We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

An amazing lication. Free parking, lovely helpfull staff. Evening meal fantastic. Room a liitle small and the windows wont open fully, not enough fresh air. Will be back for two nights next time. Hope to be sat by the lovely wood fire.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for my 30th Birthday. The food was amazing and we took part in the 7 course dinner with wine which was a challenge! The wine arrived so fast that I was in bed by 10pm!

The service was amazing, food brilliant and the room was perfect. Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break and the food.

Room Tip: We asked for a room that overlooked the square which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRichardsons18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding last summer, it was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and courteous. To the point of bringing brolly's to the church when the british weather decided to change, to allow us to get back in all out finery without looking like drowned rats. The food was very good and rooms were lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We booked the weekend Sunday special offer which came with the tasting menu and wine pairing.

The hotel is old and a little creaky, the bathroom an the small side and views somewhat lacking, but overall it was quite nice. We paid extra though as they only had a superior room left on the night we stayed and although spacious it was nothing very special. However, the food was - very special.

Full marks to the chef - it was a fantastic meal, served by very friendly and willing staff, quite the best meal we have had in a very long time!

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room - go for the tasting menu!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravensett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed with 15 girls for a reunion this weekend. Absolutely fabulous stay. Lovely rooms, great staff, amazing food. We were quite rowdy later on and the staff even found us a seperate roon to continue the party. Literally the staff could not have been more lovely and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Overall a great trip and I will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed as a family group for 3 nights over new year with both children and grandparents and a dog in our party. The hotel looks out onto the town square so couldn't be better positioned! Service, food and rooms were all great. Breakfast was cooked to order and sometimes we had a wait but it was freshly cooked and all 8 of us were served together. All staff were polite and helpful. Helmsley is a lovely town to wander round with a plentiful supply of tearooms and shops and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bombally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Had a lovely evening meal here, the staff were attentive without being invasive. The interior and ambience are perfect, the food was gorgeous. Altogether made for a great evening.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,095 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £111 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing