We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$128
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$299
US$274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$140
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Three Tuns Hotel(Thirsk)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,767)
Filter reviews
1,767 results
Traveller rating
1,004
441
185
95
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,004
441
185
95
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomafternoon teagallery restaurantfeature roombrown toiletriessix course tasting menusconesmarket squarelovely hotelevening mealbar areawedding partyrestaurant staffmarket menubottle of champagnespecial occasionlamb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,259 - 1,264 of 1,767 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have just arrived home after spending an unforgettable 4 nights at The Black Swan over Christmas. Everything was just perfect the room, the food, the atmosphere,and the staff here are just in a league of there own with special thanks to James on reception, Laura in the bar and lounge, Rad and Alison in the tea room, and last but not least Stuart nothing is to much trouble for any of the staff here and I would just like to extend my thanks to everyone who has made our Christmas just such a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My partner and I ( and our dog ) spent a wonderful Sunday Evening here recently and took advantage of one of their special offers....half a bottle of champagne in the room on our arrival ( already chilled), a five course tasting menu with wine pairing, a lovely room overlooking the square and breakfast the following morning. Great Value for the £98.00 pp ! The evening dinner was very very nice indeed with great attention to detail.The room was comfortable and our dog Rupert was made very welcome. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: The Feature rooms are extra and are in the " old" part of the hotel. The newer rooms at the back looked fine - but if it's a special occasion it's nice to stay in the old house. But remember it is old and there are creaking floorboards....we live in an old house so thats not an issue for us but could be for those light sleepers.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galileo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed on 22nd December 2013 on the Sunday is the new Saturday Package. We were greeted in the room with a chilled half bottle of champagne on arrival which set the tone nicely for the stay. The room was spacious with an array of complimentary toiletries, coffees etc. On going down to the bar we were greeted with roaring log fires and excellent service. The ambience was relaxed and pleasant. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Following a long walk with the dog we then returned in the evening for our 6 course extravaganza. Each course was put together beautifully with a different taste sensation with every mouthful which just got better as the meal went on. I could not fault this at all and each dish was complimented ideally with a selected wine. At the conclusion we then retired again to the bar where yet again another log fire was creating a perfect atmosphere. Went to bed extremely contented and the beds we're comfy and large. The overnight stay was topped by a fantastic breakfast and again I had time for a quick coffee and read of the papers in the snug where yet again the fires were burning. A quick walk around Helmsley completed the experience with its market town shops deli's and cafés. I would not hesitate to recommend this whole experience and will return again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

That was brilliant...Food: Amazing, Room: Amazing, Service: Impeccable. The guys at Black Swan made our Christmas Party something to be remembered. Thanks everyone for all the time and effort you put into everything. We loved the 10 course taster menu too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel looked lovely and 'Christmassy' as we arrived in the quaint market town of Helmsley. We we greeted with a warm welcome from the staff and relaxed with a drink in the bar area by the fire. The hotel has a really cosy atmosphere, with it's wooden beams and log fires but is deceptively larger than we expected with an array of winding corridors and hidden snugs to explore. The room was very comfortable and our every need was catered for by the friendly staff. After a day of shooting it was great to get back to the comfort of the hotel. The rest of the evening was spent realxing at the hotel and the highlight of our stay was the evening meal in the beautiful Gallery Restaurant. The 10 Course Signature Menu has to be some of the best food we've ever tasted and the Beetroot and Goats cheese was just incredible!!! All in all a hugely enjoyable stay at the Black Swan - Highly recommended and can't wait to come again and with the dogs too!

Mark, Cheltenham

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank speedyreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews