We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury stay providing all the comfort, quality and service you could require!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The most relaxing, luxury hotel. Excellent food, service and facilities. Will definately be back very soon. Have recommended to friends and family already. A wonderful stay - thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank satisfiedcustomer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

Delightful and exceptionally relaxing overnight stay at the Feversham last Thursday evening. From the moment of arrival the Staff were warm welcoming and and we immediately felt extremely relaxed. Unlike some hotels they judged the balance of attentiveness and privacy excellently leaving us to enjoy the comformtable surroundings.
Can't praise this place enough and would highly recommend this place to all ages.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxford3fy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Have just enjoyed a wonderful weekend break at The Feversham Arms with my wife.

We wanted to take a long weekend luxury break together and were not disappointed. A warm welcome on arrival, they took our bags and parked the car for us. As we were early, they looked after the bags for us (and took them to the room when it was ready, so they were there when we got back) and we went for a walk around Helmsley.

On our return, the reception staff were not sure whether the room was ready or not (as housekeeping had not returned the key). However, instead of keeping us waiting, they showed us to the lounge/bar and brought us coffee and some biscuits (complimentary) while we waited. The wait was no more than 2 or 3 minutes to find out the room was indeed ready, but again they let us finish up in our own time and then showed us up to the room (while also giving a quick guided tour of the hotel).

The room (room 31) was beautiful. A large suite, with a comfortable living room, spacious bedroom (and huge bed) and good sized bathroom with a very deep double ended bath and separate walk in shower. Very minor gripe - the TV in the corner of the living room, while good quality (Bang and Olufson) was not very big and picture wasn't great. Fairly standard for a hotel, but I thought this could be better. TV in the bedroom did not have a DVD/CD player (the other TV had a built in player) which, again, I thought could be better in a room of this standard.

We were on DB&B so were eating in the hotel restaurant each evening. On booking, we weren't too happy with the reservation times we had been given, but these were easily (and happily) changed. Dinner service started, for me, the moment we entered the bar. We found a seat, were welcomed, offered drinks and asked our name - we were then referred to as Mr and Mrs ... throughout the rest of the evening. At no time were we asked our room number, whether ordering drinks or arriving at breakfast - everything is done by name, which I thought a lovely, personal touch.

The menu was not extensive, but we were quickly reassured by the waiting staff that they knew we were there for 3 nights and so would ensure that there were additional options/choices for us on other nights. This was indeed the case - without having to ask, we were offered an alternative main course on the 2nd night and on the 3rd night were offered an alternative entree and two alternative main courses.

The wine list, by contrast, is fairly extensive and should cater to most tastes and budgets. We had a wonderful South African sauvignon blanc (Professor Black) on the first evening which I would highly recommend.

Dinner was exceptional - very good quality food throughout. Good, friendly service (if a little slow) from attentive staff who were also happy to have a chat between courses (but not imposingly or overbearingly so).

Breakfast the next morning was also good. Nothing out of the ordinary but very much what one would expect. We had breakfast downstairs on two mornings but a third morning had it brought to our room (as we were leaving early). There was no tray-charge for this, which is unusual but very welcome.

My wife and I both had treatments in the spa. The Spa itself was very good, a quiet and relaxing space. Not huge, but there were never that many people there. Both treatments were good and carried out professionally by the consistently friendly staff.

Overall, we could not fault the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The price is quite steep, but you do get what you pay for. We're planning to go back...once we can afford it again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamsa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

From the very first contact with the staff of the Feversham Arms, everything was personal, professional and perfect! We were greeted and escorted to our amazing room, spacious with traditional interior design, yet totally modern in convenience. The comfortable furnishings, oversized bed, lighting, oversized bath tub and open shower, all made for a very romantic and comforting get-away. We enjoyed several treatments in the spa, in addition to the heat therapy areas. Beyond that, the heated outdoor pool was refreshing and a nice way to burn off the amazing food and drink. The staff took care of every detail in such a personal way – we felt like we were at home. The city of Helmsley is picture-perfect for getting out of the larger cities in the UK for a long weekend. A wide variety of local cuisines in the area balanced the amazing treats we had in the Feversham Arms own dining areas. The best part was being out in the middle of nowhere but having everything you could want. The part we liked least was the long journey on a late afternoon getting out of York – Plan ahead and leave York by 1:30 PM to have a swift trip out to Helmsley. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechUKCTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I had booked a night away as a surprise for my wife and had received a recommendation about the Feversham Arms from a work colleague. I have to say the whole experience was way above my expectations and left me wife overjoyed ( and me in the good books!!). Hard to say what was the best single experience at the Feversham - the food, the spa, breakfast? Yey I would say the service provided by all the staff is second to none and probably the best I have experienced anywhere. Whoever undertakes the training of the team deserves great credit. The Spa was well staffed, relaxing and most enjoyable. The evening taster meal was adorable and set our tastebuds on fire and I have to say the highlight for me was the fine Yorkshire breakfast and the fact that we werent rushed as can be the case elsewhere. Overall, a marvellous experience, in lovely surroundings and a fine hotel which I cannot rate highly enough. Thank you all the team at the Feversham Arms

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviddunkerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

There is no doubting the standards which the Feversham Arms sets itself. From being greeted by the concierge to the check out the following day the service was excellent. This was a birthday treat for me and the hotel went the extra mike to make the occasion memorable by providing a birthday cake and room upgrade. I would also recommend use of the Spa facilities especially the body massage. Certainly one of the best hotel experiences I have had for a very long time and would recommend the same to anyone seeking a very special treat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brennanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

100% perfect
pros-bedrooms, service, restarant, spa & a happy wife
cons- we wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jharvard51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
788 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £116 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing