We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips in the area”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 28 February 2015

We were lucky enough to win a voucher in a raffle for fish n chips at Scott's . It did not dissapoint, the service was excellent, lovely staff and very efficient. Would definately recommend it !! Both of us had the special and then a pudding treacle sponge & dime bar cake with cream all very yummy Will certainly go again.....DJ Lynne & Terry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DJLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Hi DJ Lynne and Terry,
Thanks for the review and delighted you won the prize and enjoyed your visit.
Best fish n chips in the area, that's what we aim to be, with great value and service thrown in.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 558 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2015

Best fish and chips in the north of England! Lovely friendly service from all the staff there, especially Lewis, who looked after us so well. We would thoroughly recommend it! We had a lovely lunch there including a yummy treacle pudding and lots of custard. It's licensed so we were also able to have a couple of very reasonably priced Pinot Grigios. Try it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathryn033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hi Kathy and David,
"Best fish and chips in the north of England!" you say, we would tend to agree.
Thanks for the great comments.
We are fully licensed in both restaurants, so a cold glass of Pinot Grigio does go down very well.
Well done Lewis.
Please spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Called on way home from buying a motorhome , their were5of us, the service,fantastic ,great value for money, will we call again, yes will we tell others yes. The place is spotless

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Delighted you enjoyed your stop off and hope you enjoy your motor home.
At our other restaurant, Bilbrough, near York. YO23 3PP we have a large car park and do allow motor homes to park up, which maybe of interest to you?
Thanks again.
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We had a fabulous experience at Scotts of Helmsley just over a week ago. We had been delayed in Friday night traffic on the motorway, and had been recommended to go to Scotts on our arrival. We phoned ahead and found out we were due to arrive 15 mins after closing time, but the manager said without hesitation that he would stay open as we'd been recommended to go there. We had the best fish and chips - the fish was lovely and firm and the chips were piping hot and absolutely delicious. Lewis looked after us brilliantly - was very friendly and had even lit a candle on our table (it was the weekend of Valentine's Day!). Thank you very much for your hospitality and delicious food - we can't wait to return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hi Victoria,
Thank for the great comments, 'best in years'.
We do believe we serve excellent fish n chips. Large prime Icelandic fish, thick and meaty, all cooked to order.
Sounds like you may have been in town for Valentines and hope your weekend got off to a good start at Scotts?
Well done Lewis.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015

we visited yesterday with our family and we had a bit of a palapa being served as I had to chase up the lady. I told her not much time on the car and she did her best to get to us but they were obviously understaffed. Staff were polite but just not attentive. The hot chocolate came and it was like dishwater. Sent that back then another one came and that was the same. Think it would have been a good idea for the staff to maybe taste it before it came out. My daughter tried to drink it but it was awful. Machine fault. I sent that one back too. Then all of a sudden 2 male staff appeared and they guy (maybe that is Scott?) couldn't apologise enough and brought back a fab hot chocolate. My girls were passed it by then though sadly. We were told our 3 cakes would come before the fish and chips which was great as we would have them with our hot drinks but they didn't. By this point we had to go put more money on the car. I had to chase the guy for the cakes as my little girls were getting very bored by this point. The place was not that busy by this point and everyone was having fish and chips so don't know why there was such a problem. Anyway when my partners cod and chips came £10.50 they were delicious and great quality. The cakes were big portions and very nice but the profiteroles gateaux beat me! £3.95 for cake and a drink. Sadly my drink was coldish when it came and all gone by the time I had the cake. The male member of staff restored our faith in the shop by discounting our bill for a cake and drink without our asking and offered the children a lolly. Clean pleasant if not a bit plain contemporary surrounding and the toilet I struggled to get me and one of my young girls in there but overall a nice establishment. Good food when it finally comes. Poor service but redeemed a little. We still left a tip for their trouble but I would not go there with my young children again it takes far too long to be served with ready made fish and chips and ready made cakes and machine made drinks!

1  Thank bonnietigerlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Not sure what happened, but clearly we didn't live up to our own high expectations with the drinks!!
Sounds like the food was excellent and overall you were happy.
We do cater for young children, see earlier review.
We hope you give us another try.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;