We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for my Birthday with friends. We had a wonderful evening and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful and our rooms where fabulous. We were given room upgrades on our arrival which was a very nice surprise. The hotel staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. We decided to adopt Huggie (teddy bear) and he now has a very nice new home with us. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments following on from your stay with us. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves and had a wonderful time celebrating your Birthday, and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Husband and I went here for our birthdays (day apart) on one of there many deals they have. We had the taster menu with accompanying wines which I must say was the best food we had ever eaten in our lives absolutely gorgeous we went for the 6 course taster menu (there is a 10 course one as well). I was well and truly stuffed after the 6 (even though portions are v tiny as its a taster menu) Plus not sure 6 glasses of wine as well is that good an idea but was most enjoyable! We loved the bar which was great during the day but in the evening they had a singer which we weren't so keen on. However, I would say my husband and I were probably the youngest in the place (we are late 30's). The bedroom we had was ok, but I think it needed some TLC was not the best room I have ever stayed in. Services was fantastic and the food and drink were brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We decided to book as it was our 10th wedding anniversary and chose the overnight package with taster menu for £219 per couple. We were greeted by lovely staff on arrival and were really surprised at how big the hotel was!

We had a standard room and it was nice, nothing outstanding but it had everything we needed. Our package included a bottle of champagne and strawberries (we got 2 strawberries each) and we we situated at the far end of the hotel which was nice and peaceful.

On the evening, the four of us went down to the restaurant for our meal and had pre-dinner drinks in the bar, we were then shown to our table by a lovely member of staff. The six course taster menu was really nice, particularly the foie gras and veal. The other 4 courses consisted of a pre starter, trout, a pre-dessert finished off with a dessert. We chose not to have the wine pairing which was an additional £30 each.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the evening and the full English breakfast the next morning. The staff were extremely courteous and we would definitely visit again. Not sure we would have the taster menu the second time around as it was £55 a head, we might just have the 3 course dinner menu which was £40.

The only downside to the stay was that we were charged £10 for two bottles of water with our meal. We weren't made aware that these were chargeable at the time, we were just asked if we'd like water on the table. However, this was rectified the following morning and it didn't contribute towards the quality of our stay. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1HonestReviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really enjoyed the Hungry for More 1 night package here on 21May to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There was champagne, strawberries & chocs in the room. It included the 6 course tasting menu which was beautifully balanced and presentation and taste got full marks. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very enjoyable. We had a superior room which was extremely spacious and comfortable with a well equipped bathroom. We had a ground floor room because of my broken ankle (41) and the only criticism was that it overlooked the car park but that was not a problem with a one night stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank whiterosegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

U step back in time to how it used to be with family run hotels. Courtesy, service pleasant rooms, good housekeeping and good quality food.
I like this place for all these reasons and set nicely in Gods county what more would you want.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have chosen to stay at The Black Swan on three occasions , our stay on Bank Holiday Sunday did not disappoint , the staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant .
We enjoyed a fabulous dinner from the Tasting menu , all six courses were suburb.
Breakfast was great with lots of variety ,
Definitely one of my favourite hotels , so comfortable with excellent understated attention to detail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband myself and another couple stayed here on the "Hungry for more" deal. We found the staff to be very attentive, and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the molton brown bath products were a lovely addition. The lounges and bar were comfortable to sit and have a drink in prior to eating and the restaurant was light and airy. The six course taster meal was OK, the optional wine package ( a glass of wine to accompany five of the courses) was not really very good value. The breakfast menu was comprehensive and mostly excellent, only spoiled by lovely soft poached eggs being cold. The following evening we had the Garden menu dinner which was really nice and tasty. On each night we opted to have tea/coffee and petits fours after dinner which were delicious. Nice touch to give us an apple and a bottle of water each for our journey home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
833 reviews
0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,134 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: £98 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing