We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old inn with period charm, great food and great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An old inn with period charm, great food and great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Black Swan overlooks the town square of a beautiful North Yorks Moor country town. The front is most attractive and inside the rooms wander and interlink in a rather higgledy piggledy way, betraying the age of the inn and the fact that it seems to have been built up from three distinct adjacent buildings. The bedrooms are small but quiet and cosy. The public rooms are great. Small low-ceilinged rooms, some with open fires crackling in the corner or on one side.
The dining rooms interlink and there is a separate room which was ideal for the party of sixteen with which I was travelling. The evening meal was simply superb. Great food served by a team who cared about it as well. Breakfast was OK but not quite up to the evening meal. You can walk out of the hotel and find beauty all around you. I went for an early morning stroll and when I returned at 7 am the fires were being lit and the hotel was beginning to "breathe". It is not a five star hotel in the sense of a great city hotel. This is a country hotel in a small market town. It must, in my judgement, be compared with others of its ilk. As such I rate it five stars and we will be going back to further explore the North Yorks Moors National Park

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    360
    152
    83
    38
See reviews for
181
1,007
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Called at Black Swan for a midweek lunch on recommendations of others. We ordered a salad and a panini from the bar menu and waited over half an hour for a very disappointing lunch. The Caesar salad was all straight out of the fridge....cold hard chicken, bacon and eggs. The panini was done to a crisp with a pile of greenery and some crisps. Very unappealing.
This was an expensive mistake.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vivhoworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We found the concierge snobby, the Tearoom Manageress unprofessional, and the Bar Staff belittling, the only saving grace was the treatment and food in the Restaurant. We stayed on the 'March into Spring' package. On arrival the concierge didn't seem interested in carrying our overnight luggage to our room as it was only one small bag. Unprofessional Tearoom Manageress - bitterly complained about people like ourselves on 'packages' not being paying customers whilst standing only a few feet away from us.
Went to the bar for a pre-dinner drink, ordered drinks at the bar but were told to sit down and someone would come and take our order - even though others were ordering at the bar and being served!
When the staff member came to take the drinks order she explained to us in a voice easily loud enough to be heard by anyone in the bar, and the adjoining lounge room, that we were on the 'March into Spring' package, but we could upgrade to a better menu at an additional cost, and that our package included a bottle of house wine at £19.50, but we could also put that value towards a better wine from the wine list, paying the additional cost - this was very belittling, and definitely a training issue for the girl in question.
The food and service in the restaurant was very good, as was the accommodation. We stayed overnight on 19th Feb, filled in and handed in the customer comments card with the details above, but have unsurprisingly yet to hear back from the Hotel - again poor service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VandCat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were welcomed by the staff with a free room upgrade and some tasty chocolates. We stayed on a Sunday night offer that included 1/2 bottle champagne and the 6 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Very generous wine portions! Food was delicious and an enjoyable experience with knowledgable staff.
Hotel room lovely, very spacious and the hotel had a lovely ambience. Would love to stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just back from out 3rd stay at the Black swan and as always had an excellent stay. You need to keep your eyes open for the special deal packages with this Hotel as they represent the best value. This time we had the 'To Dine For' experience two night package and one extra night B&B. This included a stay in a superior room and although these rooms are basically family rooms with the inevitable bed settee they are spacious and you get a King sized bed and a much larger bathroom than the classic rooms. They don't have much of a view though looking out on to a side road. However it wasn't at all noisey. The room was very clean and comfortable with nice towles/bathrobes/slippers and Molton Brown toiletries.It could have been warmer in the afternoons and early evening but when the heating did come on it was very efficient.

The 10 course dining experience was fun and took a good 2 1/2 hours to get through. Not because of the quantity of food but because of the time between courses. We got through 2 bottles of wine and ended up quite tipsy as we had had much more to drink than we had to eat! Still it was an experience.

The Hotel is open to non residents and that can sometimes mean that it is difficult to get a seat in the lounge although the bar is never that busy.

On the whole the service was excellent, especailly in the dining room in the evenings. Breakfast was a little messier although all staff tried hard but things got a bit confused at times.

Certain areas of the hotel are quite careworn and some investment is needed but it has a lot of charm about it and ther garden is very nice in the Summer.

Helmsley is a wonderful place full of character and charm. There is also excellent walking and gliding very close by at Sutton Bank.

i will definatley come again and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoney531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The last two years we've stayed at farm 5 miles from Helmsley and have called here for lunch whilst visiting Helmsley. Both times we have had our dog and we have been made incredibly welcome, even though we have been non-resident. We've been able to get a comfy seat in the bar area near an open fire, and it seems to matter not to the staff whether you are after a sandwich or something more serious - the service is polite and friendly - and they seem happy to engage you in conversation and make you feel welcome. Reading the reviews here I think that next time we will have to stay at the Black Swan, for the full experience. It is the sort of place you could settle down and while away a few hours quite comfortably - welcoming and unhurried.There is something reassuringly traditional about it, and good manners and good service are obviously core values. A high quality experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Bolton_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Having attended a wedding at the hotel a few years ago, I was very excited when my boyfriend and I received an over night stay with breakfast as a Christmas gift. We were not disappointed. In fact I would go as far to say that the staff were probably one the most helpful people I have come across in this country. The room was great, the food in the restaurant was superb I fact the only critisism I can give is that the wifi in our room was awful but other than that a truly superb hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing