We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Feathers Hotel

Feathers Hotel
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Helmsley
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Feathers hotel is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality with high standard of cuisine and modern standards. Its 23 bedrooms have all been recently refurbished. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is private parking at the rear of the hotel.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Great food at a fair price. Not the cheapest food around but great tasting and brilliant service.

Would recommend to
Everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonbrown85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    184
    56
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent vale”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

So much food. Very good, but only got a four rating as sometimes it is difficult to find a seat in the bar area as we are not fans of restaurant atmosphere at lunchtime. But the food is great and recommend people to give it a try, especially if you have a hearty appetite.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank noroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

BE AWARE: The food is better than the actual place. I didn't mind particularly, but it was noticeable. We were lucky to sit near a window, thus, it was quite light. There were parts of the pub that were quite dark. The decor was ... 'interesting' for the wrong reasons. For example, in some older places, the walls have wood, but this 'wood' was non-existent for it was wall paper.

The service was satisfactory, and so were the seats / table.

Food was definitely better than the surroundings; I had a very good pie. For that, I do recommend the visit.

If you're curious, the reason I visited was because some friends visited it a couple of years back, so I thought I'd go to see what it was like.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrJSebastianWilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A MEETING PLACE”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My partner and I spent a couple of Happy Hours in this busy Market place Inn. The parking was quite good and the service excellent. There were several bars and one had a juke box if you want some loud music with your pint !! We were there late afternoon and as time went by the place was filled up with people eating - a very good sign !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asenby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Real Ale”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

brilliant Location on the market square, Limited outdoor seating
the real ales are very good , well kept
good prices
good spot to grab a hot beef sandwich

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SPANNER63666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Feathers Hotel also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Harome, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing