and we were absolutely thrilled from start to finish. Kirsty, who has been our planner, is absolutely superb at her job and ensured that we had everything we needed right down to small touches such as ordering in Phil's favourite beer for the day. Our master of ceremonies, Dan, was also brilliant in the day and kept things running as smoothly as I had hoped. The food was divine - every guest commented on its high quality, specifically the beef fillets which were to die for! Our rooms (we slept separately the night before the wedding) were clean and airy with air con. We were left chocolate and champagne as well as a handwritten card from the staff. We didn't have chance to use the spa facilities but I did swim in the pool both days and it was beautifully heated and clean.

We really did have the most wonderful day and our experience of this hotel has been superb!

A huge thank you to every member of staff from front of house to chefs, wait staff, cleaners and maintenance!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Emma,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We were delighted to be a part of your special day. Both Kirsty and Dan are thrilled to have been mentioned as well as all the team, for whom guest compliments are a fantastic motivator.
With kind regards,
All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Once again you never fail to deliver. From the complimentary upgrade to a fantastic suite (2nd stay in this room our favourite) to the beautiful surroundings. I can't understand the previous reviews as we have been coming for a number of years and always have a fantastic stay. Yes the glorious weather topped our stay but the food and wine was wonderful and a thank you to the knowledgeable Andre for once again explaining our wine flight, much appreciated see you in October for a belated wedding anniversary visit xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Wow! Thank you for writing this lovely review, we are s pleased that you had another enjoyable stay. We can’t wait to see you in October, and we hope you have a lovely summer.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked the Feversham Arms 'Sleep,Stay and Spa package' as a treat for my daughters 18th Birthday. We incorporated it into a week away visiting family in Yorkshire. We travelled from Surrey. We were booked into the Spa from 2pm for treatments. We both had massages which were very good. The Spa is rather small and disappointing and was exhausted rather quickly. On leaving the Spa we were shown to our room. It was a twin and the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. I stay in many as I travel for a living. It was stiflingly hot and had one fan that just circulated hot air. I tried opening the sash window which just kept falling down so I had to prop it open with the bin! I had a shower (no bath) and when I hung up my towel the rail fell off the wall! We were right opposite the Church and the clock chimed every 15 minutes!
We decided not to have the evening meal as it was a Taster menu and rather expensive at £45 per head which apparently was discounted as we were hotel guests. We walked into Helmsley and had a meal at the Feathers, with family, which was ok.
On returning to the Hotel room I realised something needed to be done about the heat and the broken towel rail. I phoned down and was told something would be done immediately. After a considerable amount of time the receptionist came to the room and we were told the air conditioning unit would not fit in the room and there was no one available to fix the towel rail. At this moment they redeemed themselves and moved us to another room with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a sitting room and 2 TVs! Good service recovery.
The breakfast in the morning was ok.
All in all our stay was comfortable if not memorable.
I have noticed, on reading other reviews, especially the disgruntled ones that the Hotel management have made no effort to reply. I'm sorry but working in the Customer service industry I find this unexceptable. Enough said.

Room Tip: Check your room isn't opposite the Church and has air conditioning in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Fortysomethin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms and for taking the time to write a review. May we apologise for the delayed response, however if you were to scroll back through our other reviews, you will see that we do respond to each one as soon as possible. We were sorry to read that there were a few aspects of your stay; however we are pleased that we were able to offer you a substantial complimentary bedroom upgrade in an attempt to make your stay more enjoyable.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I chose this hotel as a stopping point on a whirlwind tour of England - we were hoping to relax and enjoy the spa, especially.
It was a bit annoying, therefore, to be greeted at reception by someone who obviously didn't know how to check guests in. I was told to "wait a second, I'm on the phone right now", and had to sit and wait a good 5 minutes to be greeted. In that time, another couple came in, also wanting to be checked in. He was the only employee behind the desk, and it appeared he had little experience in what to do next. Oddly, he decided that giving us a tour of the hotel was a sensible idea, so left the other couple behind to twiddle their thumbs, I suppose.
Our room was fine, not too special. If I'd realised, I would have booked one of the cute little cottages near the pool. I'd try one of those next time.
The pool was apparently heated to 30 degrees and we gave it a try that evening. It was very nice, clean and well maintained.
We ate in the restaurant that evening, and the food was nice, but not outstanding as I've read in other reviews.
Breakfast was also in the hotel, again, nice but not breathtakingly fabulous.

Room Tip: Choose one of the private cottages around the pool - they look very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wendyi638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry that you had to wait to be checked in to your room, but we do feel that the short tour of the hotel on arrival is an extra-special touch that we offer in order to make guests feel at home from the moment they arrive. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the pool as it is certainly one of the favourite features of the hotel!

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I booked a weekend get away. The room we stayed I was small, very hot and substandard bathroom-certainly not value for money. The service we received was overall extremely poor- we waited 45 mins to just get bread. Multiple orders were incorrect. The food and setting were excellent but total let down overall.

Stayed: July 2014
7  Thank Jillnassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We are terribly sorry to read this review and we would welcome the opportunity to speak to you about your stay in more detail. If you have not done so already, please do contact the hotel by calling 01439 770766.

With kind regards,

The management team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
827 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £125 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing