We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable New Year's break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
West Mids
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable New Year's break”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a very enjoyable New Year's break here. Seven course dinner on NYE, then an additional night with dinner on NYD. The hotel is very charming with well turned out public areas and nice big rooms (although the bathrooms are probably due a refit). The NYE event was very enjoyable with great food and good atmosphere. The band were pretty poor but that didn't spoil the event.
There are lots and lots of staff and all of them were friendly and helpful, particularly in the restaurant. There was a slight problem with this however, in that there didn't seem to be an identifiable Maitre D' (there were several likely candidates but they seemed to come and go and cover all sorts of different areas). This meant the service wasn't consistent, which let them down slightly. Several times our party had special requests/extras, etc. Some senior-looking person would say they would 'personally see to it'. Then another waiter would bring our order, with no apparent knowledge of the special requests or extras. Also, while they are all keen, courteous and helpful, not all the waiters seemed that experienced, so a Maitre D' who was clearly in charge would help get the waiters all working to the same standard.
The food was very good- they clearly have a good Chef and strong kitchen team.
All told, we had a very enjoyable break here and I would certainly stay at the Black Swan again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fickleWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    379
    160
    86
    39
See reviews for
187
1,053
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We enjoyed a nights stay at the Black Swan on New Years Eve 2011, this included on arrival champagne and scones which was very nice. Being an old hotel the rooms are tucked away via stairs and corridors and for those not to so steady on their feet it may be a struggle but we loved our room , its was spotless and very cosy. My one and only complaint about the room was it was too hot !
We took along our dog and she was made very welcome, the hotel even left some treats and a toy for her. Dogs are allowed in the public areas so generally a very pet friendly hotel.
The food was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I was pleased to see that the hotel had sufficient staff for the event. Overall I would recommend the hotel and am keen to go back especially to enjoy an afternoon tea !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Just returned from a one night DB&B stay at the Black Swan and must say it was a magnificent experience. The deal we went on was arranged via Travelzoo and comprised of one night's accommodation in a superior double room, bottle of (chilled) champagne in the room, afternoon tea, 6 course tasting dinner, and breakfast.
The hotel itself dates from the 30's but it comprises of what were originally 3 different properties, the oldest one of which was a Tudor house. The decor and ambience of the present hotel is tasteful and modern, but with a very definitive "country" feel. You are left in no doubt that this hotel reflects the locality and it's way of life: there are several ruined abbeys nearby and a castle. Local activities include farming, hunting, shooting & fishing.
Afternoon tea can be taken in any of the lounge areas or in the award-winning tea room (on a par with Claridges & The Savoy in London, no less).
The evening meal was exquisite, beautiful food, mostly locally sourced, outstanding presentation & service provided by the ever attentive staff.
The bedroom was warm & welcoming and contained all the expected conveniences of modern living with the possible exception of Wi-fi. It may have been available but I wasn't aware of it and it didn't matter on this occasion.
If there is ever a repeat of this deal, I would certainly consider it and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who would enjoy a little bit of luxury living.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank citizencvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The Hotel,

The hotel is surprisingly large, with a relatively small frontage with tea room and lounge the hotel and garden spread back to a car park. The superior room we stayed in was spacious very clean and comfortable.

The Hospitality and Service,

Some staff were excellent, couldn't do enough for you and were pleasant. However I feel that I must say that our stay, which was for our anniversary, was marred by rude staff on reception (appeared to be contempuous of the fact that we had booked on a Travelzoo deal even though it had still cost us almost £300), rude staff in the tea room.

Specifically, the 3 people ahead of us were offered help with baggage, but when we came along it wasn't. Normally this woudl not bother me personally but my wife was pregnant so I was clearly going to struggle especially as the room was the furthest distance from the reception.

Our private mail that was clearly marked with our names as residents and private was opened by the staff. This undermined my trust in the hotel and therefore have reconsidered my original plan of returning at a later date. I think this issue is very serious, all hotels I have ever used would pass on mail and treat it with respect, why are the staff here not trained, as if training for this woudl be necessary. We have written to the hotel twice to inform the manager of this problem but have not had a reply.

However the bar staff and the restaurant staff, maids etc were all excellent:

Restaurant:
Likely you will know that the food at the Black Swan is renound, and with good reason. The food here was excellent. We had a matched wine gourmet taster menu constituted of about 8 courses. It was excellent and of the highest quality. The waiters were all extremely wlecoming and attentive, I would like to visit it again... were it not for the afore mentioned issues.

Location:

Excellent loaction in the centre of Helmsley, well worth visiting the castle very interesting and informative tour.

Overall:

Technically brilliant but let down by poor managment hospitality.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room, the standard rooms are a little pokey but still of good quality. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Hotel was situated overlooking the picturesque Market square of Helmsley, delightful location. Check in staff helpful and accommodating. Room was comfortable and inviting, amenities in the bathroom terrific. Breakfast, included in the hotel price, was of the standard one would expect of a hotel of this type, all the usual fare was on offer and cooked to perfection.

Only thing of a negative nature to this hotel was the location of our room, it felt like we had to walk half way back to York to find it, up stairs and along passages and up even more stairs. Not good if elderley and have more than one piece of luggage.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Had heard good things about this hotel so was looking to a pre christmas break , the frontage is lovely and ther fires looked inviting but once we started walking back the room I thought it cold and a little unloved. Room was freezing but there was a portable heater in the wardrobe which soon got pluged in brrrrrr. Room was nice enough but not spotless. Staff not overly friendly, dinner the taster menu wasnt as good as I expected fine but exceptional and the service in the bar for after dinner coffees was slow . Breakfast room service arrived promptly but bordered on the fine dining concept , not much of it and butter was bland only white toast no preference offered on the room service card, actually not even mentioned so wasnt sure any would come.
Generally lacking in attention to detail that I had heard off prior to my visit and certainly the food wasnt up to the standard I had heard off

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The staff could not be more pleasant or helpful, the rooms are delightful, the food exquisite (especially the afternoon tea) in fact the whole experience was a joy. I will definately return for some R & R. Two members of staff deserve special mention : the gentleman who served us our afternoon tea and the female med student who served dinner & breakfast - both a credit to the hotel .Thank you. L Taylor-Parker (Skipton)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorrainetp225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
662 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing