We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

On a cold, crisp day we felt there would be nowhere better than the Black Swan at Helmsley to have Sunday lunch so we travelled there on our way home from Whitby.

On this occasion we wanted a light lunch so chose to order from the bar menu rather than book lunch in the restaurant. The food was good value and very tasty. Excellent service, comfy high-backed chairs and a roaring fire - brilliant!

We have eaten here many times and will continue to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally-ann61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    392
    161
    87
    39
See reviews for
194
1,078
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

19 of the family have just been there for my parents Diamond wedding anniversay. We all stayed for 1 or more nights and had a celebration dinner on the Sat night.
All the service we received was great, and we found all the rooms to be of a good standard. The upgraded rooms are mainly at the front of the hotel overlooking the market place, but the room I had was at the back of the hotel overlooking the beautiful and well kept garden.
Helmsley is a great location for visiting the moors or even over to the coast.
The breakfasts were great with a good choice of different cooked food all made to order, not just from a hot plate!
The evening meal on the Sat night was fantastic with a special menu that they wrote for us as well as a separate menu for the vegis. Matt even sorted out a separate private dining room as well as a reception room for pre and post the meal and this was a fantastic special touch to the whole event.
Not a lot of facilities for children at the hotel but I would highly recommend the hotel for couples or people who want to stay in a decnet hotel on the Yorkshire Moors.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have reviewed this Hotel before and having stayed for under a week after Easter with my husband we felt we had to tell everyone of our enjoyable stay. Firstly, the location is perfect a lovely old hotel overlooking the busy market square in Helmsley, we left the car in the car park during our stay and only used it once to visit Fountains Abbey (40mins drive), there is a wide variety of shops plus a impressive Castle and walks in nearby Duncombe Park. There has been significant refurbishment of the main public rooms and bedrooms which had enhanced the ambiance and character of the building. We stayed in Rm15 which looks out over the square, but all the rooms at the front have been done to a high standard with what you would expect flat screen tv wih free view, bathrobes, Molton Brown toiletries and very comfortable large beds!!

we were on the Dinner, bed and Breakfast rate and were not disappointed in choosing to eat in the restaurant. the menu changes daily and you can choose to splash out on a 3 to 5 courses of local produce which Paul the chef and his team deserve a lot of credit as the food is lovely! I particularly like the local Yorkshire Cheese trolley, coffee is served in one of the comfortable public areas where we relaxed in front of a log fire in big armchairs. You can either go straight into dinner or sit in the bar area and have a gin and tonic or beer while looking at the menus. Under the watchful eye of Managers, Matt and Peter the Restaurant staff were professional and smart we did not have to wait for our food and the wine list contains a good selection at reasonable prices.

However lovely the Hotel it is nothing if the staff are not courteous, polite and helpful, without doubt all the staff we came into contact with including the generally unseen and unsung
Housekeeping were wonderful, we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. My husband had a touch of toothache and James the receptionist spent ages trying to
find a local dentist that would see him as an emergency on a Saturday, it could have spoilt our
weekend but luckily with James' help it was sorted.

we talked to quite a few other guests and the feedback was that they would be returning, what further recommendation does a Hotel need?? We will be back.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms in the more modern part of the Hotel overlooking the garden, Rooms with more character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellenorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here with some friends at the end of March. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package with private dining and it was amazing! Food fantastic but the service was awesome. They were really accommodating and there were loads of nice touches for our reunion. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire-in-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hubby and I took a Travel Zoo overnight stay. The package included afternoon tea, a decent bottle of Champagne in our room, a 6 course 'taster' menu and full English breakfast (or basically anything we wanted from the extensive menu).

Lovely comfey country hotel in the centre of the town - open fires etc.Seems to be a fav with country landowner types and well to dos? Didn't see and children.
Good food, very full after the tea - recommend you eat tea earlier than we did to make room for the evening meal. We had tea at about 3.30 and dined at 8.
You can book a time to dine which we prefer - some taster menu sessions ask that you all dine at the same time which feels abit like cafeteria! Food was good, interesting and beautifully presented. We did have to laugh though when we got 2 pea greens as a salad and I had to peer very closely at one of my plates to find the horseradish cream!
However it was a taster menu after all and the dishes served to 'regular' diners loooked stunning.
The wine was expensive.
A couple of points though - the music played in the restaurant was a wee bit bleak and the the restuarant wasn't very intimate. Our room, although very nice and roomy too, had a conecting door to the next room - fine if you are with children but otherwise not - we could hear noises we would rather not have and obviuosly this works both ways!!!! Very off putting
Breafast was very good with a very good selection - they try to use local produce.

I would recommend if you got a deal like we did - pricey otherwise.

Room Tip: As for one without an ajoining door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bingbing555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We visited the Black Swan over the Easter weekend. The hotel seemed busy, but the staff could not do enough to help. We took our dog and they catered well, allowing breakfast and dinner in the room at no extra cost meaning we didn't have to leave her alone.
When we arrived home we received a post card from them to say thanks and hope we stay again. Overall excellent and thanks for a nice time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAB1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed overnight at the Black Swan as we were attending a wedding that was held there. As the hotel was busy we were only able to book a 'standard double' rather than anything more expensive/ expansive (!) so I was worried that we would only have an average room and a double (rather than king size) bed. I was wrong!! The room was lovely - plenty of space, with a double settee as well as a king size bed, double wardrobe, dressing table and good sized bathroom (sink, toilet and large bath with over bath shower). Also had an ipod dock and a flat screen TV as well as an iron and ironing board and a hairdryer. And (deep joy ) Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom. Very tastefully decorated and very comfortable, especially the bed. We could hear the church bells from the nearby church but these were not overloud - certainly didn't disturb our sleep and were charming rather than alarming! We didn't have dinner in the hotel but did have breakfast and this was very nice indeed, with locally sourced good quaity produce (bacon, sausage, black pudding) on the plate. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Although we didn't sample the hotel's food other than breakfast, it includes a gourmet restaurant, a more relaxed restaurant and a tea room and has a reputation for good food. The setting of the hotel is excellent, being right in the middle of Helmsley which is a lovely old fashioned market town. The town square includes a few pubs where you can get 'real ale' and pub food, and a fantastic fish and chip restaurant (highly recommended - the best, whitest, freshest fish I've had in years and 'real' chips!). There are also some quaint little shops including a very well stocked old fashioned (in a good way) grocers store. There's a castle and the (aforementioned) local church to explore nearby, and the area is perfect for ramblers and bikers, as well as (like us) visitors on a short mini break who just want some relaxation in lovely surroundings. Highly recommended and very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We booked one of the cheapest rooms and it was absolutely lovely so I think you would be fine with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing