We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canadian Fields(Nawton)(Great Value!)
US$20
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Helmsley(Helmsley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Laskill Grange(Helmsley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,788)
Filter reviews
1,788 results
Traveller rating
1,013
445
189
99
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,013
445
189
99
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomafternoon teagallery restaurantfeature roombrown toiletriessix course tasting menusconesmarket squarelovely hotelevening mealbar areawedding partyrestaurant staffmarket menubottle of champagnespecial occasionlamb
Filter
Updating list...
1,674 - 1,679 of 1,788 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2011

A comfortable stay in a quirky room. Well thought out menu well cooked. We felt at home and well at ease and it broke the journey to Harrogate perfectly. The bar was excellent

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johhnygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Attended a family wedding and I have to say nothing went undone and from the ceremony to the reception to the evening do nothing but nothing in the organisation or food could be criticised. The hotel is another matter my trouble started whilst trying to book my room – I don’t think technology is their ‘thing.’ I booked and paid a deposit online receiving an acknowledgement by return. When the bride’s mother visited some days before the wedding she was informed I had cancelled the booking to which she replied “ Not up until 6 hours ago they had not !” Some searching by reception and they ‘found’ the booking and reinstated. On checking in I was warmly greeted, but as one guest who was trying to settle his bill said “Its chaos!” there appeared to be a number of people behind the counter but no one actually achieving anything. Credit card machines appeared to be too complex, the ancient laptop on the check in desk was running a programme so old it was running in DOS and the only acknowledgment to the 21st century is a coloured screen.
The foods is very good but beware of the wine waiter – for some unknown reason the staff hold the bottles in a most peculiar manner, which leaves them little control over the pouring – a relative and I had red wine slopped all around our place settings – very on professional.
The bedroom was nice clean & tidy though lacked heat. With a check out time of midday and a late breakfast a luxury we were surprised when staff started knocking on our room door at 8:45 (no chance of a lie in then!)
Breakfast was organised chaos, lots of staff on duty, lots of service, but no delivery. We ordered tea for two with toast. Coffee arrived just as we finished our meal.
Check out was friendly but I am now starting the process of reclaiming my £50 room deposit as this was not deducted from my total bill.
Stay again – yes – now that I know what to be aware of.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jigsaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We searched the internet for somewhere to stay in the Yorkshire Dales / North Yorkshire Moors and eventually decided on the Black Swan at Helmsley. We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The service in the restaurant was excellent and the food was also very good with the (half board) menu changing daily and offering a choice. The rooms were very comfortable, maybe a little too warm but opening the windows overnight helped to cool them down! The only criticism we have is that the bar service was not very good but maybe the owners do not want to encourage people in off the street to drink there. Getting drinks / wine served with a meal in the restaurant was not a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pin0cchi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

An amazing dining experience! The rooms were nice, but the heavy curtains blocked out the radiator, though there was a small plug in radiator available. There was a speaker in the bathroom from the TV which I found rather strange and very annoying, I didn't want to listen to football on the TV whilst trying to have a leisurley bath!But nice room, with lovely toiletries, bath robes and fluffy towels! Clean and comfortable and the restaurant was fabulous. Shame about the shooting party.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valhackett30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Arrived mid afternoon to be checked in by a receptionist who knew what he was doing. We then headed to the room and enjoyed the floor boards creeky as we made our way though a lovely old building. he room was cleaned to a high standard and had everything you needed, the television was a little dated but we wernt gunna be spending that much time in the room.

When we had settled we headed down stairs for a little bit of relaxation sat in front of the fire had drinks then went out for dinner. We ate at a wonderfull and authentic Italian restaurant and would advise anyone to try Guipetto's (Think thats how you spell it).

Breakfast was really good although was a little dissapointed at the selction on the buffet but all in all had everything you needed and the service was good to.

Really enjoyed a nice relaxing night and would advise anyone to head there if their expectations are right!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1988Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews