We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food Lovely Staff”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed 28 March 2015 via mobile

We were tempted in for a fish n chip lunch after seeing what was on offer by two of the staff wandering the market place giving out taster samples! So glad we did - very good food at a reasonable price and served by friendly efficient young staff. Would definitely eat here again.

2  Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Hi Alan and Sally,
Thanks for the review and delighted you were tempted by our samples.
Great food, at value for money prices, served with big smiles - thats what you get at Scotts.
Look forward to seeing you back in Helmsley.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 549 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2015

Can't recommend it highly enough, will be back whenever we are in the area. The light and crispy batter will make you want more but gladly the portions are good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Blindbodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Hello and thanks for the great review,
Its a shame you're not closer than Canada !!! You could benefit from our loyalty card?
We are officially one of the best fish and chips, with our Quality Award accreditation. There tare only 250 shops in UK with this award, putting us in the top 2% in UK.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

With a reciprocal agreement from the Bird of Prey Centre a 20% reduction was offered, the fish a chips were simply one of the best that I have ever had, light and crispy with perfectly cooked chips. A definite keeper for days out

Thank Blindbodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We had a very good fish and chips here. We had just been to the nearby Birds of Prey Centre at Duncombe Park and benefitted from the 20% off offer that Scotts are running if you come here afterwards, but we have enjoyed several meals here before without this added bonus. Service by Becca was very friendly and attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Hi Will and thanks for the review,
As you will know the International Centre for Birds of Prey is fantastic and we are delighted to partner with them on a discount basis. Use your entry wrist band to get 20% off our restaurant meals or use our restaurant receipt to get 205 off entry to the Birds centre.
Its a win win for all.
Delighted you're a regular and well done Becca.
Spread the word.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Lovely day so decided to go up to Helmsley.. Normally we would have lunch in one of the many pubs but decided on scotts fish and chip restaurant. It was very busy but there is plenty of seating as there is seating up stairs. Staff were very pleasant and well mannered. The food was very good. I liked the batter on the fish as it was very light.I had the smaller meal of cod,chips and peas. It was £9.95 but included a pot of tea and bread and butter,the tea came with a pot of hot water so you could have cup after cup of tea which is what I like when eating. Tartar sauce was tasty as were the mushy peas. The one thing was I would have liked to have ordered just the cod and peas as i don't eat many chips but it was still the same price,well you are not going to pay for something and not have it as you. When we have fish and chips in Rothwells in Doncaster you can have the fish and peas. I then steal a few off my husbands plate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ann.cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

Hello Ann and thanks for the review,
Sounds like we did every thing right and you had a a good time. Great food and service.
We do listen to feedback, so we will look at the only fish and peas option. It's not something we have had requested before, but I can't see why we wouldn't knock something off for the chips.
However, when a special offer is put together it is with the view of it being an all inclusive meal deal, not to be changed.
A lot of thought and discussion goes into deciding what is on the menu to give customers, as wide a choice as possible.
Thanks again
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;