We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and pleasant couple of days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband myself and another couple stayed here on the "Hungry for more" deal. We found the staff to be very attentive, and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the molton brown bath products were a lovely addition. The lounges and bar were comfortable to sit and have a drink in prior to eating and the restaurant was light and airy. The six course taster meal was OK, the optional wine package ( a glass of wine to accompany five of the courses) was not really very good value. The breakfast menu was comprehensive and mostly excellent, only spoiled by lovely soft poached eggs being cold. The following evening we had the Garden menu dinner which was really nice and tasty. On each night we opted to have tea/coffee and petits fours after dinner which were delicious. Nice touch to give us an apple and a bottle of water each for our journey home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Popped in while wandering around Helmsley for a spot of lunch. Was greeted by two very friendly and helpful guys who gave us the option of sitting in the tea room, lounge or bar area. Choosing the latter and taking a drinks order also suggested cask ales, letting us have a taste before choosing... Dizzy blonde I think it was called, very fruity! The food was excellent especially the gnocchi. We were also given good advice about things to do while we waited for check in at the hotel we were staying in that day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SupaVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed on Sunday May 18 on a Secret Escapes deal. Our room (33) was nice and the staff very friendly. The weather was beautiful so we the opportunity to have a drink in the garden. When I walked from the garden into the building there was some rubbish on the floor, when I made the same journey about an hour later it was still there. The paint work along the corridor to our room was also scuffed in places, in our bathroom we had a cracked tile. We did not have dinner, but did have breakfast, I felt the fresh fruit selection was poor and although I did not have the full English my wife did and was told they had no black pudding. The fine detail needs working on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. The staff and service at this hotel is really good. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and are a credit to the hotel. The hotel has such character and in a great position on the square. The room was clean and was very well equipped. The rooms were very comfortable.
The food in the restaurant is excellent and we enjoyed both the Market Menu and the tasting menu.
Good choice of gin (i think it was 15) in the bar - which also has a good atmosphere. We also tried out the tea shop, attached to the hotel and the choice of leaf tea is very good. We will definitely stay here again. Helmsley is a lovely village and the walled gardens are also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cariBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent stay and service by all the staff and the 6 course tasting menu was amazing! Would highly recommend The Black Swan Hotel to anyone looking for that something special experience. The staff added some nice special touches as they knew it was my fiancée's birthday. We Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Having stayed here for 2 nights it was apparent the staff were consistently excellent. The food was amazing as we had the taste experience and it really was something special.

The wine we had with the taste experience was too small a glass though and in all this was the only fault even if you are very fussy,

Without doubt the best place we have stayed at and will return for sure.

My compliments to the chef and the staff.

We were fortunate to have stayed when the hotel had entertainment on and she was exceptional,the locals were friendly and chatty. A genuine and impressive setup!!

Room Tip: rooms on the corridors are noisy early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Showme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lovely warm welcome on our arrival at The Swan and as we were a bit early went into the cosy lounge for a lovely chilled glass of sauvignon blanc and a pint of Tetleys. We were booked in for the six course tasting menu which was fantastic, Gazpacho like Ive never had it before, Sea Trout, Foi Gras, Beef, Sorbet and a Pineapple desert to die for only wish we had room for the cheeseboard which looked fantastic and was served by a very knowledgeable waiter. Felt like we were sampling dishes from the finals of Masterchef, fabulous. Staff were lovely, friendly but unobtrusive.

Our room was at the back of the hotel No. 28 near the rear car park which was great as we went to the restaurant out the back door down the short alley to the front of the hotel which saved us two flights of stairs and a few long corridors if you stayed inside. Room was spotless with a nice teddy to welcome us on the bed along with a half bottle of chilled champagne and some strawberries being part of the Sunday night special. Comfy bed and lovely yorkshire ham, wenslydale cheese and poached eggs for breakfast. Even got two bottles of water and two apples on departure in a brown bag for travelling home.

Helmsely a lovely little town with some nice quirky shops, cafes etc do visit the Bird of Prey Centre at Duncombe Park, well worth the visit and if you are feeling generous there are plenty of birds to adopt, the flying display was amazing to watch.

This wasn't a cheap overnight but you get what you pay for and we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
810 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
687 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £148 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing