We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic one night Special Occasion break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We just stayed for a Tuesday evening, opting for a room facing the square and pre booking the 10 course tasting menu. The hotel was offering a special package which included "Sweet Treats" on arrival - we mistakenly thought that this was the standard "Afternoon Tea" - which in itself is well worth calling in for! We had room 15, which we would highly recommend - large, quaint and lovely décor, and from what little we saw of the other rooms, the supplement is well worth paying.
The 10 course meal itself was certainly an enjoyable event, but then we also opted for the "paired" drinks - well worth forsaking those anxious moments of having to make your own choices! We thoroughly enjoyed the experience - stand out courses being the miso soup, and the lettuce and olive construction (think Blumenthal/Masterchef)- with portion sizes being spot-on. Thoughtfully at the start of the meal, you have a booklet giving a description of what is to follow...it also makes a great souvenir! So yes, we enjoyed it immensely! And okay the hotel does have some foreign staff, but then how many don't? So overall, we have no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Room 15 or similar everytime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve0756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent one night with Australian relatives. The rooms were great with a very comfortable bed and a good bath with plenty of hot water.
We ate in the restaurant. What a treat. The meal was outstanding. Breakfast was also excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room. Ours overlooked the garden and people were walking past. Some rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed overnight again on the Sunday new Saturday deal. Room OK, food seemed smaller portions and rather disappointing choice of meats on the tasting menu. Certainly wouldn`t dream of paying anywhere near full price for this. Wines OK to good. Breakfast good but Eastern Europe waiters` English just not good enough for the job. Probably not return as we demand a service from people who understand what we are saying. Is that wrong?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our second visit and it was an expensive disappointment after our last visit last december when it was very good. We had booked a table for 8.15pm but we got ignored and had to ask for a menu and after half an hour of sitting in the bar area I had to go and find the head waiter to ask why we hadn't been shown through to the restaurant or been asked what we wanted to eat. When the main course arrived it was luke warm on cold plates. We went for my husband's birthday so what should have been a special meal was spoilt. The reason for this was a large wedding party being held in the hotel and the booming disco music could be heard in the dining room. The same thing happpened at breakfast with the wedding party being prioritized over the other customers and we had to keep asking for tea and coffee repeatedly. The bedroom we got was nicely renovated but very small as a family room and with the sofa bed down there wasn't much room .
So avoid at all costs if there is a wedding off .

Room Tip: Avoid if there is a wedding on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archiem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Not much more to add from our last visit here except to say its as good as ever. Staff brilliant, food delicious and rooms comfy and cosy ! We took some friends for a belated 40th birthday celebration and they were not disappointed either. There was a wedding on but unlike a recent hotel we visited you would never have known. Had a lovely afternoon on the Saturday walking around the square and on the Sunday we visited Rivaulx abbey on our way home and had tea and cakes. I'm sure we will come back again as it's just brilliant if you want a relaxing weekend with great food and surroundings look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayJayBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

On entering our bedroom we were thrilled to see the spacious area with it's own hallway, dressing area and very well appointed bedroom. The decor was extremely elegant and the bed looked sooooo comfortable.(We found out later that it certainly lived up to it's expectations!) The furniture was of top quality and highly polished, comfortable arm chairs near the window provided a pleasant area to sit and read. The bathroom was lovely too, spacious, with Molton Brown complimentary toiletries, and unlimited very hot water. 'Proper' hair drier, iron and board all provided for your personal use. Attention to detail - amazing in this hotel!
We ate in the superb restaurant food the likes we have never tasted before and felt very special indeed. Our westie dog came with us, and was fussed over by all he met!
On a practical note, don't be tempted to drink doubles in the bar, prices a bit on the high side, but they always are in hotels, we just got carried away!
Only bit of negative thing I can share is that our room was very hot, but on a positive we asked for a fan that was delivered to our room within 5 minutes. Happy Days. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the square which added to the ambience of the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torquil9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We had our first weekend away together here when we first met & fell in love with The Black Swan & Helmsley, so it seemed the perfect choice for our wedding. Right from the beginning when we emailed Nicola Bolden we had an enjoyable experience planning our special day. The rooms, food & hospitality were exceptional everytime we came up to sort out our plans. So we was expecting a great day, however it was even more perfect than we had ever imagined it would be. Us & our 21 guests arrived the day before & all of us were greeted & made to feel special straight away. The day itself was organised to perfection, between Nicola & James (our master of ceremonies) they worked hard all day to give us the day we dreamed of......canapés in the garden, a delicious afternoon tea, cinema room with sweets & popcorn for the children, an amazing dinner in the evening, ending with cheese & biscuits in the lounge. The room took our breathe away when we first saw it, the food was amazing & the whole experience was a dream come true. We thank everyone that was involved. The best thing is everyone of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been too, & they are still talking about it 15 weeks later. The only bad thing is the day was so perfect I want to do it all again & ended up with post-wedding blues....oh well we are counting down to our first anniversary so we can come back again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LisaLane9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

On behalf of all the team at The Black Swan I would just like to say a huge congratulations to the both of you again! We are absolutely delighted that you and your guests had such a wonderful day, and we look forward to seeing you next year in June for your first wedding anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £108 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing