We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding expectations with Disabled Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceeding expectations with Disabled Guests”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We like staying at good quality Hotels abroad and in the UK with good service, lovely staff, comfortable rooms and excellent food. So having stayed on a previous visit We agreed that my hard of walking elderly Mother and Aunt would enjoy this perfect location overlooking a bustling market square with easy to get to shops and cafés while staying at a beautiful and comfortable Hotel. I had asked for 'disabled friendly' rooms although the Hotel has no stair lifts and I suppose this is because it is an old building, still we thought it would OK.

We arrived and were able to park outside the main entrance which overlooks the Hotel car park, there is also a larger car park at the back of the Hotel. Reception was friendly and we were offered help with our luggage and shown to the lounge for tea. The Hotel has had extensive refurbishment and this has been done very tastefully with lovely textile and soft heather colours, lots of comfy chairs and open fires in winter.

We stayed in a feature room overlooking to square, each room has its own individual colour scheme with lots of cushions on the beds and molten Brown toiletries, soft large towelling robes, slippers and the usual tea and coffee facilities. of course there is the Teddy Bear which you can buy!! Great for grandchildren.

The less able of our party was accommodated in a ground floor room in the modern wing of the Hotel, overlooking a pretty and well kept garden. Again the rooms are well furnished and comfortable, unfortunately the bathroom toilet was quite low and so difficult to manage, but the Housekeeping staff were marvellous and procured a seat and helping hand rails in a very short time! Access to the main part of the Hotel with Restaurant and Bar is accessed by a short walk along the outside of the Hotel, an umbrella or car taxi service is a must if raining!

The staff could not have been more helpful and kind in helping us to manage our activities in the Hotel especially with my elderly relatives! Dinners each evening were a culinary experience of top quality food prepared by the Master Chef Paul and his team, they surely deserve a Michelin star. there is a Six Course Taster menu with wines to match each course for a special treat and a large appetite!

We had a pre dinner drink in the Bar, do try the 17 varieties of Gin! menus were given to us and our dinner order taken before being guided to our table. Cocktails are served at a reduced price on Friday nights and there is also live music. The Hotel has become popular with the locals and also seems to be doing well with weddings and shooting parties which can take over the Hotel but with a comfortable bedroom to relax in this is not a problem.

It is not often that all the promotional hype about the services of a Hotel actually delivers and The Black Swan certainly provides that unique professional yet personal service.

Room Tip: For character, old features beams etc., choose rooms at the front. Rm 15 for couples. Rm 17 haas a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellenorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Following your visit to the hotel, we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us again and particularly enjoyed your dining experience - thank you for your kind words which I know Chef will very much appreciate! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    379
    160
    86
    39
See reviews for
186
1,053
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having stayed here two years ago I was eager for the excuse to break our journey on our way to Northumberland. The welcome was warm and although our room was rather dated and in particular the tiling in the bathroom, somehow therein lies the charm. Needless to say the room was spotless and on the housekeeping front everything was faultless. The bar staff were knowledgeable efficient and cheerful, and the food lived up to expectations quite simply the best meal I have had for a long time. It was good to see familiar faces amongst the staff from our previous visit and a nice touch on checkout was being handed a bag containing water and fruit for our onward journey. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are really pleased you enjoyed yourselves and that your evening meal was the best meal you have had for a long time! Thank you for your comment regarding the tiling, we're aware some of the bathrooms need a little attention and are looking to refurbish these shortly. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to the Black Swan for lunch whilst staying at the Feversham Arms and we had a really positive experience here, much better than the Feversham.
The staff all around the Hotel were so friendly and welcoming, happy to chat through the options for lunch, where we could eat, the menu etc. The waiter in the bar was superb, really knowledgeable on different beers for my husband and chatting us through the meal options. The menu had some lovely choices and our food was excellent.
We had a look around the Hotel and thought it looked lovely.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are delighted to hear that you and your Husband enjoyed your lunch and that you found the food to be excellent and all the staff to be friendly and welcoming. Thank you for your recommendation, we hope you will choose to visit The Black Swan again, and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for my Birthday with friends. We had a wonderful evening and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful and our rooms where fabulous. We were given room upgrades on our arrival which was a very nice surprise. The hotel staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. We decided to adopt Huggie (teddy bear) and he now has a very nice new home with us. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments following on from your stay with us. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves and had a wonderful time celebrating your Birthday, and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Husband and I went here for our birthdays (day apart) on one of there many deals they have. We had the taster menu with accompanying wines which I must say was the best food we had ever eaten in our lives absolutely gorgeous we went for the 6 course taster menu (there is a 10 course one as well). I was well and truly stuffed after the 6 (even though portions are v tiny as its a taster menu) Plus not sure 6 glasses of wine as well is that good an idea but was most enjoyable! We loved the bar which was great during the day but in the evening they had a singer which we weren't so keen on. However, I would say my husband and I were probably the youngest in the place (we are late 30's). The bedroom we had was ok, but I think it needed some TLC was not the best room I have ever stayed in. Services was fantastic and the food and drink were brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We decided to book as it was our 10th wedding anniversary and chose the overnight package with taster menu for £219 per couple. We were greeted by lovely staff on arrival and were really surprised at how big the hotel was!

We had a standard room and it was nice, nothing outstanding but it had everything we needed. Our package included a bottle of champagne and strawberries (we got 2 strawberries each) and we we situated at the far end of the hotel which was nice and peaceful.

On the evening, the four of us went down to the restaurant for our meal and had pre-dinner drinks in the bar, we were then shown to our table by a lovely member of staff. The six course taster menu was really nice, particularly the foie gras and veal. The other 4 courses consisted of a pre starter, trout, a pre-dessert finished off with a dessert. We chose not to have the wine pairing which was an additional £30 each.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the evening and the full English breakfast the next morning. The staff were extremely courteous and we would definitely visit again. Not sure we would have the taster menu the second time around as it was £55 a head, we might just have the 3 course dinner menu which was £40.

The only downside to the stay was that we were charged £10 for two bottles of water with our meal. We weren't made aware that these were chargeable at the time, we were just asked if we'd like water on the table. However, this was rectified the following morning and it didn't contribute towards the quality of our stay. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1HonestReviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really enjoyed the Hungry for More 1 night package here on 21May to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There was champagne, strawberries & chocs in the room. It included the 6 course tasting menu which was beautifully balanced and presentation and taste got full marks. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very enjoyable. We had a superior room which was extremely spacious and comfortable with a well equipped bathroom. We had a ground floor room because of my broken ankle (41) and the only criticism was that it overlooked the car park but that was not a problem with a one night stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whiterosegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing