We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Called in for Coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Called in for Coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Called in for Coffee when taking a ride throught the countryside from Thirsk during the Christmas Holidays (this place was fully booked)......we chatted to some very nice people who said that "it was ok" they were celebrating the New Year with a 7 course Evening Dinner............the Hotel is of the older type but still looked clean and the service was good..........next time in the area we might try to make a booking..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyrexyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    347
    143
    80
    37
See reviews for
174
968
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I've been desperate to stay at the Black Swan ever since I first clapped eyes on the place, the frontage is exactly what you expect to see from a hotel in the Yorkshire Moors, but I have to be honest the room we had at the back of the hotel was worse than most of the premier inns I've stayed at. The decor was tired and the facilities pretty similar, the walk from the front of the hotel through many corridors and stairs ruined the experience.
We also had dinner in the restaurant, again our expectations were high but again we were disappointed, lots of staff waiting on but not really doing very much and the quality of the food was ok at best.

Try the White Swan at Pickering, better rooms better food, better atmosphere....sorry

Room Tip: Always at the front of the hotel, I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellCus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had Afternoon tea for my wife's birthday and I was brilliant , the staff were great and very helpful,
Thank you for all your effort and we even got a birthday cake so we could all Sing happy birthday.
If you have not been you need to go.
We will be back.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in the middle of September 2013 for our wedding annivrsary. It was an absolute delight from start to finish.
Christian looked after our every whim when we started the visit with a delicious lunch in the bar. He along with all the staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble during our stay.
On our second evening we had the 6 course taster dinner, absolutely amazing! The food was presented beautifully and tasted divine. WOW!
The breakfast menu was extensive, tasty and enough to please any guest. There was an older waitrose (sorry but I can't remember your name) during breakfast who was very friendly and very helpful if you were unsure.
My husband had read that the tea room attached had awards for their afternoon tea. We decided to have it in the hotel lounge before we left for home. Another wow! They also put the ones you haven't got room for in a box to take home. (extending the treat!)
Our room was at the back of the hotel, nice and quiet and a large room with sofas and a large bathroom. the bed was very comfy too! It was a medium to higher priced room and worth every penny.
Our stay was amazing and it made our anniversary very special and we will definately stay with you again, THANK YOU!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibobs j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

(The last time we stayed here was over 4 years ago - the hotel was good but nothing
like it is now; below is the text of a letter addressed to the General Manager, Mr. Paul O'Hanlan, sent today after our stay over this New Year)

We just simply had to write to congratulate you on the way The Black Swan is run - your team are indeed a credit to you - I travel the world with my business and stay in many, supposedly ‘leading’, hotels, but I can honestly tell you that not one of them has a team of staff quite like your’s.

The moment we arrived we were greeted with a smile at reception; we had a knock on our door from one of your staff asking politely, again with a smile, if we needed any more towels, tea etc.; we were able to engage in pleasant banter (or perhaps it was craik) at the bar when we ordered our drinks; arising early on the first morning and being greeted with a smile and “Good morning” from every one of your staff who were busy cleaning & hoovering just doesn’t happen normally; breakfast being served courteously and with a smile….I could easily go on and on because it was like this throughout the stay - all your staff were excellent - nearly everyone had a smile and appeared to take pride in providing superb service.

There were the odd members of staff who weren’t smiling, but that was of little consequence, because it was obvious to behold that they were concentrating so hard and were determined to get their bit just right - nobody let the side down.

The food throughout was elegantly presented and delicious; attention to detail particularly on New Year’s Eve including the napkins with bow ties, top hats, piper, band, fireworks etc. etc. was of the highest order……

It goes without saying that the decoration and ambience of The Black Swan is quite unique but it is your staff who make it really special and outstanding.

Congratulations and continued success !

Best wishes,

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look out onto the Market Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked the three night New Year's package at the Black Swan and can honestly say that it is probably the best New Year/New Year's Eve that we have had.

There was nothing to criticise from the moment that we walked in until the moment that we left.

All of the staff were helpful, cheerful and had smiles on their faces - it is such a pleasure to find staff that not only know what they are doing but appear to be enjoying doing their jobs (even when they did not finish until 4 a.m. on New Year's Day morning.

I would also like to compliment the chef on providing such excellent meals during our stay.

One small point of warning is that if you park at the front of the hotel then make sure that you get a parking permit from reception.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDavid63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

A delightful Christmas package. From beginning to end wonderful service, exceptional cuisine combined with excellent rooms and an attractive location this hotel has provided a service which shall be hard to surpass.

Room Tip: Overlooking Church and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1939northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing